eReference Books Guide — Health & Medicine

From absinthe to zabaglione, this dictionary reveals the origin, meaning, and development of a host of gastronomic terms.

Offers entries on topics such as key cases in bioethics, the human biome, genetically modified foods, emergency preparedness and response, social justice, sustainability, chemical warfare and torture, among many others.

This new edition has been revised and updated to reflect advancements in medical research and practice, while over 250 new entries have been added, including American Medical Association, burden of treatment, gaming disorder, MERS,person-centred care, and Zika virus. Recommended web links and detailed illustrations complement the text, and extensive appendices offer useful lists and tables on areas such as inherited medical conditions, units of alcohol, and abbreviations and symbols.

Contains over 6,150 entries covering all aspects of food and nutrition, diet and health. Jargon-free definitions make this a valuable dictionary that clearly explains even the most technical of nutritional terms.

The new edition of this bestselling and trusted dictionary has been fully revised to take account of recent developments in nursing practice and related fields. Updates to this edition cover many areas, with a particular focus on radiography, public health and the NHS, theoretical conceptsfamiliar in nursing education, and key vocabulary used in the 2018 Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) Standards of Proficiency for Registered Nurses.Written by medical and nursing specialists, and offering more than 10,500 clear and concise entries on nursing theory and practice, the dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. As well as nursing-specific terms, there are also manyentries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, ethics, psychiatry, nutrition, dentistry, statistics, and pharmacology. Almost 100 helpful illustrations and tables, and 16 appendices covering the calculation of drug dosages, religion and nursing practice, recommended alcohol intake, and muchmore, help to make this an essential reference tool for all nursing students and professionals.

Covers the biological, psychological, social, and economic aspects of health and aging and impacts within the health-care system. This Encyclopedia also focuses heavily on geriatrics with respect to geriatric syndromes and common diseases of aging.

Examines a broad range of topics such as environmental health, drug abuse, epidemiology, nutrition, demographics and diseases.

Provides understandable yet detailed information on mental disorders and conditions, written in language understandable to the adult layperson. Includes entries for all 150 disorders classified in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, text revision (DSM-IV-TR). It also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.

Provides in-depth coverage of neurological diseases and disorders, including stroke, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson disease, Tourette Syndrome, Alzheimer's disease, cerebral palsy, vertigo, amnesia, and epilepsy, targeted to patients, their families and allied health students.

Entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Also discusses the roles of all major health professionals.

It provides concise and readable accounts of the structure and function of all the major systems of the body and the causes of disorders that affect them.

This desk reference provides critical information on those ingredients that move from prescription to non-prescription status as well as new over-the-counter drugs that are introduced every year.

Essential for practice and education, the landmark 20th Edition features: Thoroughly revised content--covering the many new breakthroughs and advances in clinical medicine that have occurred since the last edition of Harrison's. Chapters on acute and chronic hepatitis, management of diabetes, immune-based therapies in cancer, multiple sclerosis, cardiovascular disease, HIV, and many more, deliver the very latest information on disease mechanisms, diagnostic options, and the specific treatment guidance you need to provide optimal patient care.