LibGuides: Pharmacy Subject Guide: Databases

Introduction

UConn Library Databases A-Z
Limit by subject Pharmacy to view suggested pharmacy databases

PubMed
Scholarly journal articles about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology.
Embase

Comprehensive index of biomedical research from 1966 to the present.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts

Article abstracts various pharmaceutical, medical, and health-related journals.
NatMed Pro (formerly Natural Medicines)

Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.
AccessPharmacy

Includes pharmacology textbooks and manuals, clinical cases, and tables, charts, and calculators designed for quick reference.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of medical treatments.
Essential Evidence Plus

Collection of evidence and reference materials including the InfoPOEMs database, Cochrane Abstracts and other clinical decision rules and support tools and clinical guidelines. Registration using your UConn email address is required for access to Essential Evidence Plus.

PubChem
The world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, etc.

SciFinder-n

Includes online access to Chemical Abstracts and the CAS Registry File of over 19 million chemical substances. For use by UConn faculty, staff, and students. Access for UConn affiliates is not permitted.

First time users register here.

Scopus
Scholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.

Cochrane Library
Collection of various evidence based medicine databases providing information on treatments and medical interventions to support effective decision making in practice.
Reaxys

Includes in-depth chemical substance and reaction data.
Knovel
Over 800 full-text engineering and scientific reference works, handbooks, encyclopedias, reference books, and standards in engineering and chemistry.
CAB Abstracts

Includes journal articles, conference papers and reports covering animal, dairy & veterinary sciences; entomology; plant sciences; aquaculture & fisheries; farming; and agricultural economics.
Agricola

Indexes articles in agriculture, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.
BIOSIS Citation Index

Article abstracts and conference documents from the world's life sciences literature, covering more than 5,200 journals.

McGraw-Hill Medical Suite
Main source for medical ebooks. Search all Access databases including AccessMedicine, AccessPharmacy, and AccessPediatrics

UptoDate Lexidrug

Clinical drug information resources, including dosing, administration, warnings, and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines. Contact the Pharmacy Librarian for UConn Library's mobile device access code.
Merative Micromedex
Drug and dosage information, toxicological substances, patient information databases, and other data to support clinical care decisions.
United States Pharmacopeia and the National Formulary (USP-NF)
Contains more than 4,500 monographs for prescription and over-the-counter products, dietary supplements, medical devices, and other healthcare products. Registration with UConn email address is required for access to USP-NF. Register for an individual account

DynaMed

Access to scientific literature, clinical practice guidelines, and evidence-based content for practicing clinicians. For use by UConn Faculty, Students, and Staff Only. Access for UConn Affiliates is not permitted.
VisualDx
Diagnostic support tool and differential builder with 20,000+ medical images with concise specialist-developed clinical information, in areas of medicine such as dermatologic, infectious, and drug-induced diseases.

Merck Manual (Professional edition)
Has medical information and discussions of medical diagnosis and therapy. Updated monthly to keep current with the changes in medical care and to provide accurate clinical decision support.

Trip Database
Clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and care
ECRI Guidelines
Free repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Can limit by age, publishing organization, quality of evidence, etc.
ACCESSSS
Provides one-stop access to pre-appraised evidence to address: what is the current best evidence available to support clinical decisions. Free but account required.
GuidelineCentral
Free access to thousands of current clinical practice guidelines and guideline summaries.
PubMed
PubMed can be used to locate guidelines. After entering search terms, click on Additional Filters on the left. Add "Guidelines" and "Practice Guidelines" as article types, then check them on the left.
DynaMed
DynaMed can be used to locate guidelines. On a Condition page, find Guidelines and Resources on the left. Guidelines are broken down by country of origin.

Orange Book
Search for FDA-approved drugs. Find generic drug equivalents, various routes of administration, patent and exclusivity information, marketing status, etc.
AHRQ EPC Evidence-Based Reports
These reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new health care technologies and strategies.
NCCAM Herbs at a Glance
Brief fact sheets which provide basic information about specific herbs or botanicals.
Examine Database
Freely available nutrition and supplement database
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry and results database of federally and privately supported completed and in-progress clinical trials conducted in the U.S. and around the world. From the National Library of Medicine
About Herbs
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center’s searchable database for common herbs and dietary supplements.
A pharmacist and botanicals expert manages and continually updates the database, providing objective and evidence-based information that can be helpful in judging a product’s traditional and proven uses, potential benefits, possible adverse effects, and interactions with other herbs or medicines