LibGuides: Asian American Studies Subject Guide: Asian Diasporas Online

Diaspora Groups' Online Resources (Websites, Archives, Reports)

AAPI Data
Includes fact sheets on Asian Americans (2015),QuickStats, and Reports and Academic Studies
Asian-Nation: History, Demographic, Issues
Information resource and sociological exploration of the historical, demographic, political, and cultural issues that make up today's diverse Asian American community.
Asian American Data Links (Census)
Asian American Primary Sources (Princeton University)
Princeton University, Asian American Studies: Primary Sources
Asian American Studies Guide at University of Southern California
An excellent guide to many useful links to archival collections (traditional and online) worth checking out!
Asian Population: 2010
Census Brief
Digital History: Asian Voices
Includes links about racism, immigration, legislation and more.
Internet Resources for Asians in the Americas from Florida International University
Links to online sites for mainly Chinese and Japanese Diaspora information
Library of Congress Digital Collection: Asian America
Includes links to videos, blogs, and more
The Rise of Asian Americans
Report from the Pew Research Center that includes profiles and statistics of all ethnic groups under the umbrella term "Asian American". Published in 2012.
SEAAdoc (Documenting the South Asian Experience in the United States)
SEAAdoc is an educational resource of the Southeast Asian Archive at the UC Irvine Libraries focusing on post-1975 refugees and immigrants from Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam and the communities they have developed in the United States.
The South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA)
The South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA) was founded in 2008 in order to document and provide access to the diverse and relatively unknown stories of South Asian Americans. Our collection reflects the vast range of experiences of the South Asian diaspora in the United States, including those who trace their heritage to Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and the many South Asian diaspora communities across the globe.
South Asia Open Archive (JSTOR)
Open access resource for research and teaching - a rich and growing curated collection of key historical and contemporary sources in arts, humanities and social sciences, from and about South Asia, in English and other languages. Contains hundreds of thousands of pages of books, serials, newspapers, census data, and documents, focusing on social & economic history, literature, women & gender, and caste & social structure.

Chinese Historical Society of America
The Chinese Historical Society of America Museum is the oldest organization in the country dedicated to the interpretation, promotion, and preservation of the social, cultural and political history and contributions of the Chinese in America.
Chinese Historical Society of Southern California
The Chinese Historical Society of Southern California was organized in November 1975 with the purpose to document the history of the presence and contributions of Chinese Americans in Southern California.
Chinese Historical Society of Southern California Collection, ca.1880-1933 (USC Digital Library)
This is a selection of materials from this collection that was digitized and made available by University of Southern California.
Chinese in California
Guide to the Chinese in California Virtual Collection
NARA--Chinese Boycott
Affidavit and Flyers from the Chinese Boycott Case
Repeal of the Chinese Exclusion Act, 1943
Article explaining this law that Congress passed in 1943 to repeal the discriminatory exclusion laws against Chinese immigrants and to establish an immigration quota for China of around 105 visas per year.
U.S. State Department--Office of the Historian: Chinese Immigration
Chinese Immigration and the Chinese Exclusion Acts

Brief Historical Overview of Japanese Emigration, 1868-1998
Brief history of the Japanese worldwide emigration.
International Nikkei Research Project
The International Nikkei Research Project is a collaborative three-year research project that focuses on the evolution of Nikkei cultures and societies. The research will be conducted in collaboration with scholars of all nationalities around the world whose past and current research focuses on the Nikkei experiences in a global, national and regional context.
The Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement Digital Archive
The digital archive allows users to explore these primary source materials and connects them to related resources. As one of the Bancroft Library's most heavily used collections, this project ensures the long-term preservation of the original materials while providing unprecedented access through a central portal.
Japanese American Museum
Welcome to the Japanese American National Museum’s Collections Online featuring selected highlights from our permanent collection of over 60,000 unique artifacts, documents, and photographs.
Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project
Densho's mission is to preserve the testimonies of Japanese Americans who were unjustly incarcerated during World War II before their memories are extinguished. We offer these irreplaceable firsthand accounts, coupled with historical images and teacher resources, to explore principles of democracy and promote equal justice for all.
USC Digital Library: Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive, 1941-1946
NARA: Japanese American Experience
Japanese American Life Before and During Internment
Japanese Relocation During World War II
Documents and Photographs Related to Japanese Relocation During World War II

Indian Immigration in the U.S. (Migration & Policy Institute)
Includes survey results of the opinions of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders.
5 Facts About Indian Americans
Small report from the Pew Research Center
The Indian Diaspora
Reports on the Indian diaspora worldwide including the United States.

Dr. Kwang Lim and Dr. Hesung Chun Koh and the Korean Diaspora in Boston, 1950-1964 (Joint project of the C.G.C.M. and East Rock Institute)
This online resource is a result of a joint project between the Center for Global Christianity and Mission at Boston University (CGCM) and East Rock Institute (ERI) in New Haven, CT.
Korean American Historical Society
Founded in 1985, Korean American Historical Society (KAHS) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to enriching the collective memory of Korean Americans through collecting, maintaining, and transmitting the heritage and achievements of Koreans living in the United States and abroad.

Vietnamese American Heritage Project
Created in 2008, the Vietnamese American Heritage Project (VAHP) supports the Vietnam Archive’s mission to document the war from all perspectives by providing documentation of the post-war social and political history of Vietnamese Americans who immigrated to the United States during and after the Vietnam conflict.
The Vietnam Archive at the the Vietnam Center and Archive at Texas Tech University
The Vietnam Archive currently has over 550,000 items (over 4 million pages) available online in a digital format. Types of materials digitized include documents and manuscripts, still and moving images, audio recordings, oral histories, maps, artifacts, and more.

Asian American Studies Subject Guide — Asian Diasporas Online

Diaspora Groups' Online Resources (Websites, Archives, Reports)