HeritageQuest Online (FREE with a CT State Library Card)
Connecticut provides access to Heritage Quest to everyone with a Connecticut State Library card.
HeritageQuest Online includes:
- Census: Find ancestors in the complete set of U.S. Federal Census images from 1790-1940, including name indexes for many years
- Books - Find information on people and places described in over 23,000 family and local histories
- Revolutionary War - Search selected records from the Revolutionary War Era Pension & Bounty-Land Warrant Application Files
- Freedman's Bank - Search for individuals in Freedman's Bank (1865-1874), which was founded to serve African Americans
- U.S. Serial Set - Search the Memorials, Petitions, and Private Relief Actions of the U.S. Congress in the LexisNexis U.S Serial Set
- Cemeteries - findagrave.com index
- City Directories
- Military Records
- Immigration and Naturalization Records
- SSDI (Social Security Death Index)
- Map and Photo Collection
- Wills and Probate Records
- Public Records
- CT State Library CardUConn students can obtain a CT State Library card by including a scan of the UConn student ID with the application
- HeritageQuest onlineFree with a Connecticut State Library Card
Databases
- Create a FREE ancestry.com accountAccess selected FREE collections on ancestry.com provided by the CT State Library
- Ancestry.com $Create a free ancestry.com to access selected Free collections. Some collections are FREE with a CT public or state library card
- Ancestry.com CT State Library Collections Connecticut, Passport and Birth Certificates, 1852-1928 Connecticut, Military Census, 1917 Connecticut, Military Questionnaires, 1919-1920 Connecticut, Wills and Probate Records, 1609-1999 Connecticut, Hale Cemetery Inscriptions, 1629-1934 Connecticut, School Age Certificates, 1904-1911 Connecticut, Church Record Abstracts, 1630-1920 Hartford, Connecticut Probate Records, 1639-1700 Selected U.S. Federal Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880 U.S. Federal Census - 1880 Schedules of Defective, Dependent, and Delinquent Classes U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885
- FamilySearch.orgCreate a free account to have access to more content
Help Using Genealogy Databases
Some libraries have Ancestry Library Edition (ALE) available for free when you visit their facilities. What is the difference between ALE and ancestry.com? ALE does NOT include member trees, DNA, hint leaves.....
Check with your local library to see if ALE is offered.
