The Argentina Reader
The Argentina Reader by ISBN: 9780822384182Publication Date: 2002The Argentina Reader includes selections of primary sources from the colonial period to the present. The sources, translated into English, include songs, articles, comic strips, poems, and short stories alongside secondary sources. Each section and individual selection is preceded by a brief introduction by the editors. English
Digital Collections
Archivo Histórico de Revistas Argentinas (ahiRa)
The Archivo Histórico de Revistas Argentinas is a collection of more than two hundred digitized magazines from the twentieth century. It includes literary, cultural, political, and humor magazines. It also includes links to additional digital collections.Spanish
Archivos en Uso
Archivos en Uso is a collective project of the Red Conceptualismos del Sur to make available digitized materials from the 1970s in Argentina, Chile, Paraguay, and Uruguay. It includes a digital archive documenting creative practices related to the Human Rights Movement in Argentina that brings together the work of Alfredo Alonso and Roberto Amigo held at the Center for Documentation and Investigation of the Culture of the Left (CeDInCi), clippings from newspapers and magazines, materials from photojournalists, including Daniel García, Domingo Ocaranza, Eduardo Gil, Edward Shaw, Brenno Quaretti, Mónica Hasenberg, and Héctor Carballo, work by Julio Flores, and materials from the collection of Memoria Abierta. Another archive is dedicated to underground cultural magazines from the period of the last military dictatorship.
One collection features the papers and work of the Argentinian sociologist and artist Roberto Jacoby. Two additional collections include Argentine artist and activist Juan Carlos Romero's personal archive and political artwork.
Archivos en Uso includes the archive of Graciela Carnevale, who participated in the Group de Arte de Vanguardia in Rosario during the late 1960s and early 1970s. This collection includes materials related to the 1968 Tucamán Arde series. The website also makes accessible digitized documents about the 1976-1983 military government’s international communication strategy. Spanish
Disappeared Children in Argentina
The Disappeared Children in Argentina: Rita Arditti's Interviews with the Grandmothers of Plaza de Mayo collection contains important documentation and oral history interviews related to the political violence of the last military dictatorship in Argentina (1976-1983). During the 1980s and 1990s Dr. Rita Arditti, an Argentinean Professor of Biology and interdisciplinary scholar at Brandeis University became invested in learning more about and documenting the experiences of the Grandmothers of the Plaza de Mayo, a group which attempted to recuperate their grandchildren who were kidnapped when their parents were disappeared by the military government. The interviews she conducted with the group during the 1990s became the foundation for her 1999 book Searching for Life: The Grandmothers of the Plaza de Mayo and the Disappeared Children of Argentina and are in the digital collections on the Joseph P. Healey Library at the University of Massachusetts Boston. Introduction in Spanish and English, materials in Spanish
Latin American Labor Movements Newspapers
The Latin American Labor Movements Newspapers collection at the UCLA Library features digitized Argentine political newspapers from the late nineteenth and early twentieth century, including La Protesta Humana, El Perseguido: Voz de los explotados, La Acción Socialista, La Organización Obrera: Organo de la Federacion Obrera Regional Argentina, El Obrero Panadero, and Montaña. English with Spanish language materials
Papelitos: 78 historias sobre un Mundial en dictadura
Papelitos documents 78 stories from the 1978 World Cup held in Argentina, with attention to boycotts and other reactions to the human rights abuses perpetrated during the last military dictatorship. It includes narratives as well as scanned documents. English and Spanish.
