Religion & Philosophy eReference Books
Bioethics by ISBN: 9780028662060Publication Date: 2014-05-01Entries on topics such as key cases in bioethics, the human biome, genetically modified foods, emergency preparedness and response, social justice, sustainability, chemical warfare and torture, among many others.
The Cambridge Companion to Arabic Philosophy by ISBN: 9780511221941Publication Date: 2006-06-21Philosophy written in Arabic and in the Islamic world represents one of the great traditions of Western philosophy. Inspired by This collection of essays, by some of the leading scholars in Arabic philosophy, provides an introduction to the field by way of chapters devoted to individual thinkers (such as al-Farabi, Avicenna and Averroes) or groups, especially during the 'classical' period from the ninth to the twelfth centuries. It also includes chapters on areas of philosophical inquiry across the tradition, such as ethics and metaphysics. Finally, it includes chapters on later Islamic thought, and on the connections between Arabic philosophy and Greek, Jewish, and Latin philosophy.
The Cambridge Companion to Feminism in Philosophy by ISBN: 9780521624695Publication Date: 2000-01-27Ranging from history of philosophy through metaphysics to philosophy of science, the essays encompass all the core subject areas commonly taught in anglophone undergraduate and graduate philosophy courses, offering both an overview of and a contribution to the relevant debates. Together they testify to the intellectual value of feminism as a radicalizing energy internal to philosophical inquiry.
The Cambridge Companion to Greek and Roman Philosophy by ISBN: 9780521775038Publication Date: 2003-07-31A team of leading specialists surveys the developments of the period and evaluates a comprehensive series of major thinkers, ranging from Pythagoras to Epicurus.
Encyclopedia of PhilosophyISBN: 9780028657806Publication Date: 2005-12-16English-language reference source for philosophy. The Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment by ISBN: 9780195104301Publication Date: 2002-12-26Covers the “long” Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815, these 700 articles by leading scholars range from discussions of mercantilism and democracy to the battlefield to the dissemination of ideas in salons and coffeehouses.
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy by ISBN: 9780199264797Publication Date: 2005-05-26Reference work that gives clear and reliable guidance to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day.
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy by ISBN: 0198735308Publication Date: 2016-05-01Comprehensive and authoritative, it covers every aspect of philosophy from Aristotle to Zen. Entries include over 400 biographies of famous and influential philosophers, in-depth analysis of philosophical terms and concepts, and a chronology of philosophical events stretching from 10,000 BC to the present day.
The Cambridge Companion to Biblical Interpretation by ISBN: 0521485932Publication Date: 1998-07-28Major issues raised are: the relation of modern 'critical' study of the Bible to 'pre-critical' and 'post-critical' approaches; the place of history in the study of the Bible; feminist, liberationist and new historicist concerns; the relation of Christian and Jewish scholarship; and recent interest in the Bible as literature.
The Cambridge Companion to Black Theology by ISBN: 9780521879866Publication Date: 2012-07-26This volume discusses normative theological categories from a Black perspective and argues that there is no major Christian doctrine on which Black theology has not commented.
The Cambridge Companion to Christian Doctrine by ISBN: 052147695XPublication Date: 1997-06-19Written by leading theologians from America and Britain, the essays place doctrine in its setting - what it has been historically, and how it relates to other forms of culture - and outline central features of its content. They attempt to answer questions such as 'what has, and does, Christian doctrine teach about God, the creation, the human condition and human behaviour?' and 'what is the part played in Christian doctrine by the Trinity, Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit?'
The Cambridge Companion to Classical Islamic Theology by ISBN: 0521780586Publication Date: 2008-05-22Introduces key Muslim theories of revelation, creation, ethics, scriptural interpretation, law, mysticism, and eschatology. Throughout the treatment is firmly set in the historical, social and political context in which Islam's distinctive understanding of God evolved.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions by ISBN: 9780192800947Publication Date: 2000-12-14Abridged from the acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of World Religions, this is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of religion available.
Encyclopedia of ReligionISBN: 9780028657332Publication Date: 2004-12-17Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
The Oxford Companion to the Bible by ISBN: 9780195046458Publication Date: 1993-10-14Provides an authoritative one-volume reference to the people, places, events, books, institutions, religious belief, and secular influence of the Bible.
The Blackwell Companion to the Study of Religion by ISBN: 9781405185981Publication Date: 2008-09-22Offers the most comprehensive survey to date of the study of religion. Examines the main approaches to the study of religion: anthropology, the comparative method, economics, literature, philosophy, psychology, sociology, and theology. Also covers a diverse range of topical issues, such as the body, fundamentalism, magic, and new religious movements.
