LibGuides: Africana Studies Subject Guide: Databases & Journals

Databases & Journals

Since Africana Studies is a rich, multi-dimensional field of study, there are many journals and databases available at UConn Library relating to African American and Diasporic experiences, cultures, and histories. Below are lists of Africana Studies databases and core journals where you can access full-text, online resources from on or off campus!

To access databases & journals, log in with your UConn Net ID and password

For questions or assistance with databases & journals, contact the Africana Studies librarian, Stephanie Birch, at stephanie.birch@uconn.edu

Africana Studies Databases

Search Africana Studies and multi-disciplinary databases to access primary and secondary sources online! Hover over the database titles below to see detailed descriptions of the scope and content of each database. Note: There are many other databases not listed here, which are multidisciplinary in nature, and contain resources for many fields, including Black and Africana Studies. These include Jstor, Academic Search Premier, PsycInfo, and more.

Accessible Archives
Available collections of fully searchable colonial and nineteenth-century U.S. newspapers: African American Newspapers, The Lily, National Citizen and Ballot Box 1876-1881, and Pennsylvania Gazette Folio IV.
African American Communities
Access to essays, records, oral histories, articles, and images from the 18th-20th centuries covering topics including desegregation, urban renewal, and race relations in major American cities such as New York, Chicago, and Atlanta.

African American Historical Serials Collection

Collection of 173 periodicals from 1816-1922. Includes periodicals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as reports from African American organizations including churches, educational and service institutions.

African American Music Reference
Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, discographies, bibliographies, and other reference materials on blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, gospel, and other forms of African American music.
African American Newspapers
Access to collection of African American newspapers covering cultural life and history during the 1800s and includes first-hand reports of the major events.
African American Studies Center
Includes biographical articles on notable African Americans.
African Diaspora: Cultural, Social and Political History, 1860-Present
Includes ebooks, government documents, personal papers, organizational records, journals, dockets, and ephemera from the Caribbean, Brazil, India, the United Kingdom, and France on global African diaspora.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection (EBSCO)

Includes magazines and journals articles from 1691 to1877 covering topics such as Black and African American history and culture, agriculture, children's literature, education, medicine, religion, science and technology, the trades, and women's literature.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection (Gale)
Includes magazines and journals articles from 1691 to1877 covering topics such as Black and African American history and culture, agriculture, children's literature, education, medicine, religion, science and technology, the trades, and women's literature.
Atlanta Daily World
Full text coverage from 1931 to 2003 of the Atlanta Daily World.
Baltimore Afro-American
Digital archive for the Baltimore Afro-American from 1893 to 1988.
Black Abolitionist Papers
Includes 15,000 essays, letters, fiction, and other writings by nearly 300 Black abolitionists, mostly from the United States, Britain, and Canada from 1830 to 1865.
Black Thought & Culture
Includes over 100,000 letters, speeches, essays, interviews, and trial transcripts by Black and African American leaders with a focus on 19th and 20th centuries.
Global Press Archive
Full page and article images with searchable full text of select African, Asian, Eastern European, Latin American, and Middle Eastern newspapers from the 18th century to present.
Independent Voices
Alternative press publications produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals and the New Left, Native peoples, antiwar activists, Black Power advocates, Latino/as, LGBT activists, right-wing extremists, and more.
NAACP Papers
Includes working case files of the NAACP legal department documenting the NAACP's campaign to bring about desegregation throughout the United States.
New York Amsterdam News
Digitized version of the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), one of the U.S.'s leading Black newspapers and one of New York's most influential Black-owned institutions.
ProQuest African American Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Cross search for several African American newspapers including Atlanta Daily World, The Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Cleveland Call and Post, Los Angeles Sentinel, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, The Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, and Louisville Defender.
Race Relations in America
Includes records, images, case studies, audio recordings, and surveys from the Fisk University race relations department and its annual institute between 1943 and 1970 covering topics such as the Civil Rights Movement, segregation, discrimination, and racial theory.
Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice
Includes primary source documents on key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries covering slavery in the early Americas; African coast; urban and domestic slavery; resistance and revolts; the abolition movement and the slavery debate; legislation and politics; freedmen and free Black settlements; experiences of enslaved people; and the legacy of slavery.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Includes books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps documenting the historical conflict over slavery in the United States. Includes Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, part III: The Institution of Slavery, and part IV: The Age of Emancipation.

Core Africana Studies Journals

Looking for scholarly, peer-reviewed articles? Here are some librarian-recommended Africana Studies journals where you can start your search. To access full-text articles, log in using your Net ID and password. Note: some articles may not be accessible online and may be available in print format and/or can be requested through interlibrary loan.

African American Review
Essays on African American literature, theatre, film, the visual arts, and culture; interviews; poetry; fiction; and book reviews- Saint Louis University.
Black Scholar
A peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal devoted to the exploration of cultural, political, social, and economic issues affecting Black Americans and other peoples of African descent worldwide.
Black Women Gender & Families
An interdisciplinary, generalist journal that publishes the highest quality original theoretical and empirical research in the social and behavioral sciences, history, and humanities that center the study of Black women and other women of color, gender, families, and communities- University of Illinois Press.
Callaloo
The journal offers a rich mixture of fiction, poetry, plays, critical essays, cultural studies, interviews, and visual art- Johns Hopkins University Press.
Cultural Diversity & Ethnic Minority Psychology
Publishes theoretical, conceptual, research, and case study articles that promote the development of knowledge and understanding, application of psychological principles, and scholarly analysis of social–political forces affecting racial and ethnic minorities.- American Psychological Association
Journal of African American Studies
The Journal of African American Studies examines topics concerning social transformations that impact the life chances of continental Africans and the African diaspora- Springer Journals.
Journal of Black Psychology
The Journal of Black Psychology presents the most innovative scholarly research and theory on the behavior of Black and other populations from Black or Afrocentric perspectives- Sage Journals.
Journal of Black Studies
The Journal of Black Studies offers important and intellectually provocative articles exploring key issues facing African Americans- Sage Journals
Journal of Multicultural Counseling & Development
Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development (JMCD) is concerned with research, theory, and program applications pertinent to multicultural and ethnic minority interests in all areas of counseling and human development.- Wiley
Journal of Urban Health
A bimonthly peer-reviewed publication which focuses on the emerging fields of urban health and epidemiology.- Springer
Spectrum: A Journal on Black Men
A multidisciplinary research journal whose articles focus on issues related to aspects of Black men’s experiences, including such topics as gender, masculinities, and race/ethnicity- Indiana University Press.

Africana Studies Subject Guide — Databases & Journals

Databases & Journals

Africana Studies Databases

Core Africana Studies Journals