Reference Resources
The complete idiot's guide to genealogy by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781101597873Publication Date: 2012
Family History for the Older and Wiser by
Discover your roots with Family History for the Older and Wiser. This extremely easy-to-follow book will guide you through all the different stages of researching your family history online and how to record your findings. Using a case study approach, the book takes a single source item - an 1890 marriage certificate purchased at an antiques event - and uses it to highlight the questions you should be asking yourself about your own family documentation and how this can be used as a basis for online research. Learn how to: Access and investigate online records Use spreadsheets to record your findings and assess their validity and reliability Incorporate your family tree into online programs Share your research with friends and family and much more...
Call Number: Online (2010)ISBN: 9780470970171Publication Date: 2010-07-30
Genealogy by
The fun way to research your family history Genealogy For Dummies, 8th Edition covers everything you need to know about starting a genealogical research project--including where and how to find information, how to communicate with other online genealogists, how to leverage social networking sites and apps, how to add digital images to your family tree, and how to build your own site for sharing information. It also explains the use of compiled genealogies, U.S. Census information, and public access catalogs. Brand new to this edition is content on how to conduct genealogical research on the road, and on how to take this research and integrate it into the data found at home. It also contains new information on DNA research and testing, new geocoding applications to record geographic data into a genealogical database, and other new technologies. The book covers which apps are worth your money, and how to get the most out of them. Use the latest tools to research family history Create your own site to showcase your family tree, digital images, and compiled genealogies Get access to free versions of Legacy Family Tree and Personal Ancestral Files Utilize both online and offline research techniques and tools Follow the clues to uncover your family's legacy--and have fun along the way!
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781119411987Publication Date: 2017-06-20
How to Do Everything: Genealogy by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality,authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Discover your genealogy using the latest methods Thoroughly revised to cover new tools, techniques, and data, How to Do Everything: Genealogy, Fourth Edition uniquely addresses all the major genealogical record types and explains traditional and digital researchstrategies. Genealogy expert George G. Morgan shows you how to research your family history using the most current websites, mobile apps, social networking sites, record archives, census data, digital records, DNA research, and more. Discover your family's past with help from the new edition of this bestselling guide. Start an effective, well-organized genealogical research project Work with traditional, electronic, and genetic research Analyze and organize your family information Locate and access genealogy records in the U.S., U.K., Ireland, Canada, and Australia Place your ancestors in geographical and historical context Learn successful Internet search techniques Locate vital, civil registration, census, and church records Track down military, property, and immigration and naturalization records Access libraries, archives, and other repositories online Research and verify your ancestors using geneticgenealogy (DNA) Get past brick walls and dead ends Incorporate social networking into your research
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0071845925Publication Date: 2015-02-02
How to Write and Publish Your Family Story in Ten Easy Steps by
This easy-to-use reference book draws on successful professional experience writing and publishing family histories to create a universal method for novices and seasoned genealogists alike. Demystifying the process of writing and publishing a family history, this book guides future authors beyond their research using 10 basic steps to help them shape the story, develop a narrative, and establish characters. It also aids in writing biographies, constructing chapters, editing text, utilizing technology, and, ultimately, explains how to publish and promote the finished product so that it reaches the widest number of readers possible.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781742245607Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Red Book by Call Number: Free onlineISBN: 1593311664Publication Date: 2004-06-01General and specific information essential to researchers of American records. This revised 3rd edition provides updated county and town listings within the same overall state-by-state organization.
The Researcher's Guide to American Genealogy by Call Number: CS47 .G73 1990 (Waterbury)ISBN: 080631267XPublication Date: 1990
The Source by Call Number: Free onlineISBN: 1593312776Publication Date: 2006-06-01A guide to selecting, locating, and using appropriate primary and secondary resources, The Source also functions as an instructional tool for novice genealogists and a refresher course for experienced researchers.
Library Catalogs
- WorldCat.orgAccess to 1.3 billion items in more than 10,000 libraries worldwide.
- Library of CongressCatalog, US history, world culture, legislative information, online galleries, ask a librarian live.
eBooks
Alternate Roots by
In recent years, the media has attributed the surge of people eagerly studying family trees to the aging of baby boomers, a sense of mortality, a proliferation of internet genealogy sites, and a growing pride in ethnicity. New genealogy-themed television series and internet-driven genetic ancestry testing services have also flourished, capitalizing on this new popularity and on the mapping of the human genome. But what's really happening here, and what does this mean for sometimes volatile conceptions of race and ethnicity? In Alternate Roots, Christine Scodari engages with genealogical texts and practices, such as the classic television miniseries Roots, DNA testing for genetic ancestry, Ancestry.com, and genealogy-related television series, including those shows hosted by Henry Louis Gates Jr. She lays out how family historians can understand intersections and historical and ongoing relations of power related to the ethnicity, race, class, and/or gender of their ancestors as well as to members of other groups. Perspectives on hybridity and intersectionality make connections not only between and among identities, but also between local findings and broader contexts that might, given only cursory attention, seem tangential to chronicling a family history. Given the genealogy-related media institutions, tools, texts, practices, and technologies currently available, Scodari's study probes the viability of a critical genealogy based upon race, ethnicity, and intersectional identities. She delves into the implications of adoption, orientation, and migration while also investigating her own Italian and Italian American ancestry, examining the racial, ethnic experiences of her forebears and positioning them within larger contexts. Filling gaps in the research on genealogical media in relation to race and ethnicity, Scodari mobilizes cultural studies, media studies, and her own genealogical practices in a critical pursuit to interrogate key issues bound up in the creation of family history.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1496817788Publication Date: 2018-06-14
A Dictionary of British Place-Names by
This revised edition of the Dictionary of British Place-Names includes over 17,000 engaging and informative entries, tracing the development of the featured place-names from earliest times to the present day. Included place-names range from the familiar to the obscure, among them 'Beer','Findlater', 'Broadbottom', and 'Great Snoring'. The A to Z entries are complemented by a detailed introductory essay discussing the chronology and development of English, Irish, Welsh, and Scottish place-names, as well as an extensive bibliography, maps of Britain showing old and new boundaries,and a glossary of common elements in place-names. Also new to this edition is an appendix of recommended web links pointing to relevant online resources, thereby expanding the scope of the dictionary and providing the reader with an opportunity to explore the subject further. Both accessible and upto date, this dictionary is an ideal companion for anybody travelling around the British Isles, as well as for researchers and students with an interest in toponomy, local history, cartography, and lexicography.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780199609086Publication Date: 2011-11-14
Family Trees by
Americans' long and restless search for identity through family trees illuminates the story of America itself, according to François Weil, as preoccupation with social standing, racial purity, and national belonging gave way to an embrace of diversity in one's forebears, pursued through Ancestry.com and advances in DNA testing.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0674076346Publication Date: 2013-04-30
The Genealogical Sublime by
Since the early 2000s, genealogy has become a lucrative business, an accelerating online industry, a massive data mining project, and fodder for reality television. But the fact remains that our contemporary fascination with family history cannot be understood independently of the powerful technological tools that aid and abet in the search for traces of blood, belonging, and difference. In The Genealogical Sublime, Julia Creet traces the histories of the largest, longest-running, most lucrative, and most rapidly growing genealogical databases to delineate a broader history of the industry. As each unique case study reveals, new database and DNA technologies enable an obsessive completeness--the desire to gather all of the world's genealogical records in the interests of life beyond death. Archival research and firsthand interviews with Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints officials, key industry players (including Ancestry.com founders and Family Search executives), and professional and amateur family historians round out this timely and essential study.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1625344805Publication Date: 2020-01-17
The Psychology of Family History by
This important book examines the motives that drive family historians and explores whether those who research their ancestral pedigrees have distinct personalities, demographics or family characteristics. It describes genealogists' experiences as they chart their family trees including their insights, dilemmas and the fascinating, sometimes disturbing and often surprising, outcomes of their searches. Drawing on theory and research from psychology and other humanities disciplines, as well as from the authors' extensive survey data collected from over 800 amateur genealogists, the authors present the experiences of family historians, including personal insights, relationship changes, mental health benefits, and ethical dilemmas. The book emphasizes the motivation behind this exploration, including the need to acknowledge and tell ancestral stories, the spiritual and health-related aspects of genealogical research, the addictiveness of the detective work, the lifelong learning opportunities, and the passionate desire to find lost relatives. By focusing on the role of family history in shaping personal identity and contemporary culture, this is fascinating reading for anyone studying genealogy and family history, professional genealogists, and those researching their own history.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780367820428Publication Date: 2020-10-25
