Databases
- ERIC (EBSCO)
Indexes scholarly journals and magazines in all areas of education, from early intervention (birth to age three), preschool, K-12 (public and private), and higher education. Includes bilingual, special, gifted, and computer education.
- PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo)
Scholarly articles in psychology, plus medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, criminology, social science, business, & organizational behavior.
- Professional Development Collection
Full-text articles about education, covering children's health and development, pedagogical theory, and current topics in education.
- Teacher Reference Center
This link opens in a new window
Includes article abstracts for various teacher and educational administrator journals and magazines.
- Academic Search Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- ScopusScholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes doctoral dissertations completed in the U.S. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations.
Check the databases in your subject area for SoTL related articles.
- Research Databases by SubjectDatabases by Subject or by Database Name
Search Terms and Phrases
SoTL Searching Tips
1) Start broad and narrow down from there
2) Give Google Scholar a try to see what is coming up
3) Step outside your discipline and consider applying techniques or approaches from other subjects
4) Read to learn the terminology which will influence what your key words will be
5) Try "SoTL", "higher education", "postsecondary" if your results are primarily in the K-12 literature
Credit: University of Calgary SoTL libguide
Search Terms
Keywords and Phrases
sotl OR "scholarship of teaching and learning"
ERIC:
- scholarship
- learning
- higher education
- teaching methods
- instruction [used for pedagogy, teaching (process)]
- instructional improvement
Professional Development:
- learning & scholarship
- postsecondary education
- higher education
- teaching methods
- teaching
- learning
- [subject] education
PsycInfo:
- learning
- teaching
- teaching methods
- college teachers
Academic Search Premier:
- learning & scholarship
- teaching
- effective teaching
- higher education
- learning
- teacher development
- college teaching
- teaching methods
- Google ScholarUse GS for open access publications, set up search alerts, follow experts
- Using Google Scholar GuideConfigure Google Scholar for UConn.
- GoogleFind conference presentations, blog posts, and more.
Search Tips:
intitle:sotl graduate education
"graduate student" sotl site:edu
