Literature, Cultures, and Language Subjects Guide — Italian Resources

Over 30,000 biographies available online; with its more than thirty thousand profiles, all published online, it traces a collective biography of Italians who have contributed to the artistic, political, scientific, religious, literary and economic history since the fall of the Western Roman Empire to the present. Conceived in 1925, it began publishing in 1961 and without interruption reached the 92nd volume on the 100 expected.

Encyclopaedia of Science, Letters, and Arts”), major encyclopaedia of Italy, containing 35 volumes of text and a one-volume index. Work on the encyclopaedia began in 1925 and the volumes were published serially from 1929 to 1936; appendixes have been published covering the years from 1937 to 1960.
The Enciclopedia italiana contains many excellent lengthy articles, usually signed with the initials of their authors, and thousands of illustrations.

The Corriere della Sera is an Italian daily newspaper published in Milan. First published on 5 March 1876, Corriere della Sera is one of Italy's oldest newspapers.

RAI – Radiotelevisione italiana S.p.A.; commercially styled Rai; known until 1954 as Radio Audizioni Italiane is the national public broadcasting company of Italy, owned by the Ministry of Economy and Finance. RAI operates many terrestrial and subscription television channels and radio stations.

Digital Collections of Central National Library in Florence

This first substantial history of Italian literature to appear in the English language for forty years provides a comprehensive survey of Italian writing from its earliest origins up to the present day. Leading scholars describe and assess the work of writers who have contributed to the Italian literary tradition, including Dante, Petrarch and Boccaccio, the Renaissance humanists, Machiavelli, Ariosto and Tasso, pioneers and practitioners of commedia dell'arte and opera, and the contemporary novelists Calvino and Eco.

Extensive full-text e-library for Italian literature (out of copyright). Accessible by visually impaired people.

A customizable, digital workspace for scholarly analysis of Dante Alighieri’s Divine Comedy

One of the best and most affordable programs for summer study or semester abroad

Part of the ARTFL Project, a database that contains 1960 vernacular texts (22.3 million words, 456,000 unique forms) the majority of which are dated prior to 1375, the year of Boccaccio's death. The verse and prose works include early masters of Italian literature like Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio, as well as lesser-known and obscure texts by poets, merchants, and medieval chroniclers. The OVI database was created to aid in the compilation of an historical dictionary of the Italian language, the Tesoro della lingua italiana delle origini, (portions of which are now available online). The fully-searchable ItalNet implementation of the OVI database presented here has been produced in order to enable scholars around the world to benefit from this rich textual resource.

Historical-normative dictionary of the "common tongue" (Crusca) that aims to perpetuate the language used by the three canonical authors of the XIV century, Dante, Petrarca and Boccaccio. When entering the dictionary, scroll down the main page and read the "Guida alla consultazione" for a better use of this source.

"Aims to record the entire production of Italian history pertaining to the period (1550-1800) over the last 150 years, roughly the time that scholars have worked from archives."
1) General and Historiography
2) Travel and Historical Geography
3) Politics & Administration
4) Economics and Demography
5) Social Stratification & Behavioural Studies
6) Religious History
7) Language Arts and Erudition
8) Music and Spectacle
9) Beaux-Arts and Architecture
10) History of Science.

Analyses, Publication schedules, indexing of Italian Studies journals published in the world since 2000. Abstract for each article. Search by authors and titles, by keywords, by names of newspapers, by collaborators. Biographical profiles of periodicals and summary description of each issue.