Ebook Platforms
-
Cambridge CoreAccess to articles and select ebooks published by Cambridge University Press.
-
ebook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Thousands of ebooks on a wide range of subjects.
-
eBook CentralThousands of ebooks on a wide range of subjects.
-
O'Reilly for Higher Education
Access to thousands of ebooks, case studies, tutorials, and videos in computer science, business, communication, and design. Select "not listed" when prompted to select institution and then enter UConn email address.
-
ScienceDirect
Includes full-text to a select number of journals and eBooks covering social sciences and hard sciences from 1995 to the present published by Elsevier.
-
Springer Nature Link E-books
Full-text access to select e-books in scientific, technical, and medical fields published by Springer.
-
Wiley Online Library
Includes full-text access to a select number of journals and eBooks across all disciplines published by Wiley.
Reference Sources
-
A Dictionary of Finance and Banking (6 ed.)
by
The sixth edition of this bestselling dictionary has been fully revised and updated to take into account the ever-developing financial landscape of the last five years. This comprehensive A–Z defines terms from all aspects of personal and international finance, including money markets, private investments and borrowing, central banking, foreign exchanges, monetary policy, and public and government finance. Now with expanded international coverage to reflect the ongoing globalization of financial markets and rapidly developing areas in finance and banking, with new entries such as village banking, Islamic Development Bank, and revolving loan fund.
ISBN: 9780191831430Publication Date: 2018
-
Economic Indicators for Professionals by We are bombarded with economic numbers: unemployment, retail sales, inflation, GDP--the list goes on and on. Some analyst or another is constantly telling us about an obscure statistic that is the key to our future, or is apparently the indicator that the "Fed" will be using to key off its decisions. With economic numbers playing such a central role in the national and world dialogue on policy and markets, and spilling over into the political arena, a broad review of what they are all about is timely. This book reviews the critical US economic data, and how one may put the numbers into an intellectual structure that will depict evolving economic reality. The work is aimed at those who want and need to get some understanding about how the data contributes to a big picture of the economy and guides policy. The objective is for the reader to grasp the overall logic of the data--how each piece of the puzzle contributes to our understanding of the overall economy. This is the way the Fed looks at the numbers. There are other books that go through the economic numbers, but they do so in a "bottom-up" fashion, describing a series in some detail and adding something about how financial markets may respond to it. This book naturally has considerable discussion of series, but views them as part of the overall mosaic, not items of fundamental interest in themselves.
ISBN: 9780203712955Publication Date: 2018-08-15 -
Finance for Normal People
by
Finance for Normal People teaches behavioral finance to people like you and me - normal people, neither rational nor irrational. We are consumers, savers, investors, and managers - corporate managers, money managers, financial advisers, and all other financial professionals.The book guides us to know our wants-including hope for riches, protection from poverty, caring for family, sincere social responsibility and high social status. It teaches financial facts and human behavior, including making cognitive and emotional shortcuts and avoiding cognitive and emotionalerrors such as overconfidence, hindsight, exaggerated fear, and unrealistic hope. And it guides us to banish ignorance, gain knowledge, and increase the ratio of smart to foolish behavior on our way to what we want.These lessons of behavioral finance draw on what we know about us-normal people-including our wants, cognition, and emotions. And they draw on the roles of these factors in saving and spending, portfolio construction, returns we can expect from our investments, and whether we can hope to beat themarket.Meir Statman, a founder of behavioral finance, draws on his extensive research and the research of many others to build a unified structure of behavioral finance. Its foundation blocks include normal behavior, behavioral portfolio theory, behavioral life-cycle theory, behavioral asset pricingtheory, and behavioral market efficiency.
ISBN: 9780190057121Publication Date: 2019-09-01
