Newspapers
Newspapers can provide a wealth of information about your family members, the communities and the historical events of the time period. UConn provides access to current and historical newspapers.
Newspaper Databases Available from UConn
- Historical Newspapers from ProQuest
Search for historical articles in a variety of major American and international newspapers published between 1764-2019. See more info for complete list of newspapers included.
- Newspapers through ProQuest
Cross search of 5 databases: the Hartford Courant (1992-present); Los Angeles Times (1985-present); New York Times (1997-present); Wall Street Journal (1982-present); and the Washington Post (1987-present).
- Early American Newspapers (1690-1922)
Scanned newspapers published between 1690 – 1922.
- African American Newspapers
Access to collection of African American newspapers covering cultural life and history during the 1800s and includes first-hand reports of the major events.
Connecticut News Databases
- Hartford Courant
Full text of the Hartford Courant from 1992 - present.
- Hartford Courant (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Full-text of the Hartford Courant from 1764-1998.
- Early American Newspapers (1690-1922)Early American Newspapers contains content from more than 50 Connecticut newspapers from the 1750s through the early 20th century. See the Browse Publications link and search for 'Connecticut' to see titles and time range (many titles have only a few issues in the database).
- FactivaInclude the region source code rst=usct in your search to search CT news sources
News Resources (Free)
- Advantage Preservation DirectoryCollection of Free Digital Resources (Newspapers, Yearbooks, City Directories) by local communities
- Brooklyn Daily Eagle Onlinecovers the period from October 26, 1841 to December 31, 1902, representing half of the Eagle's years of publication
- California Digital Newspaper CollectionFreely Accessible Repository of Digitized California Newspapers from 1846 to the Present
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspaperssearch and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present
- Elephind.comHistoric digitized newspaper archives from around the globe
- FultonHistory.com (Digital Newspapers)Search over 36,000 Historical Newspaper Pages from the USA & Canada
- Google Newspaper ArchiveSelected digitized historic newspapers online
- Newspaper Research Links from Ancestor Hunt1000's of free historical newspaper links
- Newspapers for Historical & Genealogical Researchfrom CT State Library
- Newspapers of Connecticut (Free)Substantial collections (i.e. over 100 issues) of free online Connecticut titles
