This guide will help you find resources from your research question.
Searching is a dynamic process - you should expect change as your topic evolves! It also requires flexible thinking and persistence: you'll hit some dead ends before you find sources that fit your research question. Using your research log to track your searching and sources will help you through this process.
This guide will:
What Databases Are
Video credit: Yavapai College Library
What are library databases and why use them?
A Library Database is an online index or catalog of searchable information.
- Databases contain quality information
- Powerful search tools for accurate searching
- Accessible anytime, anywhere
- Includes articles, newspapers, books, images, music, media and more
- General databases cover a wide variety of topics
- Subject specific databases cover a field of study in depth
Good Places to Start Searching
Need to find background information about your topic? Not sure where to start?
Find Articles
- Academic Search Premier
This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from a lot of different databases. This is a good place to search for almost any class! - JSTORA database with articles in a variety of subjects.
Find Reports on Issues & Topics
- CQ ResearcherA great place to start for background information on current hot topics.
- Issues & ControversiesSummarizes current issues and controversies in political, economic, social and scientific topics.
- Times TopicsA thorough collection of topics from the 'New York Times.' Each topic includes news, reference and archival information, photos, graphics, audio and video files published.
- AllSidesNon-partisan, crowd-sourced technology shows all sides so you can decide.
- ProCon.orgProCon.org is a non-profit public charity. They research controversial and important issues, and present them in a balanced, comprehensive, straightforward, and primarily pro-con format.
- Pew Research CenterNonpartisan fact tank that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
Using Library Databases
Where do I find library databases? Look for the Databases icon on the library homepage.
Select your database by subject or by the database name.
How do I select a database?
- What is your topic?
- What is your approach to your topic?
For example, articles on college students and binge drinking can be found in psychology, sociology, gender studies, anthropology, and legal databases.
