LibGuides: Literature, Cultures, and Language Subjects Guide: Classics Resources

Classics

General Search
Items (books, articles, videos) in UConn Collections

HathiTrust Digital Library
Search the full text of over 10 million volumes digitized primarily from research libraries covering all academic disciplines. View scanned pages of public domain and open access titles, or snippets from copyrighted material.
WorldCat
Catalog of books, journals, DVDs, CDs, scores, and sound recordings from over 9,000 libraries. 40 million records representing 400 languages. Covers information back to the 11th Century, and includes items at the UConn Library. With "reqeust item" tab to order items through Interlibrary Services

Perseus Collection Greek and Roman Materials
Primary and secondary sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome
Perseus Project Texts Loaded under PhiloLogic
Aims to offer exploration of the texts through a panoply of corpus queries

Oxford Scholarship Online
Includes ebooks in various subject areas published by Oxford University Press.
New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World
Online access to the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996.

Migne - Patrologia Graeca et Cetera Graeca Scripta
PDFs of all texts in the print version of Migne - Patrologia Graeca et Cetera Graeca Scripta
Migne, Patriologia Latina-
PDFs of all texts in the print version of Migne, Patrologia Latina

Abridged Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Provides searching and browsing of a smaller selection of TLG® texts with all the features of the TLG® search engine. Visitors may browse and search the materials of this site, downloading, however, is not allowed. Provides access to authors such as Homer, Hesiod, Plato, Aristotle, the Greek tragedians and orators that have traditionally been used in college level instruction of Greek. In addition it includes a large number of patristic texts.

Access is free but users must create an account and login to the Abridged version.
Allen and Greenough's New Latin Grammar for Schools and Colleges J. B. Greenough, G. L. Kittredge, A. A. Howard, Benj. L. D'Ooge, Ed., Ginn and Company, 1903.
Herbert Weir Smyth, A Greek Grammar for Colleges American Book Company, 1920.
Latin/Greek Institute Graduate Center, CUNY
Summer immersion program in New York City--by far the best way to learn Greek or Latin
Logeion
Provides simultaneous lookup of entries in the many reference works that make up the Perseus Classical collection.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Canon of Greek Authors and Works
A searchable database and a bibliographic guide to the authors and works included in the TLG® Digital Library. It provides biographical information about each author (i.e. date by century and epithets that identify the place of birth or literary activity and the genre each author is associated with). Requires registration to search.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Lexica
Liddell-Scott-Jones (LSJ)
Cunliffe's Lexicon of the Homeric Dialect
Powell's Lexicon to Herodotus
Lexikon zur Byzantinischen Gräzität (LBG)
Charlton T. Lewis, Charles Short, A Latin Dictionary

Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics
Full text of Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics featuring essays on literature covering the Old English and the Victorian novel and the classics (ancient civilization of Greece and Rome).
Annee philologique, L'

Offers access to the scholarship studying ancient Greek and Roman civilizations, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science.
Loeb Classical Library
Online access to the Loeb Library series of Greek and Latin texts, along with their English translations covering drama, poetry, literature, history, biography, travel, and philosophy.

Archäologische Bibliographie ZENON-DAI
Bibliographical database for classical archaeology.

Cambridge Histories Online
Full text of various Cambridge Histories covering American and world history; economic history and the history of science; linguistics; music & theatre studies; philosophy; anthropology and political thought.
Annee philologique, L'

Offers access to the scholarship studying ancient Greek and Roman civilizations, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science.

Persée
Persee.fr offers free and open access to complete collections of scholarly publications (journals, books, conference proceedings, serials, primary sources, etc.) associated with a range of research and exploitation tools.

Annee philologique, L'

Offers access to the scholarship studying ancient Greek and Roman civilizations, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science.

Perseus Digital Library Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser
Look through a massive library of art objects, sites, and buildings. The library's catalogs document 1305 coins, 1909 vases, 2003 sculptures, 179 sites, 140 gems, and 424 buildings. Each catalog entry has a description of the object and its context; most have images. Descriptions and images have been produced in collaboration with many museums, institutions, and scholars. Catalog information and keywords have been taken from standard sources, which are cited in the entries for each object.
Paulys Realencyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft
At Wikisource

JSTOR
Scholarly journals in many academic fields, especially arts, literature, humanities, and biology.
Project MUSE
Full text access to journals and ebooks in classics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, religion, and visual and performing arts.
Annee philologique, L'

Offers access to the scholarship studying ancient Greek and Roman civilizations, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science.

Literature, Cultures, and Language Subjects Guide — Classics Resources

Classics