_First Year Writing - Regional Campuses — Class Assignments: Stamford

Search Google.com for web sites and articles.

• protests "gay rights"
• "social media" elections "united states"

To find books & articles, use keywords in the Library's General Search, i.e.:

• internet safety
• online privacy "social media"
• Connecticut

1. To find books & articles, use keywords in the Library's General Search, i.e.:

• internet safety
• online privacy "social media"
• Connecticut

To narrow results:

• limit to Books or Peer-reviewed journals (for articles)
• limit by subjects that are relevant to you
• understand citations: is it a book or article?
• identify the location of the book: is it in Stamford, online, or at another library?

Access full text:

• Click on Full Text Available, Download PDF, or Available online for articles, and then click on a database or collection
• Click on Available at... for books in print
• Request books from other UConn libraries after signing in with your NetID

Save search results:

• Add items to your Favorites after signing in with your NetID
• Open Favorites to manage citations

2. Search Google.com for web sites and articles.

• protests "gay rights"
• "social media" elections "united states"

1. To find books & articles, use keywords in the Library's General Search, i.e.:

• misinformation threat society
• fake news "social media"

To narrow results:

• limit to Books or Peer-reviewed journals (for articles)
• limit by subjects that are relevant to you
• understand citations: is it a book or article?
• identify the location of the book: is it in Stamford, online, or at another library?

Access full text:

• Click on Full Text Available, Download PDF, or Available online for articles, and then click on a database or collection
• Click on Available at... for books in print
• Request books from other UConn libraries after signing in with your NetID

Save search results:

• Add items to your Favorites after signing in with your NetID
• Open Favorites to manage citations

2. Search Google.com for web sites and articles.

• Is fake news a threat to democracy
• misinformation danger society

Library catalog http://search.lib.uconn.edu.

Use the library search box to find books and ebooks, articles, videos, journals and more. Log in to:

• Request items from the UConn collections
• Renew what you've checked out
• Create lists of library materials

Using a Literature Database to Find Articles and Books

Using the Library catalog (lib.uconn.edu) to find short story collections 

• Search the name of your author and the word stories 

• Refine on the left by Books. 

• Look for collections or selections of stories by your author 

• Click on the title to see the Table of Contents to find story titles 

• Find print books in the Stamford Stacks or make a ILLiad request for specific stories (as book chapters) 

Gale Literature database includes poems, stories, novels, articles on literature, biographies of authors, literary criticism, and literary movements. 

• Find this database from the library home page by clicking on Databases 

• Search in Name of Work box for your short story title 

• Click on Topic and Work Overviews 

YouTube search YouTube to find interviews, readings, and documentaries on your short story authors 

• Enter the name of the author and the word “interview” or “reading” 

• Cite like the example:

Example: “Conversation: Louise Erdrich, Author of 'The Round House'.” YouTube, uploaded by PBS Newshour, 19 Oct. 2012, https://youtu.be/sDL5QqH5I1s. 

Search Google.com for web sites and articles.

• protests "gay rights"
• "social media" elections "united states"

To find books & articles, use keywords in the Library's General Search, i.e.:

• internet safety
• online privacy "social media"
• Connecticut

To narrow results:

• limit to Books or Peer-reviewed journals (for articles)
• limit by subjects that are relevant to you
• understand citations: is it a book or article?
• identify the location of the book: is it in Stamford, online, or at another library?

Access full text:

• Click on Full Text Available, Download PDF, or Available online for articles, and then click on a database or collection
• Click on Available at... for books in print
• Request books from other UConn libraries after signing in with your NetID

Save search results:

• Add items to your Favorites after signing in with your NetID
• Open Favorites to manage citations

Library catalog http://search.lib.uconn.edu.

Use the library search box to find books and ebooks, articles, videos, journals and more. Log in to:

• Request items from the UConn collections
• Renew what you've checked out
• Create lists of library materials

Using a Literature Database to Find Articles and Books

Access full text:

• Click on UConn Full Text to open up a window. Click on the title in blue of full text source.
• If "No full text available," click on Request a PDF.
• Sign in with your NetID.

Save search results:

• Add items to your folder
• Access folder (at top of page), select all and click on Export  
• Send to RefWorks or other citation manager

Search Google.com for web sites and articles.

• protests "gay rights"
• "social media" elections "united states"

To find books & articles, use keywords in the Library's General Search, i.e.:

• internet safety
• online privacy "social media"
• Connecticut