LibGuides: Topic: Systematic Searching for Evidence Synthesis: Selecting Databases to Search

Which Databases Should I Search?

In evidence synthesis, you're trying to be as comprehensive as possible. That means searching in more than one place. You'll want to search, at a minimum, three scholarly databases. Whatever number you choose, you should include:

Major databases in your discipline
Related subject databases
One large "kitchen sink" interdisciplinary database, such as Scopus

For example, subject databases for a research question in educational psychology might include APA PsycInfo and ERIC. For a research question related to exercise for stress reduction, you might consult PubMed, APA PsycInfo, CINAHL, and SPORTDiscus. These are suggestions, and are not intended to be comprehensive lists for these hypothetical research questions.

A-Z Database List
See all of the library's research databases in alphabetical order. You can use the drop-downs to narrow the list by subject or use the search box to locate a specific database.

Beyond Scholarly Databases

Scholarly databases are essential, but they're not the only place to look. A typical systematic search would also include forward and backward citation chasing for your seed articles, i.e., the ones you know will be included and that you are probably using to test the thoroughness of your search strategies. Citation chasing is also recommended for all your included studies after screening. You'll also want to search for grey literature on your research question. Grey literature is information produced outside of the traditional scholarly publishing landscape.