Engineering Subject Guide — O'Reilly for Higher Ed Database

This systematic exploration of real-world stress analysis has been completely updated to reflect state-of-the-art methods and applications now used in aeronautical, civil, and mechanical engineering, and engineering mechanics.

Montgomery and Runger's bestselling engineering statistics text provides a practical approach oriented to engineering as well as chemical and physical sciences. By providing unique problem sets that reflect realistic situations, students learn how the material will be relevant in their careers. With a focus on how statistical tools are integrated into the engineering problem-solving process, all major aspects of engineering statistics are covered. Developed with sponsorship from the National Science Foundation, this text incorporates many insights from the authors' teaching experience along with feedback from numerous adopters of previous editions.

This book provides a concise, balanced overview of MATLAB's functionality that facilitates independent learning, with coverage of both the fundamentals and applications. This updated edition includes the latest MATLAB versions through 2016a, and is an ideal book for a first course on MATLAB, or for an engineering problem-solving course using MATLAB,

Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering provides an overview of the profession for engineering professionals and students whose specialization lies in areas other than electrical. The authors provide many examples to illustrate concepts, as well as homework problems to help readers understand and apply presented material.

The world of nanomaterials is complex; there is dubiety as well as unrealistic optimism about costs, practicality, timing for the availability of, and the true capabilities of products featured in the news. The progress of the industry is being affected from the incertitude generated by the multitudinous names used, coupled with lack of clarity and standardization in the definitions for carbonaceous nanomaterials, such as graphene, graphene oxide, nanographene, nanographene flakes, nanographite flakes, graphene nanoribbons, single-layer graphene, few-layer graphene, nanographite, nanotubes, nanofibers. In this book about the carbonaceous nanomaterial domain, the author concisely covers nomenclature, characteristics, applications, costs, and manufacturing; all with the cardinal goal to offer the reader a reality check by delineating the steps to commercialization.

Mastering SolidWorks: The Design Approach, Second Edition is entirely updated for SolidWorks 2014 and presents SolidWorks as a design system rather than a software program, using design, modeling, and drafting concepts as the building blocks, instead of focusing on menus and commands. It describes design approaches, methodologies, and techniques to help CAD designers/engineers and draftspersons achieve their engineering tasks in the fastest, easiest, and most effective way.

Get started with MATLAB for deep learning and AI with this in-depth primer. In this book, you start with machine learning fundamentals, then move on to neural networks, deep learning, and then convolutional neural networks. In a blend of fundamentals and applications, MATLAB Deep Learning employs MATLAB as the underlying programming language and tool for the examples and case studies in this book.

Nanotechnology and Functional Materials for Engineers focuses on key essentials and examples across the spectrum of nanomaterials as applied by engineers, including nanosensors, smart nanomaterials, nanopolymers, and nanotubes. Chapters cover their synthesis and characteristics, production methods, and applications, with specific sections exploring nanoelectronics and electro-optic nanotechnology, nanostructures, and nanodevices.

A user-friendly, object-oriented language, Python is quickly becoming the favorite introductory programming language among students and instructors. Many find Python to be a more lucid language than Java but with much of the functionality and therefore the ideal first language for those entering the world of Computer Science. Python Programming in Context is a clear, accessible introduction to the fundamental programming and problem solving concepts necessary for students at this level. The authors carefully build upon the many important computer science concepts and problem solving techniques throughout the text and offer relevant, real-world examples and exercises to reinforce key material. Programming skills throughout the text are linked to applied areas such as Image Processing, Cryptography, Astronomy, Music, the Internet, and Bioinformatics, giving students a well rounded look of its capabilities.

The Definitive, Up-to-Date, Student-Friendly Guide to Separation Process Engineering--With More Mass Transfer Coverage and a New Chapter on Crystallizations.

After the devastating tsunami in 2011, DIYers in Japan built their own devices to detect radiation levels, then posted their finding on the Internet. Right now, thousands of people worldwide are tracking environmental conditions with monitoring devices they've built themselves.

Learn to easily build gadgets, gizmos, robots, and more using Arduino. This book uses the popular Arduino microcontroller platform as an instrument to teach you about topics in electrical engineering, programming, and human-computer interaction.

Arduino is the open source electronics prototyping platform that has taken the Maker Movement by storm. This thorough introduction, updated for the latest Arduino release, helps you start prototyping right away.

Explore and learn about Internet of Things to develop interactive Arduino-based Internet. This course introduces you to the Internet of Things architecture, helps you build Arduino projects based on IoT and cloud computing concepts, create smart, pervasive and always-connected environments, and finally guide you onto securing your IoT environment.

Beginning with the basics and moving gradually to greater challenges, this book takes you step-by-step through experiments and projects that show you how to make your Arduino or Raspberry Pi create and control movement, light, and sound. In other words: action! This book clearly explains the differences between the Arduino and Raspberry Pi, when to use them, and to which purposes each are best suited. Using these widely available and inexpensive platforms, you'll learn to control LEDs, motors of various types, solenoids, AC (alternating current) devices, heaters, coolers, displays, and sound. You'll even discover how to monitor and control these devices over the Internet.