eReference Books Guide — Biography & People

Searchable database of over 870 entries of political biography. Each entry includes the background, career, and achievements of the biographee.

A searchable biographical dictionary of scientists, covering all areas of science: physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology.

This title has tables giving years of rule and family relationships (in male line unless otherwise indicated) for the reigning families of the world, from Horus Aha, first pharoah of Egypt, to Abdallah, present king of Saudi Arabia.

This two-volume reference seeks to capture the ways in which the tenets and foundations of African American culture have given rise to today's society. Approaching the field from a "street level" perspective, these two volumes cover topics of universal interest in America: rap music, sports, television, cinema, racism, religion, literature, and much more.

The Encyclopedia features articles on subjects such as mound builders, reservations, cigar-store Indians, child rearing, powwows, boarding schools, museums and collectors, dreams, the occupation of Alcatraz, and the impact of American Indian civilizations on Europe and the world and contemporary topics like gambling, sports mascots, alcoholism, urban Indians, and the status of women.

Covers Western art from the ancient Greeks to the present day.

Searchable encyclopedic database containing 325 articles describing the people and places that appear in the New Testament and Old Testament of the Bible.

This searchable database is a dictionary of ancient biography, covering Greek and Roman history and politics, literature, philosophy, science, and art.

From Albert Einstein to the Marx Brothers, this authoritative reference book provides 2000 biographies of men and women from different countries and cultures who have contributed to the thought as well as the action of the twentieth century.For anyone seeking clear and accurate information on the leading figures of this century, it is an essential work of reference.Biographies of 2,000 famous men and women of this centuryLeading figures from politics, religion, science, literature, medicine, cinema, sport, and many other fields of human activityWorldwide coverage, spanning all countries and culturesAuthoritative entries written in a clear and accessible styleUp-to-date and reliable informationIdeal for browsingAn essential work of reference