LibGuides: Engineering Subject Guide: Databases

What are Research Databases?

Research databases can be searched to find peer-reviewed journal articles on a specific research topic.

In some cases databases contain additional types of information, such as conference proceedings or chemical & physical data.

Which Database Should I Use?

There are many different engineering databases. As a general rule, Engineering Village and Scopus are two of the best general Engineering databases for beginning your search if you are looking for peer reviewed journal articles.

Scroll down for a list of links to the databases.

How do I get the best or most pertinent results?

The Boolean operators AND, OR, NOT will help you to narrow or broaden your search.

Engineering Databases

Engineering Village which is made up of both Compendex and Inspec, is the best general search database for engineering, along with Scopus. PubMed is useful if you are researching biomedical engineering topics. Knovel, Reaxys and SciFinder are great for researching chemical properties or specific data. IEEE is the top resource for electrical engineering.

ACM Digital Library
Provides access to journals, transactions, proceedings, and newsletters published by the Association of Computing Machinery.

ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Database
The ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Database allows subscribers to explore, search and view more than 35,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data for more than 6200 systems from their Web browsers.

Engineering Village
Cross search of two engineering databases: Inspec & Compendex. Indexes scholarly articles in physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology.

EngrXIV: Open Archive of Engineering
A great source for open papers and preprints in the fields of engineering.

IEEE Xplore
Full-text journals, conference proceedings, and IEEE Standards in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.
IGI Global
Thousands of ebooks covering the areas of business, education, and technology.
Knovel
Over 800 full-text engineering and scientific reference works, handbooks, encyclopedias, reference books, and standards in engineering and chemistry.
NTRL (National Technical Information Services)
Current U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information.
PubMed
Scholarly journal articles about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology.
Reaxys
Includes in-depth chemical substance and reaction data.
ScienceDirect
Includes full-text to a select number of journals and eBooks covering social sciences and hard sciences from 1995 to the present published by Elsevier.
SciFinder-n
Includes online access to Chemical Abstracts and the CAS Registry File of over 19 million chemical substances.
For use by UConn faculty, staff, and students. Access for UConn affiliates is not permitted.
Scopus
Scholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
Springer Nature Link
Includes full-text access to a select number of journal titles in scientific, technical, and medical fields published by Springer.
Springer Nature Link E-books
Full-text access to select e-books in scientific, technical, and medical fields published by Springer.
TRID
Access to TRID and TRIS databases. Transportation research on highways, rail, maritime, aviation.

Morgan & Claypool Synthesis
Other Engineering Databases
Check out the other databases for journals and books available to you.

Acronym Guide:

Many of the databases and scholarly societies have acronyms that can be confusing. Here are their definitions:

ACM: Association for Computing Machinery

ASTM: American Society for Testing & Materials

IEEE: Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers

IET: Institution of Engineering and Technology

TRB: Transportation Research Board

TRIS: Transportation Research Information Services

ITRD: International Transport Documentation Database (from OCED)

Other Scholarly Societies: we do not subscribe to these as whole databases, but writings may be available through databases we already subscribe to:

ASME: American Society of Mechanical Engineers

ASCE: American Society of Civil Engineers

Engineering Subject Guide — Databases

What are Research Databases?

Engineering Databases

Acronym Guide: