Welcome to the Engineering Subject Guide at UConn!
The purpose of this guide is to serve as a starting off point to help you in your engineering research at UConn, whether you are an undergraduate student, a graduate student, or a faculty member. Explore this guide to find more information on how to find the best books, textbooks, electronic journal articles, and more to meet your research needs at UConn.
- A-Z Database LocatorFull list of UConn research database subscriptions
- ASTM Compass DatabaseIncludes the annual Book of Standards
- UConn Library Journal SearchSearch for academic journals by Title, subject, or ISSN
Do you need to look up a quick fact or standard about engineering data? Search in the Knovel database of handbooks, data, and more.
Do you need access to the latest RSMeans Construction Data? The 2021 Edition is available to be checked out briefly through course reserves on the plaza level of Babbidge. The 2022 RSMeans Civil Engineering series and other recent additions are available on Level 2 of Babbidge. Only the older 2012 edition is available digitally below:
RSMeans Cost Data: Student Edition by ISBN: 9781118348444Publication Date: 2012-02-21RSMeans Cost Data, Student Edition provides a thorough introduction to cost estimating. With clear explanations and a hands-on, example-driven approach, it is the ideal reference for students and new professionals who need to learn how to perform cost estimating for building construction. The most recent editions are only available in print through course reserves.
- Open Access Engineering TextbooksA great resource maintained and regularly updated by the ASEE Engineering Libraries Division. Textbooks are listed by engineering subdiscipline
Spotlight On: New EBook
It goes without saying : taking the guesswork out of your PhD in engineering by ISBN: 0262378981Publication Date: 2024 MIT PressThe definitive toolkit for doctoral students in engineering on thesis--and journal article--preparation, project (and stress) management, IP protection, collaborations, and other aspects of the PhD journey.
Key Databases
- Engineering VillageSearch the IET Inspec and Compendex databases together in Engineering Village. Scholarly articles in electrical engineering, IT, physics, and more.
- ScopusScholarly journal articles and conference papers. Visual analytics of research output. Includes cited references and h-index information.
- IEEE XploreFull-text journals and conference proceedings in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics from IEEE. Also includes the IEEE Standards.
- ACM Digital LibraryAccess to all Association for Computing Machinery publications, including journals, proceedings, and newsletters.
- KnovelFull-text engineering and scientific reference works, handbooks, encyclopedias, reference books, and standards in engineering and chemistry.
- Springer Nature Link
Full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed journal titles in scientific, technical, and medical fields published by Springer.
- SciFinder-nSearch chemical abstracts and the CAS Registry file of chemical substances.
Additional Types of Research Help
Consultations:
If you are having difficulty finding the right articles or other information, please contact us using the "Schedule Appointment" buttons under our librarian profiles. Research consultations are generally 30 minute virtual appointments via Webex.
Library Instruction Classes:
Classes can be scheduled to meet topic-specific needs of students and faculty. If you would like a session in your class either remotely or in one of the libraries' computer classrooms, contact the STEM Librarians.
Workshops:
UConn Libraries also holds workshops on a variety of topics. Check the website periodically to see if there is a session that may be of interest.
Research Data Management Consultation:
Statistical Consulting Service: Contact Tim Moore if you need assistance:
Tutoring Assistance
- Engineering Tutoring for UConn UndergraduatesEngineering II Building, Suite 325
- UConn Quantitative CenterTutoring in the quantitative sciences. Located on the 3rd floor of Babbidge Library
- UConn Writing CenterTutoring in writing. Located on Level 2 of UConn's Babbidge Library
UConn Software
- UConn Software CatalogLinks to Software available to UConn students, faculty, and staff.
Request A Purchase
- Request A Purchase FormPlease fill out this form to request an engineering title for purchase for UConn Library
STEM Librarian Renee Walsh
Campus Makerspaces
- Learning Community Innovation ZoneLink to the LCIZ, the largest makerspace on the UConn Storrs campus
