Topic: Researching Your Family History — Connecticut Resources

Connecticut State Library (CSL)
https://ctstatelibrary.org/

Connecticut State Library card: (available to  UConn Students, Connecticut Residents, CT State Employees)

https://ctstatelibrary.org/about/library-card/

Research Databases Available Through the Connecticut State Library that are remotely accessible with a CSL Library card

Here is a selected list of database titles that may be of interest to historians and genealogists: 

• American Indian History Online
• American Periodicals (also available from UConn)
• Archive Finder
• Encyclopedia of American Immigration (e-book)
• CT State Library Collections on Ancestry.com (create a free ancestry.com account for access)
  Selected U.S. Federal Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880
  U.S. Federal Census - 1880 Schedules of Defective, Dependent, and Delinquent Classes
  Connecticut, Passport and Birth Certificates, 1852-1928
  Connecticut, Military Census, 1917
  Hartford, Connecticut Probate Records, 1639-1700
• Fold3:  Searchable original, historical documents. Great source for military records. 
• Hartford Courant (also available from UConn)
• Heritage Quest 
• Milestone Documents in American History (e-book)
• Sanborn Maps for Connecticut

Other CSL databases that are freely available:

WPA Architectural Survey

Connecticut History Illustrated (CHI) 

CHI brings together the Connecticut history-related digital resources of libraries, archives, museums, galleries, historical societies and other cultural heritage institutions in Connecticut. It contains material as varied as the history of the state, from documents to images, from maps to audio and video covering the entire spectrum of work, play, and life in Connecticut.

Family History Centers are branch facilities of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.  Centers provide access to resources to the Family History Library in Utah and help patrons with research on their ancestors.