Class Assignments: Avery Point - _First Year Writing - Regional Campuses

Assignments

Websites:

Ad Fontes Interactive Media Bias Chart®
An interactive graph showing bias and reliability ratings for news content from thousands of sources.
Harvard Implicit Association Test
Test your own hidden biases.
AllSides Media Bias
Another source of ratings for bias in specific media companies
Media Bias Fact Checker
This source of ratings for bias in specific media companies includes international media
Interrogating & Evaluating Resources
Guide from UConn librarians
How To Identify Fake News
Guide from UConn librarians
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie: "The danger of a single story" TED Talk
MLA Citations - 9th Edition - Guide

Searching databases:

use terms and synonyms that were useful when searching for books and their subjects, and narrow down your terms to make them more specific
click on Download PDF or Full Text Available to read the full article
request items as needed from Interlibrary Services
when exporting citation, opt for the MLA 9th edition style and always scrutinize for potential errors

Suggested databases:

Statista database
Provides statistics on media, the environment, business and industry, sports, communication, politics, health care and more. Geographic coverage is worldwide, with particular emphasis on the United States, China, and European Union countries.

Help from a Librarian

Maria Bernier, Avery Point Campus
maria.bernier@uconn.edu
860-405-9148
Book an appointment

Searching databases:

use terms and synonyms that were useful when searching for books and their subjects, and narrow down your terms to make them more specific
click on Download PDF or Full Text Available to read the full article
request items as needed from Interlibrary Services
when exporting citation, opt for the MLA 9th edition style and always scrutinize for potential errors

Suggested databases:

Issues & Controversies database
Summarizes current issues and controversies in political, economic, social and scientific topics.
CQ Researcher database
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Statista database
Provides statistics on media, the environment, business and industry, sports, communication, politics, health care and more. Geographic coverage is worldwide, with particular emphasis on the United States, China, and European Union countries.

Help from a Librarian

Maria Bernier, Avery Point Campus
maria.bernier@uconn.edu
860-405-9148
Book an appointment

Searching databases:

use terms and synonyms that were useful when searching for books and their subjects, and narrow down your terms to make them more specific
click on Download PDF or Full Text Available to read the full article
request items as needed from Interlibrary Services
when exporting citation, opt for the MLA 9th edition style and always scrutinize for potential errors

Additional websites:

Find by Citation
Locate the full-text article by entering information (article title, journal title, volume, issue #) into the fields.
MLA Citations - 9th Edition - Guide

Help from a Librarian

Maria Bernier, Avery Point Campus
maria.bernier@uconn.edu
860-405-9148
Book an appointment

Searching databases:

use terms and synonyms that were useful when searching for books and their subjects, and narrow down your terms to make them more specific
click on Online Access, Download PDF, or Full Text Available to read the full article
request items as needed from Interlibrary Services
when exporting citation, opt for the MLA 9th edition style and always scrutinize for potential errors

Try making a list of synonyms or alternate forms of career titles

Think of different ways to describe getting career information

Suggested databases:

Academic Search Premier
Includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
First Research via ABI/INFORM
Search for industry and geographic profiles.

Additional websites:

Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)
From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
Webpages on Occupations from the U.S. Department of Labor
Supplements the Occupational Outlook Handbook with information on employment and wages by occupation, including career information, employment levels and projections, and various types of earnings data.
O*NET Online
Tool for career exploration and job analysis. O*NET database contains hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors on almost 1,000 occupations covering the entire U.S. economy.
Employment and Earnings by Occupation
From the U.S. Department of Labor, this interactive visualization shows the number of women and men full-time workers and their annual earnings in over 300 occupations.

Help from a Librarian

Maria Bernier, Avery Point Campus
maria.bernier@uconn.edu
860-405-9148
Book an appointment

Searching databases:

use terms and synonyms that were useful when searching for books and their subjects, and narrow down your terms to make them more specific
click on Download PDF or Full Text Available to read the full article
request items as needed from Interlibrary Services
when exporting citation, opt for the MLA 9th edition style and always scrutinize for potential errors

Websites:

UConn Library Advanced Search
UConn Library databases: Choose Resource Type =
- Primary Sources for Humanities and Social Sciences, such as Archives Unbound or Gale Primary Sources
- Temporary Primary Source Databases
- Newspapers and TV News
Wikimedia Commons (video, audio, 2-dimensional visual material)
Podcasts: Google Podcast, NPR, Spotify