LibGuides: MKTG 3370: Global Marketing Strategy: South Africa

Country Report

Political Risk Yearbook : South Africa
The article presents a forecast of the political risks in South Africa as of September 2014. Topics covered include the changes brought forth by a Cabinet reshuffle, the installation of market advocate Cyril Ramaphosa as deputy president, and the anticipated shaft closures and job cuts needed to restore the mining industry's financial health. Also mentioned are the victory of the African National Congress (ANC) and the very high unemployment rate.

Recommended Online Sources of International Legal Information For South Africa

Consumers International: South Africa topics
Organization dedicated to promoting ethical treatment of consumers worldwide.
Encycogov: Encyclopedia of Corporate Governance
Encycogov is an interactive encyclopedia about corporate governance and financial issues. It contains a broad base of information about international law and the legal systems of the countries of the world.
Library of Congress Guide to Law Online: South Africa
Resources from the Law Library of Congress.
U.S. Patent Office: Intellectual Property Toolkits
The U.S. Patent office provides toolkits on how to protect your intellectual property in a variety of other countries.
United Nations: International Law
Provides an overview of international law, including treaties and organizations.
World Trade Organization: Trade topics for South Africa
The World Trade Organization (of which the U.S. is a signatory) monitors and regulates international trade. They have many resources on the legality of a variety of trade practices, and many resources on intellectual property.

Recommended Online Sources of International Market Information

Export.gov
Export.gov brings together resources from across the U.S. Government to assist American businesses in planning their international sales strategies and succeed in today’s global marketplace. Includes market research trade leads, export finance and more.
FITA: International Market Research
From the Federation of International Trade Associations, this site includes country-specific market research and more.
International Trade Administration
An agency of the U.S. Government, this site provides resources to strengthen the competitiveness of U.S. industry, promote trade and investment, and ensure fair trade through the rigorous enforcement of our trade laws and agreements.

Recommended Online Sources of International Economic/Financial Information

OECD: South Africa
The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) provides a setting where governments compare policy experiences, seek answers to common problems, identify good practice and coordinate domestic and international policies. The site includes economic, financial and societal information and much more.
The International Monetary Fund
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 187 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world. The site includes country information and global financial analysis.
The World Bank: South Africa
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. As a part of its mission, it gathers and makes available international demographic, economic and statistical information.
The World Factbook: South Africa
Compiled by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency, The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Transparency International
Provides information on worldwide economic corruption, including the Transparency Index, which ranks 180 countries according to their perceived levels of corruption.
U.S. Census Bureau: International Data Base
U.S. Bureau of the Census offers summary demographic information for 227 countries and areas of the world. Easy-to-use menus provide the most up-to-date country demographics along with projections.

Recommended Online Sources of Cultural Information

BBC News Country Profile
Produced by the BBC, these reports focus on politics and media outlets in the countries they survey.
CIA World Factbook
A good source of information on history, geography, economics, communications and more on all the countries of the world, including color maps.
Cyborlink: Business Etiquette
Online Source for business etiquette. Scroll down to click on the links for each country.
Embassy.org
This is a list of all the embassies in Washington and contains links to their websites.
Export.gov
Export.gov brings together resources from across the U.S. Government to assist American business in planning their international sales strategies and succeed in today's global marketplace. Includes market research trade leads, export finance and more.
Global Edge
Michigan State University's website for business etiquette and cultural background information.
Library of Congress Country Stuides
Background historical information from the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress.

Cultural Resources on YouTube

There are many videos on the culture in South Africa available on YouTube. Search for South Africa and culture (or South African culture), for example, to see video discussions on that topic. Always be sure to evaluate online resources according to the criteria on the Evaluating Resources page in this guide to make sure they are accurate and authoritative!

(You're watching "Financially Speaking - Savings Culture in South Africa Part 1," a event on ABNdigital produced during national savings month (July) in South Africa.)

International Marketing on YouTube

YouTube has many videos on international market research. Search for the country and product you're working on to see video discussions on that topic. Always be sure to evaluate online resources according to the criteria on the Evaluating Resources page in this guide to make sure they are accurate and authoritative!

(You're watching "Africa: The Next Success Story?" from Euromonitor.)

Economic Analysis on YouTube

YouTube has many videos on the economy in South Africa. Search for a South Africa and economics (or South African economy), for example, to see video discussions on that topic. Always be sure to evaluate online resources according to the criteria on the Evaluating Resources page in this guide to make sure they are accurate and authoritative!

(You're watching a segment on the South African economy from Standard & Poor's CreditMatters program in which Director Michela Bariletti discusses their methodology for assessing the credit quality of three South African Infrastructure companies and the main factors affecting their ratings.)

MKTG 3370: Global Marketing Strategy — South Africa