Business Subject Guide — Data from US Census Bureau

provide broad-based statistics on business spending for new and used structures and equipment

produces national estimates of total annual sales, e-commerce sales, sales taxes, end-of-year inventories, purchases, total operating expenses, gross margins, and end-of-year accounts receivable for retail businesses located in the US.

ASM provides sample estimates of statistics for all manufacturing establishments with one or more paid employee.

provides revenues, expenditures, financial assets, and membership information for the defined benefit public pension systems.

provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States. By U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

measures the e-commerce component of the retail economy

serves as the most extensive collection of data related to business activity. Collected every five years.

measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing. By U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

provides info on selected economic and demographic characteristics for businesses and business owners by gender, ethnicity, race, and veteran status.

relies only on administrative data from the IRS to determine the number of business applications submitted in a quarter, and how many result in businesses with employees. Also includes projections for business formations in the near future.

The LBD is a census of business establishments and firms in the U.S. with paid employees comprised of survey and administrative records. It covers all industries and all U.S. States.

measures the changes in business conditions on our nation’s small businesses during the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic

Synthetic microdata on all U.S. establishments. (i.e. replicates the structure and statistical properties of the original confidential dataset, without using original content.)

Current and cumulative U.S. export and import data.

information about the labor market for the U.S. as a whole for 10 years in the future. By U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

J2J is a set of statistics on job mobility in the United States. It includes statistics on: (1) the job-to-job transition rate, (2) hires and separations to and from employment, (3) earnings changes due to job change, and (4) characteristics of origin and destination jobs for job-to-job transitions. These statistics are available at the national, state, and metropolitan area levels and by worker and firm characteristics.

on job openings, hires, and separations. By U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

monthly and annual employment, unemployment, and labor force data for Census regions and divisions, States, counties, metropolitan areas, and many cities, by place of residence. By U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

employment and wage estimates annually for nearly 800 occupations. These estimates are available for the nation as a whole, for individual states, and for metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas; national occupational estimates for specific industries are also available. By U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information, for 325 occupational profiles, covering about 4 out of 5 jobs in the economy. By U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

PSEO data provide earnings and employment outcomes for college and university graduates by degree level, degree major, and post-secondary institution. These statistics are generated by matching university transcript data with a national database of jobs.

QWI are a set of economic indicators including employment, job creation, earnings, and other measures of employment flows.

The ACS tells us about jobs and occupations, educational attainment, veterans, whether people own or rent their homes, and other topics.

monthly survey of households on the labor force, employment, unemployment, persons not in the labor force, hours of work, earnings, and other demographic and labor force characteristics.
e.g. What are typical summer jobs for students?

data on the social and economic effects of COVID-19 on American households.

harmonizes microdata from the monthly U.S. labor force survey, the Current Population Survey (CPS), covering the period 1962 to the present. Data include demographic information, rich employment data, program participation and supplemental data on topics such as fertility, tobacco use, volunteer activities, voter registration, computer and internet use, food security, and more.

collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.

While the main objective of SIPP is to provide accurate and comprehensive information about the income and program participation of individuals and households in the United States, SIPP also collects extensive data on many additional factors of economic well-being.

The AHS is the most comprehensive national housing survey in the US. Provides current information on the size, composition, and quality of the nation’s housing and measuring changes in our housing stock as it ages.

current info on the rental and homeowner vacancy rates, and characteristics of units available for occupancy.

The RHFS is a survey designed to collect data on the financial, managerial, and physical characteristics of rental properties nationwide.

produces indexes measuring change over time in labor costs through the Employment Cost Index (ECI) and the level of average costs per hour worked through the Employer Costs for Employee Compensation (ECEC). Provides estimates on the incidence of benefits, including holidays and vacations, sick leave, health and life insurance, and retirement plans. Details of employer-provided health and retirement plan provisions are also available. By U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Labor productivity is a measure of economic performance that compares the amount of goods and services produced (output) with the number of hours worked to produce those goods and services. By U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

The VEO are a new experimental statistics on labor market outcomes for recent Army veterans. These statistics are tabulated by occupation, employer industry (if employed), and various veteran characteristics.

estimates on nonfatal occupational injuries and illnesses. By U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

what Americans think and feel about issues such as national spendi​ng priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions.

nationally representative, descriptive data on the educational activities of children and adults in the United States.

on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, infertility, use of contraception, and men’s and women’s health.

on tobacco, alcohol, and drug use, mental health and other health-related issues in the United States.

a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies.

gauges the views and attitudes of working-age and retired Americans regarding retirement, their preparations for retirement, their confidence with regard to various aspects of retirement, and related issues.

on families’ balance sheets, pensions, income, and demographic characteristics. Information is also included from related surveys of pension providers and the earlier such surveys conducted by the Federal Reserve Board.