Evidence-Based Practice
Evidence-based practice (EBP), also called evidence-based medicine (EBM), integrates three facets: the best research evidence available, clinician expertise, and patient characteristics and values, for making treatment or diagnostic decisions. It includes being able to locate studies and guidelines, understand study types and biostatistics, and synthesize information. The resources on this page will help you to understand and retrieve the most current and high-quality clinical evidence available.
Websites
- EBP Tutorial7-module interactive tutorial from Duke University Medical Library
- EBM GlossaryGlossary of key terms from the EBM Toolbox
Databases
- DynaMedAccess to scientific literature, clinical practice guidelines, and evidence-based content for practicing clinicians.
- Essential Evidence PlusCollection of evidence and reference materials including the InfoPOEMs database, Cochrane Abstracts and other clinical decision rules and support tools and clinical guidelines.
- Trip DatabaseClinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and care
- ECRI GuidelinesFree repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Can limit by age, publishing organization, quality of evidence, etc.
- All UConn Pharmacy DatabasesAll Pharmacy databases, including PubMed, Embase, and Cochrane
Placebo group cartoon
Paul Noth, Alta Journal
Other Guides
- Guide page: Evidence Based PracticeUConn Library's page on EBP from the Health Subject Guide
- PICO Learning GuideUConn Health's guide on constructing PICO searches
- Systematic searching guideUConn Library guide on searching PubMed, Embase, Scopus, and more systematically
Pharmacists' Patient Care Wheel
The Pharmacist's Patient Care Process from the Joint Commission of Pharmacy Practitioners
Articles
- Evidence-Based Medicine in Pharmacy PracticeAlbrecht S. US Pharm. 2009;34(10):HS14-HS18.
- Promoting evidence-based practice in pharmaciesToklu HZ. Integr Pharm Res Pract. 2015; 4: 127–131. 10.2147/IPRP.S70406
- How to apply evidence to practiceBashir S. Pharm Jour. November 2, 2021
Books
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice by Call Number: Ebook 3 userPublication Date: 2014Leading guide to the principles and clinical applications of evidence-based medicine from JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association)
How to Read a Paper: the Basics of Evidence-Based Medicine by Call Number: Ebook 9 userPublication Date: 2014-02-26Introduction to evidence-based medicine; explains how to critically appraise published research and also put the findings into practice; explains what to look for in different types of papers and how best to evaluate the literature and then implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centered way.
Bad Science by Call Number: HBL Q172.5.E77 G65 2010Publication Date: 2010-10-12Provides an introduction for non-scientists to topics such as study design, placebo effects, statistics, and sample sizes.
Evidence-Based Practice in Action by Call Number: HBL RC454 .E867 2019Publication Date: 2019-07-08Guides the reader to consult and evaluate the research literature, use data to inform clinical decision making, consider the role of culture and context, craft sound case formulations, monitor progress and outcomes, and continuously develop their expertise. Includes rich, chapter-length case studies.
Practical Biostatistics by Call Number: Ebook unlimitedPublication Date: 2021-06-04Presents a complete resource of biostatistical knowledge meant for health sciences students, researchers and health care professionals. Covers the investigator's hypothesis, collective health, observational studies, the biostatistics of intervention studies, clinical trials and additional concepts. Chapters are written in a didactic way, making them easier to comprehend by readers with little or no background on statistics.
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare by Publication Date: 2022Presents the latest perspectives on research-backed nursing practice using an engaging, user-friendly approach. Combines straightforward, conversational storytelling, inspiring quotes, and engaging case studies to make evidence-based practice accessible for students at any level of familiarity.
