This dictionary provides thousands of terms related to the Web, software technology, jargon, e-commerce, security, and the technical and organizational infrastructure of the Internet. There are also useful links to relevant websites.
Illuminating the reality of worldwide access to information, this expanded three-volume set is a one-stop resource for Internet history, biographies of key figures, and analysis of how the Internet operates.
This handbook provides the most up-to-date information in: Circuits and Networks, Electric Power Systems, Electronics, Computer-Aided Design and Optimization, VLSI Systems, Signal Processing, Digital Systems and Computer Engineering, Digital Communication and Communication Networks, Electromagnetics and Control and Systems.
The Handbook of Measurement in Science and Engineering is the most comprehensive, up-to-date reference set on engineering measurements--beyond anything on the market today. Encyclopedic in scope, Volume 1 spans several disciplines--Civil and Environmental Engineering, Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering, and Industrial Engineering--and covers: New Measurement Techniques in Structural Health Monitoring Traffic Congestion Management Measurements in Environmental Engineering Dimensions, Surfaces, and Their Measurement Luminescent Method for Pressure Measurement Vibration Measurement Temperature Measurement Force Measurement Heat Transfer Measurements for Non-Boiling Two-Phase Flow Solar Energy Measurements Human Movement Measurements Physiological Flow Measurements GIS and Computer Mapping Seismic Testing of Highway Bridges Hydrology Measurements Mobile Source Emissions Testing Mass Properties Measurement Resistive Strain Measurement Devices Acoustics Measurements Pressure and Velocity Measurements Heat Flux Measurement Wind Energy Measurements Flow Measurement Statistical Quality Control Industrial Energy Efficiency Industrial Waste Auditing.
Encyclopedic in scope, Volume 2 spans several disciplines--Materials Properties and Testing, Instrumentation, and Measurement Standards--and covers: Viscosity Measurement Corrosion Monitoring Thermal Conductivity of Engineering Materials Optical Methods for the Measurement of Thermal Conductivity Properties of Metals and Alloys Electrical Properties of Polymers Testing of Metallic Materials Testing and Instrumental Analysis for Plastics Processing Analytical Tools for Estimation of ParticulateComposite Material Properties Input and Output Characteristics Measurement Standards and Accuracy Tribology Measurements Surface Properties Measurement Plastics Testing Mechanical Properties of Polymers Nondestructive Inspection Ceramics Testing Instrument Statics Signal Processing Bridge Transducers Units and Standards Measurement Uncertainty Data Acquisition and Display Systems.
Encyclopedic in scope, Volume 3 covers measurements in physics, electrical engineering and chemistry: Laser Measurement Techniques Magnetic Force Images using Capacitive Coupling Effect Scanning Tunneling Microscopy Measurement of Light and Color The Detection and Measurement of Ionizing Radiation Measuring Time and Comparing Clocks Laboratory-Based Gravity Measurement Cryogenic Measurements Temperature-Dependent Fluorescence Measurements Voltage and Current Transducers for Power Systems Electric Power and Energy Measurement Chemometrics for the Engineering and Measurement Sciences Liquid Chromatography Mass Spectroscopy Measurements of Nitrotyrosine-Containing Proteins Fluorescence Spectroscopy X-Ray Absorption Spectroscopy Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) Spectroscopy Near Infrared (NIR) Spectroscopy Nanomaterials Properties Chemical Sensing Vital for engineers, scientists, and technical managers in industry and government, Handbook of Measurement in Science and Engineering will also prove ideal for academics and researchers at universities and laboratories.
This book is a straight-talking and forward-thinking reference covering the design, specification, selection, use and integration of machine elements fundamental to a wide range of engineering applications.
4th Edition offers engineers a thorough, detailed, ready reference on topics that may fall outside their scope of expertise. The four volume set provides a quick guide to specialized areas in the engineering field. The accessible information offers discussions, examples and analyses of each of the topics covered. The handbook gives access to the basics of each and points you toward trusted resources for further reading.
Containing over 3,100 entries on all aspects of both human and physical geography, this best-selling dictionary is the most authoritative single-volume reference work of its kind. It includes coverage of cartography, surveying, meteorology, climatology, ecology, population, industry, anddevelopment. Worked examples and diagrams are provided for many entries, including 15 new illustrations.All existing entries have been fully revised and updated for this new edition, and there is now expanded coverage of Geographical Information Systems (GIS), and glacial geomorphology, as well as the inclusion of more international examples within definitions, broadening its coverage considerably.The dictionary includes more than 400 new entries, including economies of scope, marginalization, rurality, and tax havens and offshore financial centres. Recommended web links are suggested for many entries, accessible and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Geography companion website.Packed with clear, concise, and authoritative information, this A-Z reference is an essential companion for all students and teachers of geography.
This new edition includes 10,000 entries which cover all areas of geoscience, including planetary science, oceanography, palaeontology, mineralogy and volcanology. In this edition, 675 new entries have been added, and include expanded coverage of planetary geology andearth-observing-satellites. Other new entries terms such as Ianammox, Boomerangian, earth rheological layering, and metamorphic rock classification.The entries are also complemented by more than 130 diagrams and numerous web links that are listed on a regularly updated dedicated companion website. Appendices supplement the A-Z and have been extended to include three new tables on the Torino Impact Hazard Scale, Avalanche Classes, and theVolcanic Explosivity Index. The list of satellite missions has also been revised and updated to include recent developments.A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences is an authoritative, and jargon-free resource for students of geology, geography, geosciences, physical science, and those in related disciplines.
This new fourth edition has been completely revised and updated, covering all aspects in the field of plant sciences including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, biogeography, earth history, and earth sciences.Over 500 new entries, including Rosales, physical dormancy, menthol, and codeine, enhance the dictionary's coverage of botanical terms, key drugs and medicines derived from plants, and plant orders, families, and genera. It also explains many ecological terms, and expands beyond plants to describefungi and bacteria and how they affect plants.Numerous appendices include Plant Classification and SI Units, with new timelines showing important moments in plant evolution. For ease of use, vernacular plant names have been transferred to an appendix, fully cross-referenced to the A to Z entries. The dictionary's dedicated companion websitepoints to recommended web links and additional resources.The most up-to-date dictionary available on its subject, this is an essential resource for students of plant sciences and amateur botanists, as well as an entertaining and valuable guide for the plant enthusiast.
A new, authoritative and comprehensive dictionary of weather, forecasting, and climate terms with illustrative examples of specific events and extremes. Weather records and climate data from around the world are given and key terms from the related fields of oceanography, hydrology, and climatology are also covered.
Includes more than 750 articles that explore major topics related to global warming and climate change—ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes.
Comprehensive, interdisciplinary guide to the range of issues surrounding natural and human-induced changes in the Earth's environment. Brings together current knowledge about the relations between technological, social, demographic, economic, and political factors as well as biological, chemical, and physical systems.
Provides coverage of the Earth Sciences, from volcanoes to flood plains, diamonds to meteors, deserts to deep seas. All aspects of geology, including climatology, mineralogy, and oceanography, are covered. In addition, there are many eclectic entries, for example on dinosaur hunters, and fossils and folklore, as well as biographies of the key figures involved.
This invaluable resource will guide general readers and students alike through the often bewildering maze of equations and theorems encountered within the mathematical universe. Covering everything in the field, from pure and applied mathematics to statistics, it also covers areas of more general interest, such as fractals, game theory, and chaos.
Offers wide-ranging and authoritative coverage of the earth sciences and related topics, including geology, oceanography, paleontology, minerology, volcanology, and planetary science as well as climatology, geochemistry, and petrology.
The new eighth edition has been fully updated to reflect progress in physics and related fields. It sees expansion to the areas of cosmology, astrophysics, condensed matter, quantum technology, and nanotechnology, with 125 new entries including Deep UndergroundNeutrino Experiment, kilonova, leptoquark, and muscovium.
The seventh edition of this popular dictionary is the ideal reference resource for students of chemistry, either at school or at university. With over 5000 entries--over 175 new to this edition--it covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry tobiochemistry.The seventh edition boasts broader coverage in areas such as nuclear magnetic resonance, polymer chemistry, nanotechnology and graphene, and absolute configuration, increasing the dictionary's appeal to students in these fields.
This comprehensive and authoritative dictionary provides clear definitions of units, prefixes, and styles of weights and measures within the Systeme International (SI), as well as traditional, and industry-specific units.
presents an unparalleled history of the field invaluable to anyone with an interest in the technology, ideas, discoveries, and learned institutions that have shaped our world over the past five centuries. Focusing on the period from the Renaissance to the early twenty-first century, the articles cover all disciplines, historical periods, concepts, and methodologies and philosophies.