Welcome!
Welcome to the Business Subject Guide! The purpose of this guide is to offer you easy access to our business resources and related topics. With this guide, you should be able to:
- Identify and understand the right Business database for your needs.
- Find books, articles, specialized information, data, and statistics easily.
- Learn what citation styles are most useful for business research and writing.
If you have any questions, feel free to contact me anytime.
Photographer: Nathan Oldham/UConn School of Business (2015).
Best Bets
Listed below are your best bets when it comes to your business research:
- ABI/INFORM Collection Includes articles, dissertations, news content and reports covering the various areas of business, advertising, insurance, public administration, real estate, and telecommunications
This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Complete Comprehensive coverage of business journals.
- S&P Capital IQ Contains deep information on companies, markets, and people worldwide, for both public and private capital markets. Screen using a combination of financial, qualitative, and event-driven criteria. Export to Excel, or pull your results using the Excel Plug-in.
- Factiva Access to global news and business information articles.
- NetAdvantage Financial information for thousands of US and global companies and includes access to Industry Surveys, Bond Reports, Stock Reports, Directory of Corporations, Register of Executives.
- Statista Provides statistics on media, the environment, business and industry, sports, communication, politics, health care and more. Geographic coverage is worldwide, with particular emphasis on the United States, China, and European Union countries.
- WRDS : Wharton Research Data Services Platform for accessing business data provided by the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania.
Proxy Statement Newsletter
Proxy Statement is a monthly email newsletter providing business researchers timely updates on UConn library resources. It is curated by the Business & Entrepreneurship Librarian. He picks out news & data sources that can allow business researchers to make informed decisions about their teaching & research – just like the SEC document it is named after.
Business Librarian
Edward Junhao Lim
he/him/his
Updates on our Resources
- Mintel ReportsAll Mintel reports published after Sep 12, 2023, will be in their new report format. All previously published reports will gradually transition to this new format.
- IBISWorldNew report structure introduced on Aug 28, 2023. See their FAQ.
- S&P Capital IQContains deep information on companies, markets, and people worldwide, for both public and private capital markets. Screen using a combination of financial, qualitative, and event-driven criteria. Export to Excel, or pull your results using the Excel Plug-in.
- PreqinPrivate equity coverage includes details on investors, funds, fund performance, fund terms, portfolio companies, deals & exits, service providers, etc. Other modules (private debt, real estate, hedge funds, infrastructure, natural resources, & ESG) are not part of our subscription.
- SAGE Business CasesValuable for instructors looking for business cases to use in class. Includes teaching notes - you'd need to create a SAGE profile. Ask us for the SAGE Business Cases Instructor Access verification code.
- SDC PlatinumOur subscription covers all six modules on global new issues, M&A, corporate governance, corporate restructurings, global public finance, securities trading, & VentureXpert. Available only to UConn School of Business faculty & students.
- LSEG Workspace for StudentsRefinitiv’s Thomson ONE Banker database is being retired and replaced with Workspace for Students. Workspace for Students offers the same global market data, historical and current company financials and filings, earnings estimates, equity, loan deals and more as Thomson ONE Banker.
- S&P constituents being removed from WRDS CompustatS&P Dow Jones Indices (SPDJI) constituent names data have been removed from Compustat as of July 18, 2020.
To view new databases across all disciplines, consult the Databases A-Z list.
