LibGuides: Puerto Rican Studies Subject Guide: Finding Material on Microform

Microform Collections are located on Level B of the Babbidge Library. These collections consist of microfilm (reels) and microfiche (sheets). They are grouped by format and arranged alphabetically by collection title in the microform cabinets. Microform collections are research materials that cannot be checked out from the library.

Guides and indexes to some of these microform collections are available electronically or are physically located on top of the cabinets. All physical guides are shelved alphabetically by collection.

Researchers do not need an appointment to use Babbidge microform materials. However, if you need assistance locating or using these microform materials, please contact the Research Services Librarian for Latina/o, Caribbean, & Latin American Studies.

Colonial Latin American Manuscripts and Transcripts in the Obadiah Rich Collection

Scope	Spanish and Portuguese documents relating to the conquest of America from 1492-1843.
Format	Microfilm (33 reels)
Arrangement	Numbered documents from 1 to 102.
Indexes	Colonial Latin American Manuscripts and Transcripts in the Obadiah Rich collection: A Guide to the Microfilm Edition.

Democracia/Diario de Puerto Rico

Scope	Daily newspaper founded on July 1, 1890, published by Luis Munoz Rivera in Ponce, Puerto Rico, that crusaded for Puerto Rican self-government. 1891:jul.-1942 (1940:sept. on reel with 1952:Jul./Agosto of later title); 1952:Jul.-1952:Agosto (Filmed with 1940:Sept. of earlier title)
Format	Microfilm (118 reels)
Arrangement	Chronologically, by year
Indexes	None

Extranjeros

Scope	The Royal Decree containing the regulations for promoting the population, commerce, industry, and agriculture for the island of Puerto Rico, 1815-1845. English, Spanish, and French
Format	Microfilm (19 reels)
Arrangement	Chronological
Indexes	None

Latin America Special Studies

Scope

OSS/State Department intelligence and research reports on Latin America, 1941-1961 initiate this series. The Special Studies reports that followed (1962-1988) feature extensive research on significant topics. The reports were commissioned by the U.S. Government from private and public policy research facilities.

Latin America OSS/State Department, 1941–1961	369 reports
Latin America Special Studies, 1962–1980	110 reports
Latin America Special Studies, 1980–1982	26 reports
Latin America Special Studies, 1982–1985	62 reports
Latin America Special Studies, 1985–1988	115 reports

Format

Microfilm (42 reels)

Arrangement

Item number

Indexes

Latin America: Special Studies, 1941-1988.

Memoria (Puerto Rico)

Scope	Puerto Rican politics and government from the provincial deputation, 1887-1898.
Format	Microfilm (1 reel)
Arrangement	Chronological.
Indexes	None

El Mundo (Puerto Rico)

Scope	Puerto Rican newspaper founded in 1919. 1919:Feb.-1950:Dec. The Digital Library of the Caribbean had digitized portions of El Mundo.
Format	Microfilm (423 reels)
Arrangement	Chronological
Indexes	None

Puerto Rican Labor Press

Scope	Puerto Rican labor publications including Union Obrera and proceedings of the Pan American Federation of Labor, 1892-1934.
Format	Microfilm (45 reels)
Arrangement	Chronological
Indexes	Puerto Rican Labor Press. Eric Perez Collection.

Puerto Rico. Estadística General del Comercio Exterior de la Provincia de Puerto Rico

Scope	General statistics of the foreign trade of Puerto Rico, 1862-1897, compiled by Intendencia General de Hacienda.
Format	Microfilm (4 reels)
Arrangement	Chronological
Indexes	None

Puerto Rico. Gaceta de Puerto Rico

Scope	Puerto Rico’s first newspaper was the official organ of the government featuring decrees, edicts, and governmental records. First published in 1807. 1810-1818, 1820-1823, 1826-1829.
Format	Microfilm (4 reels)
Arrangement	Chronological
Indexes	None

United States. Bureau of Insular Affairs. Index to Official Documents Relating to Cuba and the Insular Possessions of the U.S., 1876-1906

Scope	This microfilm collection from the National Archives (M-24) reproduces a three-volume index to official documents covering the entire period of the American Military Governments in Cuba, Puerto Rico, and the Philippine Islands. Also covers the early years of civil government in Puerto Rico and the Philippines, 1876-1904.
Format	Microfilm (3 reels)
Arrangement	Chronological
Indexes	None

United States Bureau of the Census: Census of Population: Puerto Rico

Scope	13th (1910), 14th (1920), 15th (1930)
Format	Microfilm (90 reels)
Arrangement	Chronological
Indexes	None

United States Bureau of the Census: Special Censuses of Puerto Rico, Agricultural Schedules, 1935

Scope	Agricultural schedules provide information about the operator or manager of each farm; farm ownership, acreage, value, and debt; number of farm buildings and inhabitants; production of crops for sale; number and kind of domesticated animals; and farm machinery.
Format	Microfilm (136 reels)
Arrangement	Schedules are arranged alphabetically by municipality, then by enumeration district number.
Indexes	U.S. Bureau of the Census, Special Censuses of Puerto Rico, 1935, Agriculture Schedules: A Reel Guide.

United States Bureau of the Census: Special Censuses of Puerto Rico, The Social and Population Schedules, 1935-1936

Scope	For each inhabitant, provides the name, place of residence, family relationship, sex, color, age, marital status, place of birth and occupation. Also covers school attendance, literacy and employment.
Format	Microfilm (82 reels)
Arrangement	Schedules area arranged alphabetically by municipality, then by enumeration district number.
Indexes	U.S. Bureau of the Census, Special Censuses of Puerto Rico, 1935-1936, Social and Population Schedules; A Reel Guide.

United States Consulate Despatches