_First Year Writing - Regional Campuses — Digital Resources for Students

Record all screen and audio activity on your computer.

Allows you to capture and share images and video.

Screencasting and video editing software tool that can be launched directly from a browser.

This free online and mobile app makes it easy to create and share graphics and videos.

Create digital stories. *Downloadable app.

Use their free library of styles, characters, backgrounds and more to create your own videos.

Create two storyboards per week for free.

Great video editing tool for beginners. Available via the library's Adobe Creative Cloud subscription/ installed on the Library's s iMac Desktops and loanable MacBooks.

A free video editor available for Mac OS X and Microsoft Windows operating systems.

Create your videos from templates and Shutterstock clips.

Video editing software for Mac OS X and iOS operating systems.
Available using the library's iMac Desktops and loanable MacBooks.

Considered one the best free video editors available.

Add audio description to YouTube Videos.

A free and easy-to-use multilingual audio editor and recorder.

Songs under CC licenses, which give you the legal right to use music in videos.

Offers free downloads under Creative Commons and other licenses.

This Android app records voice/audio
Free version available.

Browse and download free sound effects for your project.

A collaborative database of Creative Commons Licensed sounds.

Recordings include alternative news programming, concerts, and more.

Thousands of pages of free resources for multimedia producers.

Use this database to search the Associated Press Images Collection. Enter your UConn NetID and Password for access off campus.

Image resource in a wide array of subjects. Freely available public collection.

Search for free content in the public domain and under Creative Commons licenses.

DPLA provides free public access to digital images, videos, and audio files.

Millions of photographs shared by Flickr users under Creative Commons licenses.

Once you do your search, click on the box labeled "Tools." to view "Usage rights."

Includes classic full-length films, news broadcasts, cartoons and more. Many are available for free download.

Images from the Library of Congress, now in the public domain.

Includes prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

Thousands free stock photos high resolution photos uploaded by users or sourced from free image websites.

Thousands of historic media files provided completely free and made available by Pond5.

This community-sharing site offers free and downloadable high-resolution images.

Extensive collection of photos and images from the U.S. Government, many of which are in the public domain and free to use.

This video-sharing website has a smaller user base than YouTube, but they win in video quality

It is the largest video-sharing site where you can upload, edit, and share your own videos.

Thousands of freely licensed digital books, artworks, photos and images of historical library materials and museum objects.

Historical and contemporary images contributed by participants.

Android & iOS, infographics and other digital design.

iOS only, free video editing.

Android & iOS, create videos using saved snapchats, pictures, social media posts, videos, etc. from your cell phone.

iOS only, audio editing.

iOS only, video editing.

Android & iOS, video/moving presentation editor, template-based with fewer design choices than filmoraGo / Filmora 9

iOS only, paid app, organized digital notetaking.

iOS only, video editor and movie maker.