_First Year Writing - Regional Campuses — Class Assignments: Hartford

Library Activity
 

Related Subject Terms

• Code Switching
• Gender identity and sound
• Cultural identity and voice
• Race and sound
• Sound and racial identity
• Voice -- Social aspects
• Whiteness and sound
• Workplace code switching 

FINDING BOOKS
https://lib.uconn.edu/

The UConn Library's General Search box enables you to access our books, electronic materials such as ejournals and ebooks, and Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA) materials with one search. Filters and facets narrow your results to suit your needs. 

General Search Advanced Search
Use the Advanced Search to limit your search to just books or just articles. You can also use the Advanced Search to search by author, title, or subject.

Suggested Print Books / E-Books / Video
(enter NetID and password for off-campus access)

Learn how to request a book for pickup 

FINDING JOURAL ARTICLES

Suggested Journals and Databases 
(enter NetID and password for off-campus access)

        Journals

• Ethnic and Racial Studies
• Journal of American Culture
• Journal of Gender Studies 
• Journal of Popular Film & Television
• Social Psychology
• Sound Studies
   

        Databases

• Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
  Includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
• Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
  Articles in communication, mass media, linguistics, and film studies.
• Google Scholar
  Scholarly articles, books, theses on a variety of topics through Google interface.
• JSTOR
  Scholarly journals in many academic fields, especially arts, literature, humanities, and biology.
• Issues & Controversies 
  Summarizes current issues and controversies in political, economic, social and scientific topics.
• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
  Indexes scholarly articles in linguistics including speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning in language forms, spelling, phonetics.
• LGBT Life with Full Text (EBSCO)
  Covers gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues including civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, psychology, and religion.
• MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
  Scholarly articles, ebooks, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies in literature and linguistics.
• Newspapers through ProQuest
  Cross search of 5 databases: the Hartford Courant (1992-present); Los Angeles Times (1985-present); New York Times (1997-present); Wall Street Journal (1982-present); and the Washington Post (1987-present)
• PsycInfo/APA PsycInfo (EBSCO)
  Scholarly articles in psychology, plus medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, criminology, social science, business, & organizational behavior.
• Project Muse
  Full text access to journals and ebooks in classics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, religion, and visual and performing arts.
• SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
  Scholarly journal articles about sociology and other social and behavioral sciences. Includes culture & social structure; economic development; evaluation research; family & social welfare; management and complex organizations; policy planning.
• Women's Studies International (EBSCO)
  Includes abstracts for articles, newsletters, books, proceedings, and dissertations covering current topics in feminist research.