LibGuides: eReference Books Guide: Getting Started

eReference Books

This guide is for finding eReference books which includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks and other reference sources. Reference works are good sources for background information, quick facts, overview of subject, and fine tuning your topic. This is only a sample of the eReference books we have in our collection. Use the General Search box to find additional eReference books in your subject area.

In addition to the eReference books listed on this guide, the Library subscribes to the following eReference book collections:

Electronic Reference Books

ABC-CLIO eBooks

Access to encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and guides focusing on U.S. and world history, current issues, politics, and geography.
Cambridge Histories Online
Full text of various Cambridge Histories covering American and world history; economic history and the history of science; linguistics; music & theatre studies; philosophy; anthropology and political thought.
Gale eBooks
Access to various ebooks and reference works in multiple disciplines.
Oxford Reference

Includes subject dictionaries and reference works in various subjects including biology, computing, economics, history, law, literature, medicine, performing arts, politics, and science. Access for 6 users at a time.
Sage Knowledge
Reference e-books in the social sciences. A selective range of Sage eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Not all titles are accessible by UConn. After doing a search, click on Available to Me under Refine By: on the right-hand side of the page.
ScienceDirect Reference Works
Full-text of reference ebooks in behavioral science, biology, chemistry, cognitive science, drugs, materials science, optics, and soils.

eReference Books Guide — Getting Started

eReference Books

Electronic Reference Books