LibGuides: _ MS in Business Analytics and Project Management: Business Databases

The Business Information Playing Field

Accounting & Taxation

Audit Analytics Access detailed audit information on over 1,500 accounting firms and 20,000 publicly registered companies. Our subscription includes the Audit + Compliance, and Corporate + Legal products.
Registration is required for access to Audit Analytics. For current UConn faculty, staff, and students, register at https://www.ideagen.com/solutions/audit-and-risk/external-audit/ideagen-audit-analytics/user-registration. Use your UConn email address. Available via WRDS too.
HeinOnline Full-text of law reviews, federal documents, and Supreme Court materials.
Nexis Uni Full text of various newspapers, magazines, wire services, radio and TV transcripts.
RIA Checkpoint (full access) Includes tax cases, codes and regulations, IRC publications and other tax documents and federal rulings and internal revenue bulletins. It also includes accounting standards and regulations from AICPA, FASB, GASB, IASB, PCAOB and the SEC reference library.
Registration is required for access to RIA Checkpoint each semester. For use by current UConn faculty, staff, and students. Use your UConn email address. Access for UConn affiliates is not permitted.
SSRN Access to article abstracts from scholarly journals covering various aspects of social science research.
Users are encouraged to register for a free personal account at SSRN, in order to access the selected, freely available content.
WRDS : Wharton Research Data Services Platform for accessing business data provided by the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania.
Registration is required for access to WRDS. For current UConn faculty, staff, and students, register for a WRDS account. Use your UConn email address. Access for UConn affiliates is not permitted.

Company & Financials

Bloomberg 20 terminals altogether. Contact the business librarian with your research needs to explore possibilities.
more...less...
5️⃣ @ Hartford: Graduate Business Learning Center
3️ @ Stamford: Room 306, BCLC Stamford Lounge, & mobile-laptop (reservation required)
1️⃣ @ Stamford: Jeremy Richard Library (reservation required)
8️⃣ @ Storrs: School of Business Bloomberg Lab (BUSN 411)
2️⃣ @ Storrs: Business Connections Learning Center, Belden Hall

S&P Capital IQ Contains deep information on companies, markets, and people worldwide, for both public and private capital markets. Screen using a combination of financial, qualitative, and event-driven criteria. Export to Excel, or pull your results using the Excel Plug-in.
Registration is required for access to Capital IQ. For current UConn faculty, staff, and students, ensure you are on campus or UConn VPN before signing up using your UConn email address.

D&B Company Report via NexisUni Covers all company records under ICC. Coverage is from Aug 1997; published daily (Tue-Sat) and updated within 1 day.

EDGAR (SEC Filings & Forms) U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission database of filings of companies (10-K,10-Q, proxies, etc.) and mutual funds.
Factiva Access to global news and business information articles.

Fair Disclosure Wire via ABI/INFORM Contains event briefs and transcripts of analyst calls to executives of publicly traded companies. 2004–present.
GlobalData Company Deals and Alliances Profiles via ABI/INFORM 2012–present.
Hoover's Company Records via Nexis Uni The Hoover's Company Records - In-Depth Records Database contains information for >40,000 major public and private companies worldwide, including overviews and histories, up to 10 years of key financial and employment data, lists of products and key competitors, names of key officers, addresses, and phone and fax numbers. Coverage is from Feb 16, 2006; published weekly and updated within the day.

Mergent Online: Investext Analysis of companies, industries, products and countries. Includes active and historical research reports for various brokerages, investments banks and independent research firms around the globe, including Barclays, Credit Suisse, J.P. Morgan, UBS and Deutsche Bank.
Part of Mergent Online.
Mergent Online Global company coverage, including those merged, acquired, bankrupt, liquidated or disappeared from 1995/6 forward. Includes detailed financial statements, company annual reports, industry reports, equity reports, a complete analysis of the firm's financial health, & broker research reports.
Preqin Pro Our subscription covers the following asset classes: private equity (Cash Flow module), venture capital, and private debt.  Coverage includes details on investors, funds, fund performance, fund terms, portfolio companies, deals & exits, service providers, etc.  Other modules (real estate, hedge funds, infrastructure, natural resources , secondaries) and ESG solutions are not part of our subscription.Selected data (GPs, LPs, & deals) available via WRDS account too.  
Registration is optional for access to Preqin. For current UConn faculty, staff, and students, request an academic account with your UConn email address using their chat service or email clientservices@preqin.com.

ProQuest Annual Reports Collection via ABI/INFORM Digitized annual reports from top North American companies, 1910–2009.

SDC Platinum Access may be temporarily suspended due to ongoing licensing negotiations with the vendor. The Library is working diligently to maintain access. Info on bond and equity new issues, M&A, syndicated loans, project finance, & poison pills. Useful for analyzing investment banking and deal trends, identifying comparable deals, monitoring deal activity, and generating industry-leading league tables and market share analysis. Our subscription covers all six modules on global new issues, M&A, corporate governance, corporate restructurings, global public finance, securities trading, & VentureXpert.
Installation required to access SDC Platinum, available only current UConn School of Business faculty, & PhD students.
NetAdvantage Financial information for thousands of US and global companies and includes access to Industry Surveys, Bond Reports, Stock Reports, Directory of Corporations, Register of Executives.
LSEG Workspace for Students Features global market data, historical and current company financials and filings, earnings estimates, M&A activity, equity, bond, loan deals, and more.
Registration is required for access to Workspace. For current UConn faculty, staff, and students, register for an individual account. Use your UConn email address. After registration, you can access via the web or download & install the desktop application.
WRDS : Wharton Research Data Services Platform for accessing business data provided by the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania.
Registration is required for access to WRDS. For current UConn faculty, staff, and students, register for a WRDS account. Use your UConn email address. Access for UConn affiliates is not permitted.

Country & Economic

BMI Country Risk Reports (Fitch Solutions) via NexisUni Coverage is from April 1, 2007; published quarterly and updated within 1 month of publication.

International Financial Statistics Data for over 200 countries and includes exchange rates, commodity prices, consumer prices, and other financial data.
Mergent Online
🔎Country insight & Economic research tabs
OECD iLibrary Includes ebooks, papers and statistics produced by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).
Statista Provides statistics on media, the environment, business and industry, sports, communication, politics, health care and more. Geographic coverage is worldwide, with particular emphasis on the United States, China, and European Union countries.
UNdata Offers statistical data for over 300 data series from numerous specialized international data sources for over 270 countries and areas.
World Bank Open Data Access to global development data covering agriculture, manufacturing, health indicators, education, natural resources, and foreign investment in the economies of over 200 developing nations.

Industry Info & Market Research

BCC Research Market research reports in a variety of areas including biotech, engineering, environment, food & beverages, and healthcare.
Bizminer Detailed industry financials, ratios and market data for thousands of lines of business and industries across the USA.
First Research Contains industry profiles covering various industry segments in US & Canada and includes state profiles that cover monthly employment, business and real estate trends in each of the 50 US states.
Use your UConn email address to access First Research. Part of Mergent Intellect; also available via Mergent Archives.
Gartner Market Analysis Gartner provides market data and analysis of key IT sectors and research and analysis of the impact of IT in Financial Services, Health Care, Government, Higher Education and Small and Medium sized business.
For use by UConn Faculty, Students, and Staff Only. Access for UConn Affiliates is not permitted.
IBISWorld Full-text of industry, company, and economic reports, covering over 700 U.S. industries. Reports include key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, key factors, key competitors and outlook.
Key Business Ratios Competitive benchmarking data in North America featuring 14 key business ratios for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.
Part of Mergent Intellect
Mergent Online
🔎Industry analysis tab
Mintel Reports Product and industry market research reports covering US and International marketplaces.
RMA eStatement Studies eStatement Studies is a source of composite performance metrics derived directly from the financial statements of financial institutions' borrowers and prospects.
Sports Market Analytics Access to market research and news on all aspects of sports industry including equipment sales, participation & attendance rates, consumer expenditures, sports facilities, licensing, TV & online media reports and trends.
NetAdvantage Financial information for thousands of US and global companies and includes access to Industry Surveys, Bond Reports, Stock Reports, Directory of Corporations, Register of Executives.
LSEG Workspace for Students Features global market data, historical and current company financials and filings, earnings estimates, M&A activity, equity, bond, loan deals, and more.
Registration is required for access to Workspace. For current UConn faculty, staff, and students, register for an individual account. Use your UConn email address. After registration, you can access via the web or download & install the desktop application.

News, Scholarly & Professional Business Literature

ABI/INFORM Collection Includes articles, dissertations, news content and reports covering the various areas of business, advertising, insurance, public administration, real estate, and telecommunications
Business Source Complete Comprehensive coverage of business journals.
EconLit Article abstracts for international literature on economics covering economic development, fiscal and monetary theory, business and public finance, regional and urban economics.
Factiva Access to global news and business information articles.

Financial Times (FT.com)
Registration is limited to UConn School of Business students, faculty, & staff. Funded by UConn School of Business.

Fortune Magazine Archive Access to Fortune magazine and all color illustrations and advertisements from its first issue in February 1930 through December 2000.
IDEAS Economics and finance research including working papers, articles and software code.
NBER Working Papers Working papers published by National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) researchers, intended for other professional economists.
Newspapers through ProQuest Cross search of 5 databases: the Hartford Courant (1992-present); Los Angeles Times (1985-present); New York Times (1997-present); Wall Street Journal (1982-present); and the Washington Post (1987-present).
Nexis Uni Full text of various newspapers, magazines, wire services, radio and TV transcripts.
O'Reilly for Higher Education Access to thousands of ebooks, case studies, tutorials, and videos in computer science, business, communication, and design.
Select "not listed" when prompted to select institution and then enter UConn email addresss.
Oxford Handbooks Online Access to handbooks in business/management, political science, philosophy, and religion published by Oxford University Press.
SSRN Access to article abstracts from scholarly journals covering various aspects of social science research.
Users are encouraged to register for a free personal account at SSRN, in order to access the selected, freely available content.

Wall Street Journal Online
Registration is available to all UConn students, faculty, & staff. Funded by UConn School of Business.

Wall Street Journal Access to the current issues back to 1984 to the Wall Street Journal newspaper.

More Business Databases?

For a complete list of business databases, consult the Databases A-Z list.

_ MS in Business Analytics and Project Management — Business Databases

The Business Information Playing Field

Accounting & Taxation

Company & Financials

Country & Economic

Industry Info & Market Research

News, Scholarly & Professional Business Literature

More Business Databases?