Nutritional Science Subject Guide — Books and eBooks

There are thousands of diets on the market with new ones introduced daily. Not all diet plans have proven results, nor will they work for every patient. More importantly, not all diets marketed to the public are safe to follow for an extended timeframe. In fact, research shows us that diet composition is not the key to long term success, but compliance to a calorie deficient diet is the solution. So how does one choose which diet plan to recommend to patients? Finally, a book for clinicians is here to help answer this question. This book provides information to help patients understand several different research proven diets on the market today including: the Atkins diet, the DASH (Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension) diet, the I diet, the Mediterranean diet, Paleo Diets, South Beach, Vegetarian diets, Weight Watchers, and the Zone diet. Each diet is carefully and thoroughly reviewed in this book by some of America's top obesity medicine and weight management specialists to provide health practitioners a knowledge of the diet composition, current research evaluating the diet, typical weight loss results, the pros and cons of the diet as well as which patients would most benefit from each diet plan.

Anti-fatness is everywhere. In What We Don't Talk About When We Talk About Fat, Aubrey Gordon unearths the cultural attitudes and social systems that have led to people being denied basic needs because they are fat and calls for social justice movements to be inclusive of plus-sized people's experiences. Unlike the recent wave of memoirs and quasi self-help books that encourage readers to love and accept themselves, Gordon pushes the discussion further towards authentic fat activism, which includes ending legal weight discrimination, giving equal access to health care for large people, increased access to public spaces, and ending anti-fat violence.

Prevalent myths and misconceptions are identified and dispelled, and a collection of case studies illustrates key concepts and issues through relatable stories and insightful recommendations. The book also includes a section on health literacy, equipping teens and young adults with practical tools and strategies for finding, evaluating, and using credible sources of health information both on and off the internet--important skills that contribute to a lifetime of healthy decision-making.

Developed by the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute to prevent and reverse high blood pressure, and approved by the Mayo Clinic and American Heart Association, the DASH Diet is a sensible low-sodium diet emphasizing fruits, vegetables and whole grains. The DASH Diet for Every Day will show you how to incorporate the DASH Diet your daily routine to help you get healthy and lose weight.

The text follows a standardized, easy-to-navigate structure, with each chapter exploring a particular facet of the topic. In addition to covering basics such as causes, signs and symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment options, books in this series delve into issues that are less commonly addressed but still critically important, such as effects on loved ones and caregivers. Case illustrations highlight key themes discussed in the book, accompanied by insightful analyses and recommendations.

Do you use food to comfort yourself during stressful times? The Intuitive Eating Workbook offers a comprehensive, evidence-based program to help you develop a healthy relationship with food, pay attention to cues of hunger and satisfaction, and cultivate a profound connection with your mind and body. If you are ready to throw in your hat and give up on dieting for good, take heart. You can enjoy food again--you just need to pay attention to your body's natural hunger cues. Based on the authors' best-selling book, Intuitive Eating, this workbook can show you how. The Intuitive Eating Workbook offers a new way of looking at food and mealtime by showing you how to recognize your body's natural hunger signals. Structured around the ten principles of intuitive eating, the mindful approach in this workbook encourages you to abandon unhealthy weight control behaviors, develop positive body image, and--most importantly--stop feeling distressed around food!

A road map to body acceptance and self-care for queer people of color, Decolonizing Wellness is filled with practical eating practices, journal prompts, affirmations, and mindfulness tools.

The prevalence of eating disorders such as anorexia and bulimia nervosa is growing, and these disorders are affecting adolescents and young adults at increasingly younger ages. This book covers the clinical features and symptoms, neurobiology, pathophysiology, and current and potential future treatment options for both anorexia and bulimia nervosa. It also highlights the important aspects of support for families and their perspectives on these disorders.

The book provides essential information on some of the promising edible medicinal plants and how these possess both nutritional as well as therapeutic value. The significance of the edible plants in traditional medicine and the importance of the distribution of their chemical constituents are discussed systematically concerning the role of these plants in ethnomedicine in different regions of the world. The current volume deals with the individual plants'phytochemical and pharmacological properties, emphasizing human health.

Addresses common features and etiological factors on how dietary and nutritional factors affect the eye. The ocular system is perhaps one of the least studied organs in diet and nutrition, yet the consequences of vision loss are devastating. There are a range of ocular defects that have either their origin in nutritional deficiencies/excess or have been shown to respond favorably to nutritional components. Featuring a new section on animal model studies where both the ocular problem and dietary remedies can be varied, there are also new chapters on dietary supplements. Serves as a foundational collection for neuroscience, neurology and nutrition researchers, illustrating the importance of nutrition and diet in eye health and function.

Provides the authority and expertise of leading contributors from an international board of authors Presents the latest release in the Advances in Food and Nutrition Research series Updated release includes the latest information on the Probiotic and Prebiotics in Foods: challenges, innovations and advances

This book covers technological aspects related to probiotics, not only in terms of delivery modes but also in terms of protection technologies. It includes discussions of their therapeutic and physiologic implications and benefits.

This book will reemphasize that Vitamin E is clearly required for human health and its inadequacy leads to increased risk of a variety of diseases. In addition new data of non-communicable diseases (NCD) dependent on vitamin E status show that a lifetime of low intake increases risks of development, severity and complications of NCDs. This text will put the vitamin E case into an up-to-date, science based, applicable real-life perspective and offer pragmatic solutions for its safe and personalized use beyond the various methodological and statistical controversies.

The book provides in-depth information to equip the reader in the provision of nutrition advice to minority groups. Spanning a broad range of cultural groups the book seeks to consider religious and cultural requirements in relation to traditional diets; research on migration studies and chronic disease states; and nutrition and dietetic treatment in relation to key chronic diseases.

Since its first, highly successful edition in 1996, The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Complete Food and Nutrition Guide has continually served as the gold-standard resource for advice on healthy eating and active living at every age and stage of life. At once accessible and authoritative, the guide effectively balances a practical focus with the latest scientific information, serving the needs of consumers and health professionals alike. Opting for flexibility over rigid dos and don'ts, it allows readers to personalize their own paths to healthier living through simple strategies. Newly updated Fifth Edition sections: Choices for Wellness; Food from Farm to Fork; Know Your Nutrients; Food for Every Age and Stage of Life; and Smart Eating to Prevent and Manage Health Issues.

This volume makes nutrition information accessible to dieticians, doctors, nurses, nutritionists, and other healthcare professionals by providing a practical, easily accessible, concise and up-to-date evidence-based guide in a user-friendly handbook. It covers the entire life cycle from preconception to old age.

The new edition of the Handbook of Nutrition and Food provides a reference guide for many of the issues on health and well being that are affected by nutrition. Completely revised, the third edition contains 20 new chapters, 50 percent new figures. A comprehensive resource, this book is a reference guide for many of the issues on health and well being that are affected by nutrition. Divided into five parts, the sections cover food, including its composition, constituents, labeling, and analysis; nutrition as a science, covering basic terminology, nutritional biochemistry, nutrition and genetics, food intake regulation, and micronutrients; nutrient needs throughout the human life cycle; assessment of nutrient intake adequacy; and clinical nutrition, from assessments to a wide variety of disease and health topics.

Consumer health information about dietary guidelines and eating plans for children, adults, and seniors, weight control, and related medical concerns. Provides basic consumer health information about federal dietary guidelines and food guidance system, portion sizes, healthy dietary supplements, and elements of good nutrition and its requirement through lifespan, the medical concerns, and healthy food choices, along with the importance of nutrition in weight management, a glossary of related terms, and a directory of nutrition support organizations and programs