Nutritional Science Subject Guide — Databases

Scholarly journal articles about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology.

Article abstracts and conference documents from the world's life sciences literature, covering more than 5,200 journals.

Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.

Includes journal articles, conference papers and reports covering animal, dairy & veterinary sciences; entomology; plant sciences; aquaculture & fisheries; farming; and agricultural economics.

Indexes articles in agriculture, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.

Includes article abstracts of worldwide agricultural literature covering research results, food production, and rural development.

Comprehensive index of biomedical research from 1966 to the present.

Scholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.

Includes in-depth chemical substance and reaction data.

Over 800 full-text engineering and scientific reference works, handbooks, encyclopedias, reference books, and standards in engineering and chemistry.

Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. Incorporates three NCBI databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay.

Includes online access to Chemical Abstracts and the CAS Registry File of over 19 million chemical substances.  For use by UConn faculty, staff, and students. Access for UConn affiliates is not permitted.

Evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of medical treatments.

Collection of evidence and reference materials including the InfoPOEMs database, Cochrane Abstracts and other clinical decision rules and support tools and clinical guidelines.  Registration using your UConn email address is required for access to Essential Evidence Plus.

Clinical drug information resources, including dosing, administration, warnings, and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines.  Contact the Pharmacy Librarian for UConn Library's mobile device access code.

Drug and dosage information, toxicological substances, patient information databases, and other data to support clinical care decisions.

The USP-NF contains more than 4,500 monographs for prescription and over-the-counter products, dietary supplements, medical devices, and other healthcare products.  Registration is required for access to USP-NF. For current UConn faculty, staff, and students, register for an individual account. Use your UConn email address.

Collection of various evidence based medicine databases providing information on treatments and medical interventions to support effective decision making in practice.

Article abstracts various pharmaceutical, medical, and health-related journals.

Full text information about the use of health-related herbs.