Start Here!
This course page offers you library, archival and online resources to help you with your class assignment!
You could use keywords such as:
- "Cold War" Art Cambodia or "Cold War" Propaganda Art
- Depending on your topic try different keywords
Check out the tabs, How to Pick a Topic or Finding Books, Articles and Videos for more tips!
- Academic Search PremierIncludes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- JSTORScholarly journals in many academic fields, especially arts, literature, humanities, and biology.
- Political Science CompleteIndexes of more than 1700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including comparative politics, international relations, public policy and law.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)Includes scholarly articles, papers from university research institutes and non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and conference proceedings on international affairs.
- Google ScholarHaving trouble finding articles? Try Google Scholar! Scholarly articles, books, theses on a variety of topics through Google interface. Links to full-text in UConn Library where available. Also links to "Library Search" to find books. Use Interlibrary Loan to request books not at UConn.
Art and Propaganda
- Interpreting Propaganda PostersGreat article on how to analyze propaganda posters!
- Art Against Empire: Graphic Response to US Interventions since World War II Exhibition Guide
From the Center for the Study of Political Graphics - The Art of Politics: Propaganda as Aesthetic?Article from the Brown Political Review, written by Anna Corradi | March 11, 2017
- Art and Propaganda by Evonne LevyIntroductory essay and citations about the relationship of art and propaganda from Oxfords Bibliographies
Genocide and Art
Bangsokol: A Requiem for Cambodia is an extraordinary new composition fusing music, film, voice and movement. It is the first major symphonic work that addresses the traumas that occurred in Cambodia in the late seventies, and is the first collaboration between the Oscar-nominated director Rithy Panh and lauded composer Him Sophy — both survivors of the Khmer Rouge and now at the forefront of Cambodia’s cultural renaissance. Anchored in “bangsokol” — a ritual for the dead or soon to be deceased — the performance intertwines traditional Khmer instruments with The Metropolis Ensemble orchestra and the Taipei Philharmonic Chamber Choir. All together, they create something innately Cambodian but relatable to audiences everywhere.
Arts Resources
- Asian Art at the Princeton UniversitySelections from the Princeton University Art Museum's collection of more than 6,000 works of Asian art are presented alongside ongoing curatorial and scholarly research.
- Grove Art OnlineIncludes articles on every aspect of the visual arts (painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography) from prehistory to the present.
- Art Abstracts & Art Index RetrospectiveIncludes article abstracts in periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins relating to architecture, art history, films, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, photography, and related fields.
- Bibliography of the History of ArtIncludes articles from over 1,200 journals from 1975-2007 related to the history of western art. Includes both the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and the Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA).
- RhizomeIncludes digital art works and new media art-related articles.
- ArtsyThe art world online
- Public art dialogue-JournalPublic Art Dialogue serves as a forum for critical discourse and commentary about the practice of public art defined as broadly as possible to include: memorials, object art, murals, urban and landscape design projects, social interventions, performance art, and web-based work.
