eReference Books Guide — Biology & Life Sciences

Provides definitions for terms in animal behavior, evolution, ecology, genetics, biogeography, systematics, psychology, and statistics.

This new eighth edition has been fully revised and updated to reflect recent progress in the fields of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, with particular expansion to the areas of research design and plant and animal development. Over 120 new entries include de-extinction, ecological footprint, rewilding, and Zika virus, now totalling over 5,600 authoritative and up-to-date entries. Numerous appendices include classifications of the animal and plant kingdoms, SI units, Nobel prizewinners, and a new appendix on anatomical terms. With new diagrams and updated web links, this remains the market-leading dictionary for students of biology, both at sixth form college and university level.

Over 6,000 entries on all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography. Coverage includes plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, population, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology and meteorology.

This new fourth edition has been completely revised and updated, covering all aspects in the field of plant sciences including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, biogeography, earth history, and earth sciences.Over 500 new entries, including Rosales, physical dormancy, menthol, and codeine, enhance the dictionary's coverage of botanical terms, key drugs and medicines derived from plants, and plant orders, families, and genera. It also explains many ecological terms, and expands beyond plants to describefungi and bacteria and how they affect plants.Numerous appendices include Plant Classification and SI Units, with new timelines showing important moments in plant evolution. For ease of use, vernacular plant names have been transferred to an appendix, fully cross-referenced to the A to Z entries. The dictionary's dedicated companion websitepoints to recommended web links and additional resources.The most up-to-date dictionary available on its subject, this is an essential resource for students of plant sciences and amateur botanists, as well as an entertaining and valuable guide for the plant enthusiast.

Authoritative source that encompasses the entire range of concepts and topics involved in the study of applied developmental science. Its contents and levels have broad appeal for those interested in how the application of knowledge about human development can be used to enhance the lives of individuals, families, and communities

The Encyclopedia pulls together over 500 articles that help define and explore contemporary biochemistry.

This Encyclopedia covers topics as diverse as adolescence, cognitive development, education, family, gender differences, identity, longitudinal research, personality development, prenatal development, temperament, and more.