Skip to main content

Puerto Rican & Latina/o Studies Subject Guide — Finding Primary Sources

This guide offers you useful information on how to find and search for books, journals and other resources for Puerto Rican & Latino Studies

Using Primary Sources

Primary sources are the "raw materials" needed to do original research. The UConn Library offers many primary sources resources (from archival collections located at UConn to online archives through our databases or freely available online). On this page I offer you a selection of resources available to do Puerto Rican and/or Latina/o Studies research.

Primary Sources

The Archives and Special Collections Department (ASC) housed several collections of rare books, journals and government records relevant to Spain, Latin American and the Hispanic Caribbean. The majority of the collections are only accessible through the archive but, a selection from some of these collections have been digitized. Below is a list with these collections and where to find them. Visit the ASC site to learn how to get access to these materials.

The Puerto Rico Digital Collection Guide is a selection of 19th and 20th century books and magazines mainly from the Puerto Rican Collection (a.k.a the Géigel Collection) that have been digitized by the UConn Library.

Newspapers are a type of primary source used in history. Many archives have newspapers collections, and some of them have even been digitized and may available online. Depending on the context, the time that the news was published and the type of account (chronicles, editorials, etc.) a newspapers account can be considered a primary or secondary sources. Check with your professor before using these resources.

As any primary sources used for historical research, be aware of the strengths (first witness accounts) and weakness (bias, forgetfulness, sensationalism) of this type of sources.

 

The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Below is an example of the richness of this material for political sciences and Latin American and Caribbean Studies. Below is a selection of the volumes available online that related to Latin America and the Caribbean. Visit their site to see the whole list.

 

Today, the web contains many archival and rare books materials that have been digitized and are freely available online. Below is a list of some of the best site to search for primary sources online.