Encyclopedia & Dictionaries eReference Books
The Cambridge Thesaurus of American English by ISBN: 9780521414272Publication Date: 1994-02-25The Cambridge Thesaurus of American English is an original and up-to-date collection of over 200,000 synonyms and antonyms for the most commonly used words and phrases in contemporary American English.
The Columbia Guide to Standard American English by ISBN: 9780231069892Publication Date: 1996-08-30An A to Z format for quick reference, suggestions based on current language practice, chart of levels of speech and writing geared to context, descriptive and prescriptive entries, guidelines for nonsexist usage.
A New Dictionary of Eponyms by ISBN: 9780195093544Publication Date: 1997-12-18This dictionary features the entertaining histories behind hundreds of eponyms, such as bowdlerize (from the censorious Thomas Bowdler), bikini from the atoll, and the Salisbury steak, a dish of hamburger and brown gravy named after James H. Salisbury, an English physician who promoted a diet of ground beef.
The Oxford Dictionary of American Usage and Style by ISBN: 9780195135084Publication Date: 2000-01-13In this book of crisp, precise and often witty pronouncements on modern American English, Bryan Garner decisively answers these and hundreds of other questions that bedevil those who care about the language.
Oxford Dictionary of English by ISBN: 9780199571123Publication Date: 2010-10-19The foremost single volume authority on the English language, it is at the forefront of language research, focusing on English as it is used today.
The Oxford Dictionary of English Grammar by ISBN: 0199658234Publication Date: 2014-01-06Contains over 1,600 entries with clear and concise definitions, enhanced by numerous example sentences, as well as relevant quotations fromthe scholarly literature of the field.
Oxford Paperback Thesaurus by ISBN: 9780199640959Publication Date: 2013-11-01This up-to-date, general purpose thesaurus offers over 300,000 synonyms and antonyms.Includes a centre section containing thematic lists, for example of animals, games, and tools, designed to help you broaden your vocabulary, improve your general knowledge, and solve quizzes and puzzles.
The Oxford French Business Dictionary by ISBN: 9780198604839Publication Date: 2002-11-28This is an ideal dictionary for students taking French in combination with a business qualification at college or university or for anyone doing business in the French-speaking world.
The Oxford Spanish Business Dictionary by ISBN: 9780198604815Publication Date: 2002-11-28This is an ideal dictionary for students taking Spanish in combination with a business qualification at college or university or for anyone doing business in the Spanish-speaking world. It provides an exhaustive range of business vocabulary across many core areas, giving the most extensive coverage on the market of e-commerce and Internet-related terms. Detailed treatment of all vocabulary items is provided, along with thousands of example phrases illustrating important constructions. The extensive supplementary material offers sample business correspondence, including faxes, emails, and invoices; CVs; lists of countries, nationalities, languages, and currencies; and guidance on using the telephone.
Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary by ISBN: 9780199576159Publication Date: 2010-07-29Covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary French and English.
Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary by ISBN: 9780199576166Publication Date: 2010-06-25Covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary Italian and English.
Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary by ISBN: 9780198610052Publication Date: 2005-08-04Essential vocabulary, clear translations, usage and grammar help in this Latin-English dictionary.
Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary by ISBN: 9780199560776Publication Date: 2009-08-03Covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 130,000 translations of contemporary Spanish and English. Hundreds of new words from Spanish and English have been added from computing and technology to healthand lifestyle.
An A to Z of Food and Drink by ISBN: 9780192803511Publication Date: 2002-01-01From absinthe to zabaglione, this dictionary reveals the origin, meaning, and development of a host of gastronomic terms.
A Dictionary of First Names by ISBN: 9780198610601Publication Date: 2007-03-05This dictionary covers over 6,000 names in common use in English, including the traditional and the very newest. It tells you the age, origin, and meaning of the name, as well as how it has fared in terms of popularity, and who the famous fictional or historical bearers of the name have been.
A Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and Units by ISBN: 9780198605225Publication Date: 2002-10-26Provides clear definitions of units, prefixes, and styles of weights and measures within the Systeme International (SI), as well as traditional, and industry-specific units.
Encyclopedia of Clothing and FashionISBN: 9780684313948Publication Date: 2004-09-22A survey of clothing, costume and fashion. Coverage includes the origins of clothing and body adornment, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress, as well as representative costumes from a wide range of historical eras.
Encyclopedia of Food and CultureISBN: 9780684805689Publication Date: 2002-12-17A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others.
The Oxford Companion to the Garden by ISBN: 9780198662556Publication Date: 2006-05-01Devoted to gardens of every kind and the people and ideas involved in their making. It combines a survey of the world's gardens with articles on a range of topics, such as garden visiting, horticulture, scientific issues, and the social history of gardens, as well as biographies of garden designers, nurserymen, and others.
World EncyclopediaISBN: 9780199546091Publication Date: 2004Over 13,000 entries providing information on a range of subjects, including world affairs, science and technology, the arts, modern and ancient history, religion, sports, and popular culture.
Oxford Dictionary of Modern Quotations by ISBN: 9780199208951Publication Date: 2007-10-01Offers a vivid picture both of the world today, and of the landmark events and key voices leading to it. From Scott's Antarctic Expedition in 1912 to the attack on the World Trade Centre in 2001, it charts watersheds such as two World Wars as well as the ebbs and flows of popular culture.
The Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs by ISBN: 9780198734901Publication Date: 2015-11-24This unique and authoritative dictionary contains over 1,100 of the most widely used proverbs in English, utilizing the latest research from Oxford Dictionaries to source them.
Oxford Dictionary of Quotations by ISBN: 0199668701Publication Date: 2014-12-01Complete with a keyword index and expanded information on authors and particular quotations, this definitive guide to quotations in English means that you will always know who said what, where, and when.
Routledge Dictionary of Latin Quotations by ISBN: 9780203498972Publication Date: 2004-08-01Comprehensive treasury of classic Latin quotations, mottoes, proverbs, and maxims collected from the worlds of philosophy, rhetoric, politics, science, religion, literature, drama, poetics, and war.
