Subscribed Databases
- Business Source Complete– limit Publication Type to Case Study
- Issues in Accounting Education ('case' appears in abstract)via Business Source Complete.
Published under Instructional Resources section. - Issues in Accounting Education Teaching NotesNo access to teaching notes unless you are a non-student-member subscriber to the journal or American Accounting Association; request for ILL.
- SAGE Business CasesIncludes teaching notes. Ask us for the SAGE Business Cases Instructor Access verification code when creating your SAGE profile to access teaching notes.
Openly Licensed/Available Cases
- Arthur Andersen Case Studies in Business EthicsArthur Andersen funded a $5 million joint project with 525 universities to raise awareness of ethical issues in business during 1987–1994. This collection of 90 case studies is one product of that effort. (UConn is one of the named universities that has permission to use its Business Ethics Program materials.)
- Journal of Information Technology Teaching Cases (JITTC)topics in the organisation and management of information systems and on the social consequences of information technology.
- FT Business School case (aka Instant Caselets)part of Financial Times' Business School section.
- MaRS Case StudiesMaRS is a Canadian launchpad for startups, and a platform for researchers and innovators. They focus on the four sectors: cleantech, health, fintech and enterprise software.
- oikos Case Writing CompetitionThe oikos Free Cases provide peer-reviewed cases on sustainability in management, entrepreneurship and finance to lecturers around the world for free under the Creative Commons license. The free cases are denoted with an asterisk when listed in the oikos Case Collection.
- Open Case Studies (OCS) projectCase studies geared towards teaching data science and the use of data in real-world challenges. Team led by faculty from Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.
- Society of Human Resources Management (SHRM)The following case studies are available for HR faculty and instructors to use in HR classrooms at universities. (Students have a separate page where the student workbooks can be downloaded.)
- Ted Rogers Leadership Centre at Toronto Metropolitan UniversityCases come in both long and short forms.
- World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD)Each case is brief (1-2 pages long). 60+ cases focused on sustainable development.
Resources for teaching with cases & writing cases
Business Cases for Info Pros : Here's Why, Here's How by
An inherent challenge for information professionals involves often difficult-to-quantify contributions of their initiatives to an organization's bottom line and the elusive ROI calculation. In this practical guide, Ulla de Stricker explains why, when, and how a formal business case can be used as an effective tool for gaining support for information-based projects.
De Stricker discusses the psychology of decision making and demonstrates a logically sequenced progression for structuring a business case—from identifying the "problem, need, or opportunity" to proposing viable solutions and ensuring the presentation is delivered with impact. Her how-to advice is supported by case studies illustrating various approaches to creating successful business case documents.
ISBN: 9786613238825Publication Date: 2008-06-01
The Case for Cases: Teaching with Cases by
This book is intended to support faculty in designing and conducting case teaching. The book is a practical "how to" guide for faculty setting up and delivering a case based class. It can be used by instructors of all levels as it discusses issues such as class culture, teaching pace, grading, board usage etc.
ISBN: 9789813273351Publication Date: 2018-10
The Case Study Companion by
The Case Study method of teaching and learning, adopted by business schools and management centres globally, provides an important function in management education, but employing it effectively can often be a challenge. This book provides practical insights, tools and approaches for both case teaching and writing, drawing on perspectives from expert practitioners around the world. This book aims to critically examine different approaches to using case studies in group-based, participant-centred learning environments, exploring good practices for case teaching and learning. It provides guidance for case writers on various approaches to structuring case data, presentational formats, and the use of technology in the construction of different types of cases. It also demonstrates the use of the case method as a tool for assessment, supporting students' own development of cases to showcase good practice in organisations. The final section of this book showcases some of the resources available, providing links and reviews of additional material that can support future case teaching and writing practice, including publication. The Case Study Companion is designed for lecturers using cases within their teaching across all management disciplines, as well as those training for Professional Development and Management Education qualifications. It will also be useful for postgraduate, MBA and Executive Education students wanting to make the most of case studies in their learning and assessments.
ISBN: 9780367854492Publication Date: 2021-05-25
The Case Writing Workbook by
This book offers a modular set of chapters that focus specifically on the challenges related to case writing. Exercises, worksheets, and training activities help guide readers sequentially through the entire process of writing both a case and an instructor's manual (teaching note). Designed as an individualized workshop to assist case authors to structure their writing, this book combines the easy-to-understand, student-focused language of the first edition with new material covering the latest developments and challenges in the world of case writing. These include: ● A section on writing cases in condensed time frames ● A new module on writing short cases in various formats ● A new module on turning research papers into teaching tools ● A section about growing communities of practice in a university ● An expansion of the student case writing module to include a section on case writing for graduate students ● Twelve new worksheets ● A complete index to facilitate use of the book Finishing all the book's assignments will result in a complete case and instructor's manual that can be tested in the classroom and submitted to a conference or journal. The Case Writing Workbook is a must for the shelf of any academic or student conducting qualitative research and looking to enhance their skill set.
ISBN: 9781315455891Publication Date: 2017-04-27
Learning and Researching With Case Studies: A Student Companion for Business and Management Research by
This companion takes the student through the different approaches to working with cases in the classroom, virtually and for research purposes. Capturing insights and best practices shared by scholars of the case method from around the world, this book aims to: - equip students to work with and analyse case studies as part of their programme of study; - adapt student approaches to online learning with cases; - guide students on how to use case studies as a form of assessment; - help students looking to adopt a case study approach to a research project. These aims are framed in the sections of the book. Each section contains reflections from academics across the world, personal insights and lessons learnt from case sessions, templates, and exercises to develop your own skills in learning or researching with cases. Full examples showcase the nature of cases by type and format: short incident, exercise case, situation case; single, sequential and digital cases. This text is for undergraduate and postgraduate Business and Management students, those studying as part of executive education programmes, MBA students, and academics who are using or preparing to use case studies in their learning or research. Online resources include PowerPoint slides, video material and example case studies from around the world.
ISBN: 9781032386324Publication Date: 2024
Tips and Tools A Guide to Effective Case Writing by
This book is an essential guide for anyone intending to write effective case studies for educational purposes. The practical tips provided in this book would apply to case writers at all levels — benefiting not only the novice, but also more experienced case writers who are looking to improve the quality of their case writing.
The book covers all of the fundamental components of a case study, and provides tips on how to manage the common challenges encountered at each stage of writing. It also guides the reader on what makes a good case study, and best practices to ensure quality control. The book would not be complete without some tried and tested advice for writing a strong teaching note to accompany the case. Beyond the writing itself, it also provides an overview of possible avenues for case publication.
ISBN: 9813278447Publication Date: 2018-12
- Emerald Cases Huba free resource, designed to support the writing and teaching of case studies. Four playlists: (1) Writing a case study, (2) Teaching a case study, (3) Learning with case studies, (4) Useful resources.
How do I access Harvard cases?
We do not have access to cases at the HBR Store.
For instructors, register as a Premium Educator. You will need to verify your affiliation by providing a link to your faculty profile. You will have access to cases.
In order to use these cases in your class, you will need to purchase copyright permission based on the number of students in your class. Your school or departmental administrator can assist you with this.
Looking for more cases? Consult other case platforms listed on this Business Guide, or contact the business librarian with your teaching needs.
For students, your business librarian does not suggest you consult cases for your research. Cases are a snapshot of a company or industry at a specific time period and are meant for teaching concepts. You do not have access to instructor notes of cases.
Are you confusing an HBR magazine article with an Harvard case?
Cases that Require Purchase
- The Case CentreCase Centre is a not-for-profit organisation and registered charity that works with over 500 member organisations. They hold the cases published by business schools such as CEIBS, Darden School of Business, Harvard Business Publishing, IMD, INSEAD, Ivey Publishing, Kennedy School of Government and London Business School.
- The Case for Women (CFW)These cases show women in leadership roles, performing effectively in those roles and working in partnership with other women. These are winning cases from their case writing competition. Includes teaching notes.
- The CASE Journal>300 peer-reviewed cases endorsed by The CASE Association. Besides cases, compact cases (500-1,000 words), new forms of cases, it has articles and conceptual papers relating to case teaching, case writing, case reviewing, and similar topics. All cases are accompanied by an Instructor’s Manual.
- Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies (EMCS)A collection of >1,100 case studies and teaching notes with a unique focus on rising economies. EMCS specialises in case research from and about emerging markets and developing economies, regions that are traditionally underrepresented in teaching case collections.
- University of Virginia Darden Case CollectionOne of the largest case publisher in the U.S. To purchase their cases for classroom use, visit Darden Business Publishing Online.
- Yale SOM Case StudiesAccording to a 2018 FT article, Yale's cases are open-ended, and includes articles and videos to "mimic the vast quantity of information in the modern world."
Business Simulations & Games
- Association for Business Simulation and Experiential Learning (ABSEL) gamesA listing of games (including simulations).
- CapsimCapsim business simulations place students in the role of executive management at a multi-million dollar company, competing directly against other real or simulated teams to grab market share and grow their business.
- GEO by HFX TrainingGEO is a total-economy simulation suitable for a wide range of business courses, because it is built on roles rather than models. Ideal for students of international entrepreneurship, economics & corporate strategy. Players assume roles on both sides of business relationships, such as buyer vs. seller, employer vs. employee, company vs. shareholders, and government vs. citizens. GEO scores every individual player.
- Hubro EducationOffers a handful of business simulation games in marketing, finance, & running a production company. Delivery available both as an online activity & in a classroom setting, played either in groups or as a self-paced practice.
- Interpretive SimulationsThree areas: management, marketing, & strategy simulations.
- Marketplace SimulationsHas 30+ business simulations covering various themes: intro to business, capstone, marketing, management, strategy, new venture, supply chain, & entrepreneurship.
- Sim4ProjectsA project management simulation, created by Dr. Jeffrey Pinto & Dr. Diane Parente (Pennsylvania State University). Access code required for one 12-round simulation play.
- StratX SimulationsRange of simulations related to digital marketing, marketing strategy, revenue management, brand manager, & the 4Ps of the marketing mix.
- Wharton InteractiveProvides a variety of learning experiences (i.e. games) & learning platforms that can be completed individually, or as a class. Experiences revolve around entrepreneurship, marketing, negotiating, hiring, & machine learning.
