Political Science & Law eReference Books
A Dictionary of Forensic Science by ISBN: 9780199594009Publication Date: 2012-03-21This dictionary covers in over 1300 entries the key concepts within forensic science, including a wide array of relevant specialist terms from areas such as chemistry, biology, anthropology, art, engineering, firearms, toolmarks, trace evidence, crime scene investigation, case history, biographies of investigators and criminals, as well as forensic computing.
A Dictionary of Law by ISBN: 9780198802525Publication Date: 2018-08-21The ninth edition has been fully updated to incorporate recent case law and the latest legislation, such as the Modern Slavery Act 2015, the Brexit legislation, and changes in consumer, tax, and family law. Over 100 new entries have been added, including Article 50, Brexit, the Marriage(Same Sex Couples) Act 2013, and intercountry adoption. In addition, there is a useful Writing and Citation Guide that specifically addresses problems and established conventions for writing legal essays and reports.
Encyclopedia of Crime and JusticeISBN: 9780028653198Publication Date: 2001-10-15An interdisciplinary source that addresses not only law but also sociology, psychology, history and economics. Entries vary widely from abortion to rape and from family violence to wiretapping, offering a mirror of issues dominating today's headlines.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment by ISBN: 9780761922582Publication Date: 2002-03-18Authoritative and comprehensive, this multivolume set includes hundreds of articles in the field of criminal justice. Impressive arrays of authors have contributed to this resource, addressing such diverse topics as racial profiling, money laundering, torture, prisoner literature, the KGB, and Sing Sing.
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against HumanityISBN: 9780028658476Publication Date: 2004-10-29This encyclopedia spans the globe to explain the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators and heroes, and explains international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity.
Encyclopedia of Law and Society by ISBN: 9780761923879Publication Date: 2007-07-10The Encyclopedia of Law and Society is the largest comprehensive and international treatment of the law and society field. With an Advisory Board of 62 members from 20 countries and six continents, the three volumes of this state-of-the-art resource represent interdisciplinary perspectives on law from sociology, criminology, cultural anthropology, political science, social psychology, and economics. By globalizing the Encyclopedia's coverage, American and international law and society will be better understood within its historical and comparative context.
Guns in American Society by ISBN: 9781576077481Publication Date: 2003-03-26Top scholars present an unbiased, two-volume set that takes on the explosive issue of guns and gun violence in the United States.
The New Oxford Companion to Law by ISBN: 9780199290543Publication Date: 2008-11-15For any reader needing a concise yet expert explanation of a subject in law the New Oxford Companion to Law is the ideal reference work. Providing greater depth than can be found in legal dictionaries but always accessible to the non-specialist, entries in the Companion cover all areas of law and legal systems and are extensively cross-referenced for ease of navigation.
The Oxford Companion to American Law by ISBN: 9780195088786Publication Date: 2002-05-02Describes the development of positive, common and constitutional law as well as arbitration, mediation and alternative dispute resolution. It covers issues involving laws role in structuring decisions about governance, the significance of state and local law and legal institutions, and the place of American law in a comparative international perspective.
The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States by ISBN: 9780195176612Publication Date: 2005-05-19Includes new entries on key cases and full treatment of crucial areas of constitutional law, such as abortion, freedom of religion, school desegregation, freedom of speech, voting rights, military tribunals, and the rights of the accused.
The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions by ISBN: 9780195379396Publication Date: 2009-03-11Offers lively and insightful accounts of the most important cases ever argued before the Court, from Marbury v. Madison and Scott v. Sandford (the Dred Scott decision) to Brown v. Board of Education and Roe v. Wade.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics by ISBN: 9780199207800Publication Date: 2009-03-19Covering political institutions, concepts, leaders, and thinkers, the second edition of this best-selling dictionary of political terms has been fully revised and updated with over 200 new entries. New entries include commentary on the Middle East, ethnic cleansing, NGOs, and direct action. With an international and wide-ranging scope, the dictionary encompasses issues such as voting theory and feminism, to Chinese and Muslim political thought.
Dictionary of Political Biography by ISBN: 9780199569137Publication Date: 2013Covers all the major figures in world politics of the twentieth century. Authoritative and wide-ranging, it describes and assesses the lives of more than 1,000 men and women who have shaped political events across the world.
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy by ISBN: 9780684806570Publication Date: 2001-12-01Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
Richard Dean Burns, Alexander DeConde, and Fredrik Logevall, eds. 2nded. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2002. 1887 pp. 3 vols.
Essays by subject experts treat concepts and doctrines, policymaking, commerce and science, human rights and arms control, with specific articles on topics ranging from anti-imperialism to environmental diplomacy, from refugee policies to terrorism and countermeasures.
Encyclopedia of Politics by ISBN: 9781412904094Publication Date: 2005-03-17Contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles, with those usually thought of as left in the left-hand volume (Volume 1), and those considered on the right in the right-hand volume (Volume 2).
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World by ISBN: 9780195117394Publication Date: 2001-08-02Reflects the changing world with a reassessment of many of the core themes of the previous edition, and new articles on the people, concepts, and events that have shaped the world since 1993. Includes biographies of Kofi Annan, Tony Blair, Bill Clinton, and Gerhard Schroder; articles on events such as the Rwandan Genocide and the war in Kosovo; and coverage of international trade developments such as NAFTA and the World Trade Organization
The Oxford Guide to the United States Government by ISBN: 9780195142730Publication Date: 2001-07-04Contains the key figures, events, and structures that have animated U.S. government for more than 200 years. In addition to coverage of the 2000 Presidential race and election, it features biographies of all the Presidents, Vice Presidents, and Supreme Court Justices, as well as notable members of Congress, including current leadership; historical commentary on past elections, major Presidential decisions, international and domestic programs, and the key advisors and agencies of the executive branch; in-depth analysis of Congressional leadership and committees, agencies and staff, and historic legislation; and detailed discussions of 100 landmark Supreme Court cases and the major issues facing the Court today.
The Oxford Handbook of American Political Parties and Interest Groups by ISBN: 9780199542628Publication Date: 2010-04-05With engaging new contributions from the major figures in the field of political parties & interest groups, this handbook is a key point of reference for anyone working in American politics today.
