Encyclopedias and textbooks are usually considered tertiary sources. This means that they compile or synthesize information available in other places, but do not contain original research (unlike secondary sources, which do contain original research). This makes them a good resource for learning about a topic for the first time as well as verifying a date or location.
Encyclopedias and Introductory Texts
-
Born in Blood and Fire
by
Born in Blood and Fire, fourth edition has been extensively revised to heighten emphasis on current cultural analyses of Latin American society and facilitate meaningful connections between the Encounter and the present. Throughout the fourth edition, a new full-colour design highlights an enriched and expanded map and illustration programme. This, along with new quizzing and assessment options and a new edition of the companion reader, offers students and instructors more support than ever before.
ISBN: 9780393283051Publication Date: 2016-06-21 -
The Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American Culture
by
The term Latin America refers to the Portuguese and Spanish-speaking states created in the early 1820s following the wars of independence, states that differed enormously in geographical and demographical scale, ethnic composition and economic resources, yet shared distinct historical and cultural traits. Specially-commissioned essays by leading experts explore the unity and diversity of the region's cultural expressions. These essays analyse history and politics from the nineteenth century to the present day and consider the heritage of pre-Columbian and Colonial Latin America. There is a particular focus on narrative as well as on poetry, art and architecture, music, cinema, theatre, and broader issues of popular culture. A final chapter looks at the strong and rapidly expanding influence of latino/a culture in the United States. A chronology and guides to further reading are included, making this volume an invaluable introduction to the rich and varied culture of modern Latin America.
ISBN: 0521631513Publication Date: 2004-03-29 -
The Cambridge Economic History of Latin America (Vol. 2)
by
ISBN: 0521812909Publication Date: 2006-01-23 -
The Cambridge Economic History of Latin America (Vol 1)
by
ISBN: 0521812895Publication Date: 2005-12-30 -
The Cambridge History of Latin America: Volume 1, Colonial Latin America
by
The Cambridge History of Latin America is the first authoritative large-scale history of the whole of Latin America - Mexico and Central America, the Spanish-speaking Caribbean (and Haiti), Spanish South America and Brazil from the late-fifteenth and early-sixteenth centuries to the present day. An important feature of The Cambridge History of Latin America is the bibliographical essays which accompany each chapter. The essays from Volumes I–IX, revised and updated, are brought together in Volume X: Bibliography.
ISBN: 9781139055161 -
Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater
by
This volume traces the history of Latin American theater, including the Nuyorican and Chicano theaters of the United States, and surveys its history from the pre-Columbian period to the present. Sections cover individual Latin American countries. Each section features alphabetically arranged entries for playwrights, independent theaters, and cultural movements. The volume begins with an overview of the development of theater in Latin America. Each of the country sections begins with an introductory survey and concludes with copious bibliographical information. The entries for playwrights provide factual information about the dramatist's life and works and place the author within the larger context of international literature. Each entry closes with a list of works by and about the playwright. A selected, general bibliography appears at the end of the volume.
ISBN: 0313290415Publication Date: 2003-12-30 -
Modern Latin America
by
Now thoroughly updated in its eighth edition, Modern Latin America is a lively interpretive history that covers the continent from 1880 to the present, with a preliminary chapter providing context for the region back to 1492. Organized by country/region case studies, rather than chronologically, students are guided through the major countries of Latin America, with central themes including European-New World interaction, racial mixtures, military takeovers, and U.S. intervention in the area.
ISBN: 9780199929238
Additional Resources
-
Library of Congress Hispanic Reading Room
The Hispanic Reading Room is the primary access point for research related to the Caribbean, Latin America, Spain and Portugal; the Indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinos in the U.S. and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa, Asia, and Oceania.
