Open access sources are digital, free, and available online. Scholars may publish books directly with open access publishers, or they may add books that they publish with other academic presses to open access repositories. Likewise, scholars can publish in open access journals, or they can make their articles published in subscription-based journals open access by depositing them in an open access repository. In each of these cases, the scholarly articles and books are peer reviewed.
Some but not all of the material in the open access repositories linked below is included in the UConn Library catalog. These open access repositories include articles and books primarily written in Spanish and Portuguese.
CLACSO Virtual Library
The Latin American Council of Social Sciences (CLACSO) publishes open access books focused on Latin America. The CLASCO Virtual Library is a digital repository that offers free access to more than 100,000 texts. CLASCO titles published between 2018 and 2020 are also available via the Books at JSTOR Open Access program and appear in the UConn Library.
LatinREV
LatinRev is a cooperative network of open access academic journals supported by the Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales Argentina (FLACSO). It includes humanities and social sciences journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, Portugal, and Angola.
LA Referencia
LA Referencia promotes open and free access to full texts of scientific materials published by higher education and research institutions in Latin America. It includes scientific articles and doctoral and master's theses from more than one hundred universities and research institutions in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Costa Rica, Colombia, Ecuador, El Salvador, Spain, Mexico, Panama, Peru and Uruguay.
Latindex
Latindex is a network of twenty-four institutions that collects and disseminates information about scientific journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal. Registration and access to the information is free. Latindex is supported by the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM).
The Latindex Portal of Portals (PPL) unifies access to fifteen open access collections focused on scientific research.
Redalyc
Redalyc is a network of open access scientific journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugual. It is supported by the Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México (UAEM). More than 700 institutions from twenty-five countries collaborate in Redalyc, and the collection includes more thab 750,000 articles from almost 1500 journals.
Red Iberoamericana de Innovación y Conocimiento Científico (REDIB)
REDIB aggregates open access electronic-format scientific and academic content. It includes content produced in in Ibero-American countries and languages or on topics related to Ibero-America.
Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO)
The Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO) offers open access content focused on scientific research. Journals are organized nationally and thematically, and include collections from Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Spain, and Uruguay. Each collection is managed by a nationally recognized organization.
SciELO also offers access to open access data, preprints, and books. The library includes materials written in Spanish, Portuguese, and English.
Latindex Portal of Portals
The Latindex Portal of Portals (PPL) unifies access to fifteen open access collections focused on scientific research. Latindex is supported by the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), with participation of 21 institutions from 21 countries in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal.
