Digital Collections
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 is an archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Available in two series, Series 1 focuses on the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics. Spanish and English
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 is an archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Available in two series, Series 2 focuses on Hispanic American civil rights, religion and women’s rights from the 18th through the 20th century. Spanish and English.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
The ProQuest Historical Newspapers database includes more than 100 titles, primarily from the US and Canada. It also includes newspapers from Australia, China, Great Britain, India, Ireland, South Korea, and France. English
Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat)
The Catalog o
f Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat) is a tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean. NewspaperCat was funded by a grant from the George A. Smathers Libraries at the University of Florida.
Print Materials
Foreign Relations of the United States Series
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the Department of State's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 450 individual volumes. The volumes published over the last two decades increasingly contain declassified records from all the foreign affairs agencies.
CIA Research Reports: Latin America
| Scope |
CIA reports, memos, and cables on situations and conditions in Latin America, 1946-1976.
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Format | Microfilm (5 reels) | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Arrangement | By country, then chronological | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Indexes | CIA Research Reports: Latin America 1946-1976. |
Mexican Boundary Commission Papers of John Russell Bartlett
| Scope | Papers (correspondence, official dispatches, personal journal) of John Russell Bartlett as he traveled through Texas, New Mexico, Arizona, Mexico, and California in drawing the boundary between Mexico and the U.S., 1850-1853. |
| Format | Microfilm (12 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological. |
| Indexes | The Mexican Boundary Commission papers of John Russell Bartlett, 1850-1853. |
Papers of the United Farm Workers of America Work Department, 1969-1975
| Scope | Correspondence, clippings, memoranda, reports, financial papers, speeches, pamphlets, minutes, and other materials relating to the United Farm Workers Work Department. |
| Format | Microfilm (17 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
Papers of the United Farm Workers Organizing Committee, 1959-1970
| Scope | Materials relating to the organizing committee of the United Farm Workers from 1969-1970. |
| Format | Microfilm (7 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | Papers of the United Farm Workers Organizing Committee |
United States and Castro’s Cuba 1950s-1970s (Paterson Collection)
| Scope | Declassified documents provide yearly, monthly, and sometimes daily accounts of the diplomatic, economic, military, and cultural relationship of the US and Castro’s Cuba. Also includes political, news, and corporate reports. |
| Format | Microfilm (22 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | United States and Castro’s Cuba 1950s-1970s, the Paterson Collection: Guide to the Scholarly Resources Microfilm Edition. |
United States. Bureau of Insular Affairs. Index to Official Documents Relating to Cuba and the Insular Possessions of the U.S., 1876-1906
| Scope | This microfilm collection from the National Archives (M-24) reproduces a three-volume index to official documents covering the entire period of the American Military Governments in Cuba, Puerto Rico, and the Philippine Islands. Also covers the early years of civil government in Puerto Rico and the Philippines, 1876-1904. |
| Format | Microfilm (3 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
United States Bureau of the Census: Special Censuses of Puerto Rico, The Social and Population Schedules, 1935-1936
| Scope | For each inhabitant, provides the name, place of residence, family relationship, sex, color, age, marital status, place of birth and occupation. Also covers school attendance, literacy and employment. |
| Format | Microfilm (82 reels) |
| Arrangement | Schedules area arranged alphabetically by municipality, then by enumeration district number. |
| Indexes | U.S. Bureau of the Census, Special Censuses of Puerto Rico, 1935-1936, Social and Population Schedules; A Reel Guide. |
United States Bureau of the Census: Special Censuses of Puerto Rico, Agricultural Schedules, 1935
| Scope | Agricultural schedules provide information about the operator or manager of each farm; farm ownership, acreage, value, and debt; number of farm buildings and inhabitants; production of crops for sale; number and kind of domesticated animals; and farm machinery. |
| Format | Microfilm (136 reels) |
| Arrangement | Schedules are arranged alphabetically by municipality, then by enumeration district number. |
| Indexes | U.S. Bureau of the Census, Special Censuses of Puerto Rico, 1935, Agriculture Schedules: A Reel Guide. |
United States Bureau of the Census: Census of Population: Puerto Rico
| Scope | 13th (1910), 14th (1920), 15th (1930) |
| Format | Microfilm (90 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
United States Consulate Despatches
| Scope |
U.S. Consulate Despatches of Argentina, Azores, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Italy, Puerto Rico and Trinidad.
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Format | Microfilm (375 reels) | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Arrangement | Alphabetically by country, then area, then chronological | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Indexes |
Latin America: Special Studies, 1941-1988. |
United States Military Intelligence Reports: Argentina
| Scope | Reports on Argentina’s politics and government, military history, and foreign relations, 1918-1941. |
| Format | Microfilm (4 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, Argentina 1918-1941. |
United States Military Intelligence Reports: Mexico
| Scope | Reports on Mexico’s politics and government, military history, and foreign relations, 1919-1941. |
| Format | Microfilm (9 reels) |
| Arrangement |
Chronological Reels I-V: Political Affairs Reels VI-VIII: Military Affairs Reel IX: Government Affairs, Economic and Financial Affairs |
| Indexes | U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, Mexico, 1919-1941. |
United States State Dept. Decimal File
| Scope | State Department records relating to: internal affairs of China, 1910-29; political relations between the United States and China, 1910-29; political relations between China and other states, 1910-29; internal affairs of Cuba 1910-29; internal affairs of the Dominican Republic 1910-39, internal affairs of Mexico 1910-1929. |
| Format | Microfilm: Cuba (97 reels), Dominican Republic (116 reels), Mexico (143 reels) |
| Arrangement | Decimal system; largely chronological. |
| Indexes |
U.S. State Dept. Decimal File. Cuba-Internal Affairs 1910-29. U.S. State Dept. Decimal File. Dominican Republic-Internal Affairs 1910-29. U.S. State Dept. Decimal File. Dominican Republic-Internal Affairs 1930-39. U.S. State Dept. Decimal File. Mexico – Internal Affairs 1910-29. |
