Finding Materials on Microform
Microform Collections are located on Level B of the Babbidge Library. These collections consist of microfilm (reels) and microfiche (sheets). They are grouped by format and arranged alphabetically by collection title in the microform cabinets. Microform collections are research materials that cannot be checked out from the library.
Guides and indexes to some of these microform collections are available electronically or are physically located on top of the cabinets. All physical guides are shelved alphabetically by collection.
Researchers do not need an appointment to use Babbidge microform materials. However, if you need assistance locating or using these microform materials, please contact the Research Services Librarian for Latina/o, Caribbean, & Latin American Studies.
Calendario manual y guía de forasteros en México, 1811
| Scope | Calendar, manual, and guide of foreigners in Mexico for the year of 1811 |
| Format | Microfilm (1 reel) |
| Arrangement | By organization; chronological |
| Indexes | None |
CIA Research Reports: Latin America
| Scope |
CIA reports, memos, and cables on situations and conditions in Latin America, 1946-1976.
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Format | Microfilm (5 reels) | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Arrangement | By country, then chronological | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Indexes | CIA Research Reports: Latin America 1946-1976. |
Colonial Latin American Manuscripts and Transcripts in the Obadiah Rich Collection
| Scope | Spanish and Portuguese documents relating to the conquest of America from 1492-1843. |
| Format | Microfilm (33 reels) |
| Arrangement | Numbered documents from 1 to 102. |
| Indexes | Colonial Latin American Manuscripts and Transcripts in the Obadiah Rich collection: A Guide to the Microfilm Edition. |
Cuba Socialista
| Scope | Theoretical and political journal founded in 1961 by Fidel Castro published by the Central Committee of the communist party of Cuba, v.1-v.7 (1961-1967). |
| Format | Microfilm (6 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronologically, by volume |
| Indexes | Index for 1961-1965 filmed as reel 7. |
Democracia/Diario de Puerto Rico
| Scope |
Daily newspaper founded on July 1, 1890, published by Luis Munoz Rivera in Ponce, Puerto Rico, that crusaded for Puerto Rican self-government. 1891:jul.-1942 (1940:sept. on reel with 1952:Jul./Agosto of later title); 1952:Jul.-1952:Agosto (Filmed with 1940:Sept. of earlier title) |
| Format | Microfilm (118 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronologically, by year |
| Indexes | None |
Extranjeros
| Scope | The Royal Decree containing the regulations for promoting the population, commerce, industry, and agriculture for the island of Puerto Rico, 1815-1845. English, Spanish, and French |
| Format | Microfilm (19 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
Fulham Papers
| Scope | General correspondence, ordination papers, missionary bonds, pamphlets, and miscellaneous papers from branches of the Church of England in Canada, the United States, and the West Indies to the Bishops of London, residents of Fulham Palace, 1699-1774. |
| Format | Microfilm (13 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological. Volumes 1-40 |
| Indexes | Fulham papers in the Lambeth Palace Library: America Colonial Section Calendar and Indexes. |
Guatemalteco, Diario de Centro América
| Scope | El Guatemalteco, Diario de Centro America, established in 1880, is the official organ of the Republic of Guatemala. The Babbidge collection covers Jan.1970-october 1993. Missing issues are noted at the beginning of each microfilm reel. |
| Format | Microfilm (129 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological. |
| Indexes | None |
Latin America Special Studies
| Scope |
OSS/State Department intelligence and research reports on Latin America, 1941-1961 initiate this series. The Special Studies reports that followed (1962-1988) feature extensive research on significant topics. The reports were commissioned by the U.S. Government from private and public policy research facilities.
|
||||||||||
| Format | Microfilm (42 reels) | ||||||||||
| Arrangement | Item number | ||||||||||
| Indexes |
Latin America: Special Studies, 1941-1988. |
Latin American Newspapers
| Scope |
Collection of newspapers from Bolivia.
|
||||||||||||||||
| Format | Microfilm (21 reels) | ||||||||||||||||
| Arrangement | Chronological, by volume. | ||||||||||||||||
| Indexes |
None |
Latin American Research Program
| Scope |
Brazilian Socialist and communist ephemera (book, journals, newspapers) 1945-1960.
|
||||||||||
| Format | Microfilm (16 reels) | ||||||||||
| Arrangement | Chronological | ||||||||||
| Indexes |
None |
Memoria (Puerto Rico)
| Scope | Puerto Rican politics and government from the provincial deputation, 1887-1898. |
| Format | Microfilm (1 reel) |
| Arrangement | Chronological. |
| Indexes | None |
Mexican Boundary Commission Papers of John Russell Bartlett
| Scope | Papers (correspondence, official dispatches, personal journal) of John Russell Bartlett as he traveled through Texas, New Mexico, Arizona, Mexico, and California in drawing the boundary between Mexico and the U.S., 1850-1853. |
| Format | Microfilm (12 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological. |
| Indexes | The Mexican Boundary Commission papers of John Russell Bartlett, 1850-1853. |
México. Biblioteca Nacional. MSS 1628 (Cantares), 1492 (Epístolas), 1477 (Miscelánea)
| Scope | A selection of 15th-17th century Mexican religious chants and epistles from the Mexican National Library manuscripts and collections. |
| Format | Microfilm (1 reel) |
| Arrangement | Arranged in alphabetical order by category starting with “cantares” and ending with “miscelánea”. |
| Indexes | México. Biblioteca nacional. MSS 1628 (Cantares), 1492 (Epístolas), 1477 (Miscelánea). |
México. Dirección General de Estadística. Censo General de la Republica de Mexicana
| Scope | 1st-5th Census of Mexico, 1895-1930. |
| Format | Microfilm (15 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
México. Dirección General de Estadística. 6 Censo do Población
| Scope | 6th Census of population of Mexico, 1941-1948. Reel 1 includes supplementary works. |
| Format | Microfilm (5 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
Mexico. Independent Mexico in Newspapers, the 19th Century
| Scope | The collection consists of newspapers that were published mainly in the Distrito Federal. Some titles published in Mexican cities from different states are also included. 1812-1900. |
| Format | Microfilm (35 reels) |
| Arrangement | Alphabetically by title within the Distrito Federal or state. |
| Indexes | Independent Mexico in Newspapers, the 19th Century Guide to the Microfilm Set Mexico; Independent Mexico in Newspapers, the 19th Century. A Reel Guide to the Holdings in the Homer Babbidge Library, University of Connecticut. |
México. Mérida. Diario de Yucatán
| Scope | Regional Mexican daily newspaper headquartered in Mérida, Yucatán. 1941:April-1990:Dec. with gaps. |
| Format | Microfilm (294 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
El Mundo (Puerto Rico)
| Scope |
Puerto Rican newspaper founded in 1919. 1919:Feb.-1950:Dec. The Digital Library of the Caribbean had digitized portions of El Mundo. |
| Format | Microfilm (423 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
Mundo Peronista
| Scope | Journal published between 1951 and 1955 dedicated to Peronism. |
| Format | Microfilm (5 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
El Norte
| Scope |
Daily newspaper printed and distributed in Monterrey, Nuevo León, México. Library has: 1941:May-1941:June, 1942:June, 1942:Aug.-1946:Dec., 1949:Oct.22, 1949:Nov.-1961:Mar., 1961:May-1966:Nov. |
| Format | Microfilm (190 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
Obra Revolucionaria
| Scope | Periodical publication published by Comisión de Orientación Revolucionaria del PURSC, Habana. Library has: 1960-1965. |
| Format | Microfilm (10 reels) |
| Arrangement | In order by route number. |
| Indexes | None |
Papers of the United Farm Workers of America Work Department, 1969-1975
| Scope | Correspondence, clippings, memoranda, reports, financial papers, speeches, pamphlets, minutes, and other materials relating to the United Farm Workers Work Department. |
| Format | Microfilm (17 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
Papers of the United Farm Workers Organizing Committee, 1959-1970
| Scope | Materials relating to the organizing committee of the United Farm Workers from 1969-1970. |
| Format | Microfilm (7 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | Papers of the United Farm Workers Organizing Committee |
Puerto Rican Labor Press
| Scope | Puerto Rican labor publications including Union Obrera and proceedings of the Pan American Federation of Labor, 1892-1934. |
| Format | Microfilm (45 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | Puerto Rican Labor Press. Eric Perez Collection. |
Puerto Rico. Estadística General del Comercio Exterior de la Provincia de Puerto Rico
| Scope | General statistics of the foreign trade of Puerto Rico, 1862-1897, compiled by Intendencia General de Hacienda. |
| Format | Microfilm (4 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
Puerto Rico. Gaceta de Puerto Rico
| Scope |
Puerto Rico’s first newspaper was the official organ of the government featuring decrees, edicts, and governmental records. First published in 1807. 1810-1818, 1820-1823, 1826-1829. |
| Format | Microfilm (4 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
Revista Bimestre Cubana
| Scope |
Cuban periodical founded by Mariano Cubí y Soler in 1831 in Havana, Cuba. Library has: v.1-v.76 (1831:May-1959:May/June) |
| Format | Microfilm (14 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronologically, by volume |
| Indexes | None |
Revista Cubana
| Scope |
Periodical published in Havana Cuba. Library has: t.1-t.21 (1885-1895); v. 1-v.31 (1935-1957) |
| Format | Microfilm (8 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronologically, by volume |
| Indexes | None |
Revista de Cuba
| Scope |
Periodical published in Havana Cuba. Library has: t.1-t.16 (1877-1884:Nov.) |
| Format | Microfilm (4 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronologically, by volume |
| Indexes | None |
Revista Portugueze, Colonial e Maritima
| Scope |
Periodical published in Lisbon, Portugal. Library has: v. 1-v.13 (1897-1910) |
| Format | Microfilm (7 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronologically, by volume |
| Indexes | None |
Trabajo Cuba
| Scope |
Official publication of the Ministerio del Trabajo, Havana, Cuba. Library has: 1-5; (1960:05-1964) |
| Format | Microfilm (8 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronologically, by volume |
| Indexes | None |
United States and Castro’s Cuba 1950s-1970s (Paterson Collection)
| Scope | Declassified documents provide yearly, monthly, and sometimes daily accounts of the diplomatic, economic, military, and cultural relationship of the US and Castro’s Cuba. Also includes political, news, and corporate reports. |
| Format | Microfilm (22 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | United States and Castro’s Cuba 1950s-1970s, the Paterson Collection: Guide to the Scholarly Resources Microfilm Edition. |
United States. Bureau of Insular Affairs. Index to Official Documents Relating to Cuba and the Insular Possessions of the U.S., 1876-1906
| Scope | This microfilm collection from the National Archives (M-24) reproduces a three-volume index to official documents covering the entire period of the American Military Governments in Cuba, Puerto Rico, and the Philippine Islands. Also covers the early years of civil government in Puerto Rico and the Philippines, 1876-1904. |
| Format | Microfilm (3 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
United States Bureau of the Census: Census of Population: Puerto Rico
| Scope | 13th (1910), 14th (1920), 15th (1930) |
| Format | Microfilm (90 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
United States Bureau of the Census: Special Censuses of Puerto Rico, Agricultural Schedules, 1935
| Scope | Agricultural schedules provide information about the operator or manager of each farm; farm ownership, acreage, value, and debt; number of farm buildings and inhabitants; production of crops for sale; number and kind of domesticated animals; and farm machinery. |
| Format | Microfilm (136 reels) |
| Arrangement | Schedules are arranged alphabetically by municipality, then by enumeration district number. |
| Indexes | U.S. Bureau of the Census, Special Censuses of Puerto Rico, 1935, Agriculture Schedules: A Reel Guide. |
United States Bureau of the Census: Special Censuses of Puerto Rico, The Social and Population Schedules, 1935-1936
| Scope | For each inhabitant, provides the name, place of residence, family relationship, sex, color, age, marital status, place of birth and occupation. Also covers school attendance, literacy and employment. |
| Format | Microfilm (82 reels) |
| Arrangement | Schedules area arranged alphabetically by municipality, then by enumeration district number. |
| Indexes | U.S. Bureau of the Census, Special Censuses of Puerto Rico, 1935-1936, Social and Population Schedules; A Reel Guide. |
United States Consulate Despatches
| Scope |
U.S. Consulate Despatches of Argentina, Azores, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Italy, Puerto Rico and Trinidad.
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Format | Microfilm (375 reels) | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Arrangement | Alphabetically by country, then area, then chronological | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Indexes |
Latin America: Special Studies, 1941-1988. |
United States Military Intelligence Reports: Argentina
| Scope | Reports on Argentina’s politics and government, military history, and foreign relations, 1918-1941. |
| Format | Microfilm (4 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, Argentina 1918-1941. |
United States Military Intelligence Reports: Mexico
| Scope | Reports on Mexico’s politics and government, military history, and foreign relations, 1919-1941. |
| Format | Microfilm (9 reels) |
| Arrangement |
Chronological Reels I-V: Political Affairs Reels VI-VIII: Military Affairs Reel IX: Government Affairs, Economic and Financial Affairs |
| Indexes | U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, Mexico, 1919-1941. |
United States State Dept. Decimal File
| Scope | State Department records relating to: internal affairs of China, 1910-29; political relations between the United States and China, 1910-29; political relations between China and other states, 1910-29; internal affairs of Cuba 1910-29; internal affairs of the Dominican Republic 1910-39, internal affairs of Mexico 1910-1929. |
| Format | Microfilm: Cuba (97 reels), Dominican Republic (116 reels), Mexico (143 reels) |
| Arrangement | Decimal system; largely chronological. |
| Indexes |
U.S. State Dept. Decimal File. Cuba-Internal Affairs 1910-29. U.S. State Dept. Decimal File. Dominican Republic-Internal Affairs 1910-29. U.S. State Dept. Decimal File. Dominican Republic-Internal Affairs 1930-39. U.S. State Dept. Decimal File. Mexico – Internal Affairs 1910-29. |
