Classics & Philosophy eReference Books
The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature by ISBN: 9780199548545Publication Date: 2011-09-30Reference guide that presents all the essential facts about the authors, tales, and characters from ancient myth and literature, but it also places these details in the wider contexts of the history and society of the Greek and Roman worlds.
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization by ISBN: 9780198706779Publication Date: 2014-11-11A to Z guide features over 700 entries on all aspects of life in Ancient Greece and Rome. Beautiful illustrations, jargon-free entries, and a useful chronology and bibliography make this Companion the perfect guide for readers interested in learning more about the Graeco-Roman world. As well as providing sound information on all aspects of classical civilization such as history, politics, ethics, morals, law, society, religion, mythology, science and technology, language, literature, art, and scholarship, the entries in the Companion reflect the changing interdisciplinary aspects of classical studies, covering broad thematic subjects, such as race, nationalism, gender, ethics, and ecology, confirming the impact classical civilizations have had on the modern world.
Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary by ISBN: 9780198610052Publication Date: 2005-08-04Offers essential coverage of Latin words and grammar, as well as information on Roman history and culture.
Routledge Dictionary of Latin Quotations by ISBN: 9780203498972Publication Date: 2004-08-01Comprehensive treasury of classic Latin quotations, mottoes, proverbs, and maxims collected from the worlds of philosophy, rhetoric, politics, science, religion, literature, drama, poetics, and war.
Who's Who in the Classical World by ISBN: 9780192801074Publication Date: 2000-11-09This searchable database is a dictionary of ancient biography, covering Greek and Roman history and politics, literature, philosophy, science, and art.
Bioethics by ISBN: 9780028662060Publication Date: 2014-05-01Entries on topics such as key cases in bioethics, the human biome, genetically modified foods, emergency preparedness and response, social justice, sustainability, chemical warfare and torture, among many others.
The Cambridge Companion to Early Greek Philosophy by ISBN: 0521446678Publication Date: 1999-06-28The Western tradition of philosophy began in Greece with a cluster of thinkers often called the Presocratics, whose influence has been incalculable. All these thinkers are discussed in this volume both as individuals and collectively in chapters on rational theology, epistemology, psychology, rhetoric and relativism, justice, and poetics.
The Cambridge Companion to Early Modern Philosophy by ISBN: 9780521529624Publication Date: 2006-10-12Comprehensive introduction to the central topics and changing shape of philosophical inquiry in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. It explores one of the most innovative periods in the history of Western philosophy, extending from Montaigne, Bacon and Descartes through Hume and Kant.
The Cambridge Companion to Feminism in Philosophy by ISBN: 9780521624695Publication Date: 2000-01-27PermalinkCitation
Volume of essays written by philosophers at the forefront of feminist scholarship, and are designed to provide an accessible and stimulating guide to a philosophical literature that has seen massive expansion in recent years.
Encyclopedia of PhilosophyISBN: 9780028657806Publication Date: 2005-12-16English-language reference source for philosophy. The Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy by ISBN: 9780199264797Publication Date: 2005-05-26Reference work that gives clear and reliable guidance to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day.
