This book is designed as a textbook for first year undergraduate engineering students. The book comprehensively covers all relevant and important topics in a simple and lucid manner. Beginning with a detailed discussion on optics, the book goes on to discuss waves and oscillations, architectural acoustics, and ultrasonics in Part I. The basic principles of classical mechanics, relativistic mechanics, quantum mechanics, and statistical mechanics are included under Part II. Electromagnetism-related topics, namely dielectric properties, magnetic properties, and electromagnetic field theory are explained under Part III. Part IV provides an in-depth treatment of topics such as X-rays, crystal physics, band theory of solids, and semiconductor physics. It also includes a discussion on conducting and superconducting materials. Topics such as nuclear physics, radioactivity, and new engineering materials and nanotechnology are presented in the last section of the book.
The multidisciplinary field of fluid mechanics is one of the most actively developing fields of physics, mathematics and engineering. In this book, the fundamental ideas of fluid mechanics are presented from a physics perspective. Using examples taken from everyday life, from hydraulic jumps in a kitchen sink to Kelvin-Helmholtz instabilities in clouds, the book provides readers with a better understanding of the world around them. It teaches the art of fluid-mechanical estimates and shows how the ideas and methods developed to study the mechanics of fluids are used to analyze other systems with many degrees of freedom in statistical physics and field theory. Aimed at undergraduate and graduate students, the book assumes no prior knowledge of the subject and only a basic understanding of vector calculus and analysis. It contains 32 exercises of varying difficulties, from simple estimates to elaborate calculations, with detailed solutions to help readers understand fluid mechanics.
Broadly organized around the applications of Fourier analysis, "Methods of Applied Mathematics with a MATLAB Overview" covers both classical applications in partial differential equations and boundary value problems, as well as the concepts and methods associated to the Laplace, Fourier, and discrete transforms. Transform inversion problems are also examined, along with the necessary background in complex variables. A final chapter treats wavelets, short-time Fourier analysis, and geometrically-based transforms. The computer program MATLAB is emphasized throughout, and an introduction to MATLAB is provided in an appendix. Rich in examples, illustrations, and exercises of varying difficulty, this text can be used for a one- or two-semester course and is ideal for students in pure and applied mathematics, physics, and engineering.
This book is an introduction to numerical methods for students in engineering. It covers solution of equations, interpolation and data fitting, solution of differential equations, eigenvalue problems and optimisation. The algorithms are implemented in Python 3, a high-level programming language that rivals MATLAB in readability and ease of use. All methods include programs showing how the computer code is utilised in the solution of problems. The book is based on Numerical Methods in Engineering with Python, which used Python 2. This new edition demonstrates the use of Python 3 and includes an introduction to the Python plotting package Matplotlib. This comprehensive book is enhanced by the addition of numerous examples and problems throughout.