Topic: Systematic Searching for Evidence Synthesis

SPORTDiscus is an important database for sports, fitness, and related disciplines. Our access to this database is on a searching platform called EBSCOhost. On this platform, you use the the drop-down menus next to each search box to tell SPORTDiscus where in the information about the source (the database record) you want it to search. This page covers many essential aspects of constructing a systematic search in SPORTDiscus on EBSCOhost.

SPORTDiscus, like many research databases, has its own controlled vocabulary, or standardized language, that it uses to label sources. The controlled vocabulary in SPORTDiscus is called the Thesaurus. The Thesaurus, like other controlled vocabularies, is a hierarchy of terms. Generally, the most narrow possible relevant term in the hierarchy is assigned to a reference.

In the database records, these terms are displayed in the Subject Terms field. You can do a keyword search in the Subject Terms field or have SPORTDiscus execute an exact match search. See Designing a Systematic Search in SPORTDiscus further down this page for both options.

To search the Thesaurus for your topic:

1. Select the Thesaurus in the top navigation bar.

2. Type a word or phrase expressing just one idea in the Browsing box, then choose Relevancy Ranked before you use the Browse button.

3. Click on the term that seems the closest match for your topic to see more details about it. If SPORTDiscus prefers a different term than you searched (in this example, aerobic exercises, a plural form, vs. aerobic exercise, a singular form), it will tell you to Use that controlled vocabulary term instead.

SPORTDiscus is not a particularly good guesser, so it defaults to showing the Thesaurus alphabetically if it doesn't recognize the word or phrase you search. Try various forms of the word, or other related terms. In the examples below, HIIT finds nothing, but high intensity interval training does find a match.

4. Entries in the Thesaurus provide some information about the term. They may, but don't always, include include a scope note defining the term. It will show where it falls in the hierarchical tree. This includes broader and narrower terms, as well as ones from other parts of the tree that may be of interest (Related Terms). Words or phrases for which the term you're viewing is preferred can be found at the bottom of the entry under Used for. You can incorporate those alternative terms as keywords in your search to ensure you capture as many potentially relevant results as possible.

Truncation

Truncation is searching for any ending of a word. In SPORTDiscus, use an * (asterisk) to replace one or more characters at the end of a string of letters. For example, mindful* finds mindful or mindfulness.

Wildcards

Wildcards can replace one or more characters. SPORTDiscus offers three different wildcard options.

* (asterisk): In addition to truncation, the * can be used within a word to find multiple characters. For example, hea*one finds headphone, headstone, or hearthstone.

# (hash or pound sign): The # can be used for words where an alternate spelling may have one extra character. For example, p#edatric finds pediatric or paediatric.

? (question mark): The ? replaces only one unknown character in a word. For example, ne?t finds neat, nest, or next. The ? can't be used at the end of a string of characters; for that, use the * to truncate.

Single Words

In SPORTDiscus and other databases on the EBSCOhost platform, a single word should be enclosed in quotation marks to avoid the database automatically searching for plural, possessive, and some other forms. For example, teach will search for teach OR teaches. "teach" searches only that exact string of characters. 

Phrase Searching

SPORTDiscus requires you to use quotation marks around phrases to ensure the words are searched next to each other in that exact order. For example, if you're interested in low back pain, you need to search for "low back pain" if you want that to be the exact phrase found in your results. You can use truncation and other special characters inside the quotation marks, so you can also try "low* back pain" to ensure you get articles about lower back pain.

Proximity Searching

In proximity or adjacency searching, you can tell the database to look for words near each other in a variety of ways. It's essential when you do this type of searching that you use parentheses to group terms accurately!

Near, which uses the letter N, is one proximity operator. Near finds words if they are a maximum of a certain number of words apart from one another, regardless of the order in which they appear. You decide the number. For example, teaching N3 strateg* will find results that have a maximum of three words between the beginning and ending terms. You'll find results that mention teaching strategy, teaching strategies, or strategies often used for teaching. Note that you can use truncation and other syntax when employing proximity searching. That means you could also try something like mindfulness N5 "classroom management" or even, using parentheses to properly group your keywords, mindfulness N5 (anxiety OR depression).

Within, which uses the letter W, finds words if they are within a certain number of words of one another, in the order in which you entered them. For example, class* W2 manag* would find classroom management, classroom must be managed, but not managing your class.

You don't have to do proximity searching! But it can save you a lot of typing and create cleaner searches that are easier to read.

Some helpful terminology here: a database includes many records. Each record is a collection of information about a single item, such as an article. Records are made up of fields, sections of the record that provides a specific piece of information about the item described (the title, the author, the abstract, etc.). Which fields interest you, and how they're searched, varies from database to database. Field codes, like AB and KW, tell the database which fields to search, and how to do so.

In SPORTDiscus, you'll likely want to search the following fields:

For your keywords or free text terms:

• Abstract (or AB) searches the abstract summaries
• Keywords (or KW) searches in the author-supplied keywords
• Title (or TI) searches in the document title

For controlled vocabulary terms from the Thesaurus, there are two approaches: a simpler but less exact strategy, and a complex but more systematic approach. They use different field codes, even though both search the Subjects field.

Option 1: If you've incorporated all the relevant controlled vocabulary you found into your keyword search strings, you can use the SU field code to perform a search within the Subject Terms field that operates like a keyword search. If it finds one of the words in any Thesaurus term, not just the ones you identified in your Thesaurus searches, it will return results that match. This means the search will be less precise, leading to more "noise," or irrelevant search results. This option is demonstrated first below.

Option 2: For a more systematic approach, which looks only for the exact controlled vocabulary terms you choose, you would leave out the Subjects (SU) line in the image below and construct the search for those terms in the Thesaurus itself. That's demonstrated next.

In general, your best strategy in any database is to set up each main idea as a single search string in each desired field, then combine those main idea searches with AND. If you're using Option 1, you need a fourth search box to include the Subjects (SU) field, so click the plus sign below the Search button to add a row. Then compose your search like this, using the exact same search statement (this OR this OR this) in each row.

After you've completed all your main idea searches, go to the Search History link (directly under the search boxes in the image above) and combine all the main ideas using AND.

Option 2:

For this approach, you'll still execute a keyword or free text search as shown above, but only for the TI, AB, and KW fields. You'll build a separate search for controlled vocabulary for each concept within the Thesaurus. Then you'll combine your TI/AB/KW search and Thesaurus search for that concept together using OR. Once that's complete, you'll use AND to combine your main ideas.

In the Thesaurus, locate the terms you'd like to include in your controlled vocabulary search. To select a term, check the box to the left of it. To include narrower terms, you can check the box under the column labeled Explode. Keep in mind you only get one layer of narrower terms. In the image below, your search will look for Yoga OR any of the narrower terms visible below it in that Thesaurus entry. There's no way to see from this screen whether or not there are narrower terms below those, so you'd need to click each term individually to check and add narrower terms.

The SPORTDiscus Thesaurus also doesn't show you if there are narrower terms beneath Related Terms. The hierarchical tree in SPORTDiscus can have quite an unexpected structure, so you should be doing a lot of investigation for relevant Related Terms or narrower terms of those Related Terms before you finalize constructing your controlled vocabulary search. In the image below, some Related Terms have been checked to add to the search, but again, you'd need to click through to be sure there aren't additional useful terms narrower than those.

Luckily, you can continuing checking boxes -- selecting terms and how you want them to be searched -- until you've checked all the controlled vocabulary you want to include. Below is an example of YOGA techniques, a Related Term that includes a narrower term (included because I've now checked Explode). I found another Related Term I like, PRANAYAMA, and added it. I'd click on PRANAYAMA, too, to be sure there aren't more possible terms beneath it. It's clear that terms are banking as I select them, since YOGA is already checked in the Related Terms section.

When you've selected all terms that interest you, tap the Add button to add all the terms to the search box with OR between them. All the field codes will be applied automatically by the Thesaurus.

This is what a Thesaurus-constructed controlled vocabulary search looks like in SPORTDiscus.

Once this search is complete, you can combine it with the matching keyword search (TI/AB/KW) using OR.

Finally, you'll combine your main idea searches with AND as in Option 1.

To export all results from an SPORTDiscus search, up to 25,000 citations, tap the Share button at the top right of your search results. At the bottom of the pop-up box, choose the link under Export results.

Leaving the Email from box as is, enter your email in the Email to box. Under E-mail a link to a file with citations in: choose RIS Format. Then tap the Send button.

Shortly you'll receive an email containing a link to a zip file. When you download and extract the zip file, the RIS file will be inside. You can import the RIS file into the citation management tool of your choice.

To view your search history during a SPORTDiscus session, select Search History under the search boxes.

On the Search History/Alerts page, choose Print Search History.

Once it's displayed for printing, you can copy the text on the page and paste it into a document or spreadsheet. It may require some cleaning up to be conveniently readable.