Classroom Assessment and Research by Thomas A. Angelo (Editor)Classroom research has evolved considerably in the past few years. This sourcebook explores how classroom assessment techniques (CATs) are now being used to build student learning skills, and examines current research on how classroom assessment has changed both teaching and learning. It also introduces new uses for CATs--to promote effective student teamwork, help institutions answer the call for more accountability, and guide new teachers in developing their teaching philosophies. This is the 75th issue of the quarterly journal New Directions for Teaching and Learning.
Call Number: LB1025.2 .N456 no.75
Publication Date: 1998-12-02
Classroom Research by K. Patricia Cross; Mimi Harris SteadmanClassroom Research is designed for use in faculty discussion groups, workshops, and seminars to prepare discipline-oriented faculty for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning. The book's real-life case studies illustrate basic principles of learning and provide provocative materials for discussion along with practical suggestions for research that can be conducted by faculty from all disciplines in their own classrooms.
Call Number: Oversize LB2331 .C766 1996
Publication Date: 1996-10-07
The Courage to Teach by Parker J. PalmerThis book shows teachers how to maintain their courage to teach, and shows how schools can support their teachers in providing their best to their students, by reaching out to students and encouraging them to learn.
Call Number: LB1775 .P25 1998
Publication Date: 1997-12-05
Discipline-Based Education Research: Understanding and Improving Learning in Undergraduate Science and Engineering by Status, Contributions, and Future Directions of Discipline-Based Education Research Committee....The National Science Foundation funded a synthesis study on the status, contributions, and future direction of discipline-based education research (DBER) in physics, biological sciences, geosciences, and chemistry. DBER combines knowledge of teaching and learning with deep knowledge of discipline-specific science content. It describes the discipline-specific difficulties learners face and the specialized intellectual and instructional resources that can facilitate student understanding. Discipline-Based Education Research is based on a 30-month study built on two workshops held in 2008 to explore evidence on promising practices in undergraduate science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education. This book asks questions that are essential to advancing DBER and broadening its impact on undergraduate science teaching and learning. The book provides empirical research on undergraduate teaching and learning in the sciences, explores the extent to which this research currently influences undergraduate instruction, and identifies the intellectual and material resources required to further develop DBER. Discipline-Based Education Research provides guidance for future DBER research. In addition, the findings and recommendations of this report may invite, if not assist, post-secondary institutions to increase interest and research activity in DBER and improve its quality and usefulness across all natural science disciples, as well as guide instruction and assessment across natural science courses to improve student learning. The book brings greater focus to issues of student attrition in the natural sciences that are related to the quality of instruction. Discipline-Based Education Research will be of interest to educators, policy makers, researchers, scholars, decision makers in universities, government agencies, curriculum developers, research sponsors, and education advocacy groups.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2012-09-27
Enhancing Learning Through the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning by Kathleen McKinney; Patricia K. Cross (Foreword by)The Challenges and Joys of Juggling There has been growing demand for workshops and materials to help those in higher education conduct and use the scholarship of teaching and learning. This book offers advice on how to do, share, and apply SoTL work to improve student learning and development. Written for college-level faculty members as well as faculty developers, administrators, academic staff, and graduate students, this book will also help undergraduate students collaborating with faculty on SoTL projects. Though targeted at those new to the field of SoTL, more seasoned SoTL researchers and those attempting to support SoTL efforts will find the book valuable. It can be used as an individual reading, a shared reading in SoTL writing circles, a resource in workshops on SoTL, and a text in seminars on teaching. Contents include: Defining SoTL The functions, value, rewards, and standards for SoTL work Working with colleagues, involving students, writing grants, integrating SoTL into your professional life, and finding useful resources Practical and ethical issues associated with SoTL work Making your SoTL public and documenting your work The status of SoTL in disciplinary and institutional contexts Applying the goals of SoTL to enhance student learning and development.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2010-01-22
Geeky Pedagogy by Jessamyn NeuhausGeeky Pedagogy is a funny, evidence-based, multidisciplinary, pragmatic, highly readable guide to the process of learning and relearning how to be an effective college teacher. It is the first college teaching guide that encourages faculty to embrace their inner nerd, inviting readers to view themselves and their teaching work in light of contemporary discourse that celebrates increasingly diverse geek culture and explores stereotypes about super-smart introverts. Geeky Pedagogy avoids the excessive jargon, humorlessness, and endless proscriptions that plague much published advice about teaching. Neuhaus is aware of how embodied identity and employment status shape one's teaching context, and she eschews formulaic depictions of idealized exemplar teaching, instead inviting readers to join her in an engaging, critically reflective conversation about the vicissitudes of teaching and learning in higher education as a geek, introvert, or nerd. Written for the wonks and eggheads who want to translate their vast scholarly expertise into authentic student learning, Geeky Pedagogy is packed with practical advice and encouragement for increasing readers' pedagogical knowledge.
Call Number: Online (Through September 30, 2020)
Publication Date: 2019-07-23
A Guide to Faculty Development by Kay J. Gillespie (Editor); Douglas L. Robertson (Editor); William H. Bergquist (Afterword by)Since the first edition of A Guide to Faculty Developmentwas published in 2002, the dynamic field of educational and facultydevelopment has undergone many changes. Prepared under the auspicesof the Professional and Organizational Development Network inHigher Education (POD), this thoroughly revised, updated, andexpanded edition offers a fundamental resource for facultydevelopers, as well as for faculty and administrators interested inpromoting and sustaining faculty development within theirinstitutions. This essential book offers an introduction to thetopic, includes twenty-three chapters by leading experts in thefield, and provides the most relevant information on a range offaculty development topics including establishing and sustaining afaculty development program; the key issues of assessment,diversity, and technology; and faculty development acrossinstitutional types, career stages, and organizations. "This volume contains the gallant story of the emergence of amovement to sustain the vitality of college and university facultyin difficult times. This practical guide draws on the best mindsshaping the field, the most productive experience, and elicits theimagination required to reenvision a dynamic future for learningsocieties in a global context." ?R. Eugene Rice, senior scholar, Association ofAmerican Colleges and Universities "Across the country, people in higher education are thinkingabout how to prepare our graduates for a rapidly changing worldwhile supporting our faculty colleagues who grew up in a verydifferent world. Faculty members, academic administrators, andpolicymakers alike will learn a great deal from this volume abouthow to put together a successful faculty development program andcreate a supportive environment for learning in challengingtimes." ?Judith A. Ramaley, president, Winona StateUniversity "This is the book on faculty development in higher education.Everyone involved in faculty development?including provosts,deans, department chairs, faculty, and teaching centerstaff?will learn from the extensive research and thepractical wisdom in the Guide." ?Peter Felten, president, The POD Network(2010?2011), and director, Center for the Advancement ofTeaching and Learning, Elon University
Call Number: LB2331.72 .G55 2010 & Online
Publication Date: 2010-04-12
The Handbook for the New Art an Science of Teaching by Robert J. MarzanoPart of The New Art and Science of Teaching series Rely on this comprehensive guide to help you implement the teaching methods of Dr. Robert J. Marzano's The New Art and Science of Teaching framework, which includes over 330 specific instructional strategies, 43 instructional elements, and 10 design questions. Each chapter outlines actionable steps, tips, and examples of implementation that will set you (and your students) up to succeed with this powerful framework in your classroom. Added insight into Marzano's research-based instructional strategies and teaching methods: Learn the history of Robert J. Marzano's framework of teaching methods first laid out in his best-selling The Art and Science of Teaching. Thoroughly examine the updated The New Art and Science of Teaching framework for competency-based education. Explore numerous instructional strategies that correspond to each of the 43 elements of The New Art and Science of Teaching. Acquire examples that will assist in the realization of the instructional strategies discussed throughout the book. Discover strategies that will improve both the mental and physical environment of the classroom to better support student success. Reimagine how to develop relationships with students and generate student engagement.Access free reproducibles that will assist in implementing The New Art and Science of Teaching framework in classrooms. A joint publication of ASCD and Solution Tree Contents: Introduction Part I: Feedback Chapter 1: Providing and Communicating Clear Learning Goals Chapter 2: Using Assessments Part II: Content Chapter 3: Conducting Direct Instruction Lessons Chapter 4: Conducting Practicing and Deepening Lessons Chapter 5: Conducting Knowledge Application Lessons Chapter 6: Using Strategies That Appear in All Types of Lessons Part III: Context Chapter 7: Using Engagement Strategies Chapter 8: Implementing Rules and Procedures Chapter 9: Building Relationships Chapter 10: Communicating High Expectations Appendix Reproducibles References and Resources Books in The New Art and Science of Teaching series: The New Art and Science of Teaching The Handbook for the New Art and Science of Teaching The New Art and Science of Teaching Reading The New Art and Science of Teaching Writing The New Art and Science of Classroom Assessment
Call Number: LB1025.3 .M3424 2019
Publication Date: 2018-09-21
How Humans Learn by Joshua R. EylerEven on good days, teaching is a challenging profession. One way to make the job of college instructors easier, however, is to know more about the ways students learn. How Humans Learn aims to do just that by peering behind the curtain and surveying research in fields as diverse as developmental psychology, anthropology, and cognitive neuroscience for insight into the science behind learning. The result is a story that ranges from investigations of the evolutionary record to studies of infants discovering the world for the first time, and from a look into how our brains respond to fear to a reckoning with the importance of gestures and language. Joshua R. Eyler identifies five broad themes running through recent scientific inquiry--curiosity, sociality, emotion, authenticity, and failure--devoting a chapter to each and providing practical takeaways for busy teachers. He also interviews and observes college instructors across the country, placing theoretical insight in dialogue with classroom experience.
Call Number: LB2331 .E98 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-24
How learning works : seven research-based principles for smart teaching by Susan A. Ambrose; Michael W. Bridges; Michele DiPietro; Marsha C. Lovett; Marie K. Norman; Richard E. Mayer (Foreword by)Praise for How Learning Works "How Learning Works is the perfect title for this excellent book. Drawing upon new research in psychology, education, and cognitive science, the authors have demystified a complex topic into clear explanations of seven powerful learning principles. Full of great ideas and practical suggestions, all based on solid research evidence, this book is essential reading for instructors at all levels who wish to improve their students' learning." --Barbara Gross Davis, assistant vice chancellor for educational development, University of California, Berkeley, and author, Tools for Teaching "This book is a must-read for every instructor, new or experienced. Although I have been teaching for almost thirty years, as I read this book I found myself resonating with many of its ideas, and I discovered new ways of thinking about teaching." --Eugenia T. Paulus, professor of chemistry, North Hennepin Community College, and 2008 U.S. Community Colleges Professor of the Year from The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education "Thank you Carnegie Mellon for making accessible what has previously been inaccessible to those of us who are not learning scientists. Your focus on the essence of learning combined with concrete examples of the daily challenges of teaching and clear tactical strategies for faculty to consider is a welcome work. I will recommend this book to all my colleagues." --Catherine M. Casserly, senior partner, The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching "As you read about each of the seven basic learning principles in this book, you will find advice that is grounded in learning theory, based on research evidence, relevant to college teaching, and easy to understand. The authors have extensive knowledge and experience in applying the science of learning to college teaching, and they graciously share it with you in this organized and readable book." --From the Foreword by Richard E. Mayer, professor of psychology, University of California, Santa Barbara; coauthor, e-Learning and the Science of Instruction; and author, Multimedia Learning
Call Number: LB1025.3 .H68 2010 (Avery Point) & E Book
Publication Date: 2010-05-17
Interactive Lecturing by Elizabeth F. BarkleyTips and techniques to build interactive learning into lecture classes Have you ever looked out across your students only to find them staring at their computers or smartphones rather than listening attentively to you? Have you ever wondered what you could do to encourage students to resist distractions and focus on the information you are presenting? Have you ever wished you could help students become active learners as they listen to you lecture? Interactive Lecturing is designed to help faculty members more effectively lecture. This practical resource addresses such pertinent questions as, "How can lecture presentations be more engaging?" "How can we help students learn actively during lecture instead of just sitting and passively listening the entire time?" Renowned authors Elizabeth F. Barkley and Claire H. Major provide practical tips on creating and delivering engaging lectures as well as concrete techniques to help teachers ensure students are active and fully engaged participants in the learning process before, during, and after lecture presentations. Research shows that most college faculty still rely predominantly on traditional lectures as their preferred teaching technique. However, research also underscores the fact that more students fail lecture-based courses than classes with active learning components. Interactive Lecturing combines engaging presentation tips with active learning techniques specifically chosen to help students learn as they listen to a lecture. It is a proven teaching and learning strategy that can be readily incorporated into every teacher's methods. In addition to providing a synthesis of relevant, contemporary research and theory on lecturing as it relates to teaching and learning, this book features 53 tips on how to deliver engaging presentations and 32 techniques you can assign students to do to support their learning during your lecture. The tips and techniques can be used across instructional methods and academic disciplines both onsite (including small lectures and large lecture halls) as well as in online courses. This book is a focused, up-to-date resource that draws on collective wisdom from scholarship and practice. It will become a well-used and welcome addition for everyone dedicated to effective teaching in higher education.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2018-02-28
Learning from each other : refining the practice of teaching in higher education by Michele Lee Kozimor-King (Editor); Jeffrey ChinLearning from Each Other includes 20 original chapters written by well-known experts in the field of teaching and learning. Conceived for both new and experienced faculty at community colleges, four-year institutions, and research-intensive universities, the volume also addresses the interests of faculty and graduate students in programs designed to prepare future faculty and campus individuals responsible for faculty professional development. With the aim of cultivating engagement amongst students and deepening their understanding of the content, topics covered in this edited volume include: employing the science of learning in a social science context understanding the effects of a flipped classroom on student success pedagogical techniques to create a community of inquiry in online learning environments the risks and rewards of co-teaching reaching and teaching "non-traditional" students facilitating learning and leadership in student team projects connecting students with the community through research issues of assessment, including backward design, developing and using rubrics, and defining and implementing the scholarship of teaching and learning Through Learning from Each Other, all faculty who care about their teaching, but especially faculty in the social sciences, can successfully employ curricular innovations, classroom techniques, and advances in assessment to create better learning environments for their students.
Call Number: LB2331 .L3927 2018 and Online
Publication Date: 2018-08-21
Make It Stick by Peter C. BrownDrawing on cognitive psychology and other fields, Make It Stick offers techniques for becoming more productive learners, and cautions against study habits and practice routines that turn out to be counterproductive. The book speaks to students, teachers, trainers, athletes, and all those interested in lifelong learning and self-improvement.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in and Across the Disciplines by Kathleen McKinney (Editor); Mary Taylor Huber (Foreword by)The scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) began primarily as a discipline-based movement, committed to exploring the signature pedagogical and learning styles of each discipline within higher education, with little exchange across disciplines. As the field has developed, new questions have arisen concerning cross-disciplinary comparison and learning in multidisciplinary settings This volume by a stellar group of experts provides a state-of-the-field review of recent SoTL scholarship within a range of disciplines and offers a stimulating discussion of critical issues related to interdisciplinarity in teaching, learning, and SoTL research.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2013-01-21
Scholarship reconsidered : priorities of the professoriate by Ernest L. BoyerThe Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching Ernest L. Boyer's "Scholarship Reconsidered" offers a new paradigm that recognizes the full range of scholarly activity by college and university faculty and questions the existence of a reward system that pushed faculty toward research and publication and away from teaching.
Call Number: LA227.3 .B694 1990
Publication Date: 1990-12-01
SoTL in Action by Nancy L. Chick (Editor); James Rhem (Foreword by)What are the foundational moments of meaningful scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) projects? How do teacher-scholars collect, develop, and share useful insights about student learning? How do they work through the pinch points that frustrate, confuse, or elude many SoTL practitioners? By unpacking SoTL processes through rich narratives that illustrate what they look like, this collection offers inspiration to anyone at any stage of engagement with SoTL. This book takes discussions of SoTL to a new level. Its subtitle reflects the microscopic lenses SoTL processes can apply to student learning experiences to understand how they happen, what they look like, what they mean, and what we can do about them. Going beyond definitions, how-to, theory, and debates about methods and standards, the contributors offer a SoTL primer documenting how practitioners have intentionally thought through key moments in their work. These procedural vignettes present powerful examples of what doing SoTL looks like when done well. The authors represent a range of disciplines (the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and professions) and a mixture of familiar and unfamiliar names. Nancy Chick has selected contributions that compellingly illuminate why their authors focused on a particular critical moment, the questions they asked as they refined their approaches, and the theoretical and observational tools they employed to conduct their research. Each introduces a specific critical moment in doing SoTL, taking the reader through the author's reflections, concerns, and choices in doing meaningful SoTL work. The aim is to support potential practitioners, inform educational developers who teach new SoTL practitioners, and inspire experienced SoTL scholars to reflect on their own practice. This is a compelling collection for anyone interested in practitioner reflection, intentional design, and advancing the field of SoTL and the quality of teaching and learning.
What the Best College Teachers Do by Ken BainWhat makes a great teacher great? Who are the professors students remember long after graduation? This book, the conclusion of a fifteen-year study of nearly one hundred college teachers in a wide variety of fields and universities, offers valuable answers for all educators. The short answer is--it's not what teachers do, it's what they understand. Lesson plans and lecture notes matter less than the special way teachers comprehend the subject and value human learning. Whether historians or physicists, in El Paso or St. Paul, the best teachers know their subjects inside and out--but they also know how to engage and challenge students and to provoke impassioned responses. Most of all, they believe two things fervently: that teaching matters and that students can learn. In stories both humorous and touching, Bain describes examples of ingenuity and compassion, of students' discoveries of new ideas and the depth of their own potential. What the Best College Teachers Do is a treasure trove of insight and inspiration for first-year teachers and seasoned educators.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2004-04-30
New SOTL Titles
Applying the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Beyond the Individual Classroom by Kathleen McKinney (Editor); Jennifer C. Friberg (Editor)When the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) emerged, it often concentrated on individual faculty practice in one classroom; it is now, however, increasingly common to find work in SoTL focused more broadly. SoTL studies may engage with a cluster of courses, a program, a particular population of students, a pedagogical approach, or a field--all of which are represented in the essays collected here by authors from a diverse array of institutions and nations. This volume features examples of SoTL research conducted in, and applied to, a variety of contexts and disciplines, offering a theoretical framework for an expanded vision of SoTL--one that moves beyond the individual classroom.
Call Number: On Order- Print; e-Book
Publication Date: 2019-08-29
Evaluating Teaching and Learning by David Kember; Paul GinnsEvery semester, colleges and universities ask students to complete innumerable course and teaching evaluation questionnaires to evaluate the learning and teaching in courses they have taken. For many universities it is a requirement that all courses be evaluated every semester. The laudable rationale is that the feedback provided will enable instructors to improve their teaching and the curriculum, thus enhancing the quality of student learning. In spite of this there is little evidence that it does improve the quality of teaching and learning. Ratings only improve if the instruments and the presentation of results are sufficiently diagnostic to identify potential improvements and there is effective counselling. Evaluating Teaching and Learning explains how evaluation can be more effective in enhancing the quality of teaching and learning and introduces broader and more diverse forms of evaluation. This guide explains how to develop questionnaires and protocols which are valid, reliabile and diagnostic. It also contains proven instruments that have undergone appropriate testing procedures, together with a substantial item bank. The book looks at the specific national frameworks for the evaluation of teaching in use in the USA, UK and Australia. It caters for diverse methodologies, both quantitative and qualitative and offers solutions that allow evaluation at a wide range of levels: from classrooms to programmes to departments and entire institutions. With detail on all aspects of the main evaluation techniques and instruments, the authors show how effective evaluation can make use of a variety of approaches and combine them into an effective project. With a companion website which has listings of the questionnaires and item bank, this book will be of interest to those concerned with organising and conducting evaluation in a college, university, faculty or department. It will also appeal to those engaged in the scholarship of teaching and learning.
Call Number: On Order
Publication Date: 2012-02-09
Selected Titles on Qualitative and Quantitative Research
The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers by Johnny SaldañaThe Second Edition of Johnny Saldaña′s international bestseller provides an in-depth guide to the multiple approaches available for coding qualitative data. Fully up to date, it includes new chapters, more coding techniques and an additional glossary. Clear, practical and authoritative, the book: -describes how coding initiates qualitative data analysis -demonstrates the writing of analytic memos -discusses available analytic software -suggests how best to use The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers for particular studies. In total, 32 coding methods are profiled that can be applied to a range of research genres from grounded theory to phenomenology to narrative inquiry. For each approach, Saldaña discusses the method′s origins, a description of the method, practical applications, and a clearly illustrated example with analytic follow-up. A unique and invaluable reference for students, teachers, and practitioners of qualitative inquiry, this book is essential reading across the social sciences.
Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics by Neil J. Salkind; Bruce B. FreyNow in its Seventh Edition, Neil J. Salkind's bestselling Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statisticswith new co-author Bruce B. Frey teaches an often intimidating subject with a humorous, personable, and informative approach that reduces statistics anxiety. With instruction in SPSS®, the authors guide students through basic and advanced statistical procedures, from correlation and graph creation to analysis of variance, regression, non-parametric tests, and more. The Seventh Editionincludes new real-world examples, additional coverage on multiple regression and power and effect size, and a robust interactive eBook with video tutorials and animations of key concepts. In the end, students who (think they) hate statistics will understand how to explain the results of many statistical analyses and won't be intimidated by basic statistical tasks.
Call Number: HA29 .S2365 2020
Publication Date: 2019-09-10
Tests and Measurement for People Who (Think They) Hate Tests and Measurement by Neil J. SalkindUsing his signature, conversational writing style and straightforward presentation, Neil J. Salkind's best-selling Tests & Measurement for People Who (Think They) Hate Tests & Measurement guides readers through an overview of categories of tests, the design of tests, the use of tests, and some of the basic social, political, and legal issues that the process of testing involves. The Third Edition includes a new chapter on item response theory, new sections on neuropsychological testing, new cartoons, and additional end-of-chapter exercises. Free online resources accompany the text to make teaching easier and provide students with the practice tools they need to master the material.