Newspapers
UConn Library has a number of newspaper databases. Based on the research needs, you can access newspapers from a variety of time periods.
Streaming Media
- UConn Library Streaming Videos CollectionBrowsable collection of some of UConn Library's streaming videos. Search the catalog for specific titles.
- Databases - Streaming VideoIncludes BBC Shakespeare plays, Kanopy, Films on Demand, New Day Digital and more
- Alexander Street Press Film PlatformCross-search Alexander Street Press streaming videos across such subjects as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and theatre. The materials include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations.
- Academic Video OnlineIncludes documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, demonstrations, and news programs and newsreels covering subject areas that span anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, and music.
- Docuseek2 Complete CollectionStreams of independently produced social-issue and environmental films from such producers as Bull Frog Pictures, Icarus Films, Terra Nova Films, and First Run Features.
- National Theatre CollectionAccess 30 productions from the UK’s National Theatre. Also includes exclusive digitized archival materials such as photographs, scripts, costume designs, providing behind-the-scenes background and contextual information for each of the featured productions.
- PBS Video Collection1,500 streaming videos produced by PBS. Includes films from well-known PBS series such as Ken Burns' Jazz, NOVA, Frontline, and Finding Your Roots.
- Research Guide - Media and Streaming VideosGuide to video resources and streaming media
Library General Search tips:
Search using keywords and Limit to Video and Full Text Online.
UConn Collections include films by producer or distributor names like:'
- Bullfrog Films
- Media Education Foundation
- Documentary Educational Resources
- Women Make Movies
- California Newsreel
- New Day Films
- Films on Demand
E-Books
Many of UConn's reference books are now online:
E-Reference Books by (General) Subject (Biography & People, Education, Performing Arts, etc.)
{In most cases, you'll need a NetID/password to view these e-books from off-campus}
You can also use the UConn Library's General Search to retrieve only e-books.
Using the facets on the side, select Full Text Online and Books. Make sure both are selected!
For more information, please see the ECE Tutorial "Getting the Book."
Assignment Ideas
This is from UConn's First Year Writing Program site (with help from UConn librarians) and lists some interesting ways of approaching creating assignments that support information literacy objectives.
- UConn First Year Writing Research Paper AlternativesSample research assignments from the First Year Writing website, to help you create your assignments.
- Alternatives to Research Papers (UConn Libraries)Creative alternatives to traditional research papers.
