New Titles at the UConn Library Avery Point

Oil Spill Detection, Identification, and Tracing

Oil Spill Detection, Identification and Tracing provides readers with currently applicable technical methods, including early warning monitoring of trace oil film in ports, remote sensing monitoring of sea surface oil spills, and source tracing. Beginning with the causes and characteristics of oil spills on water, chapters then evaluate a range of different detection methods, including passive optical remote sensing, active optical remote sensing, marine radar, and GNSS-R. The book then reviews oil spill traceability technology, highlighting the ecological effect of oil spills on oceanic environment, current studies on oil spill fingerprinting, and the application of stable isotope technology in oil spill tracing.

The book concludes with three key case studies with real-world scenarios, making it a practical resource for students, researchers and engineers interested in oil spill pollution, environmental science and the marine environment.

• Includes principles and methods of emerging remote-sensing technologies (e.g., fluorescent remote sensing, marine radar, and GNSS-R to monitor oil spills)
• Provides a detailed introduction of oil-spill traceability technology, especially the use of stable isotope analysis for oil spill tracing
• Describes the application of detection, identification and tracing technologies used in marine oil spill research
• Focuses on prevention and remediation through technological advances

Microplastics : Transport, Impacts, Monitoring and Mitigation

Microplastics: Transport, Impacts, Monitoring and Mitigation provides a critical analysis of our current understanding of microplastic science, the methods by which microplastic are observed in the environment, and our options for mitigation and remediation. Associated concern for the environment has resulted in substantial interest in the management and mitigation of these persistent and pervasive pollutants. Nevertheless, our progress towards reliable monitoring and successful management has been limited.

The book is intended for those studying or working in the fields of environmental science and waste management (as well as associated areas), and provides the holistic context needed to evaluate and interpret the outputs associated with the interlinked problems of plastic and microplastics. In this manner, the reader will be invited to explore the ongoing challenges which have thus far prevented the development of a thorough understanding of the risk posed by plastic and microplastic pollution, to discuss the implications of ongoing uncertainty to effective plastic management, evaluate the current strategies to control the ongoing proliferation of plastic pollution.

• Models the issue of microplastic pollution with historic case studies of alternative pollutants
• Demonstrates the differing requirements of microplastic monitoring and management
• Contains idealized workflows specific to key practitioner groups, the content of which will reflect recent debates and divergences in the field
• Emphasizes critical comparison between emerging management measures not apparent in current edited texts which tend to consider individual approaches separately
• Places management and remediation methods in the context of the observed scale and impact of associated microplastics in the environment to indicate the potential benefits of each approach

ACT for Burnout: Recharge, Reconnect, and Transform Burnout with Acceptance and Commitment Therapy

"I know what it's like to care deeply about my work and yet feel utterly exhausted by it."

Burnout is more widespread than ever before, and it's time to do something about it.

Rooted in Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT), this book delves into the systemic, cultural, and economic contexts that contribute to burnout, and gives you the tools to exit the cycle. Exercises and reflection questions help you reconnect with your values to find what's really important, and disentangle yourself from unhelpful thought patterns. By engaging with your emotions rather than avoiding or suppressing them, ACT allows you to respond more effectively and become re-engaged in your own life again. This book will show you how to move out of the burnout cycle, reconnect with meaningful aspects of your work, and make changes that last.

Oil Spill Detection, Identification, and Tracing

Oil Spill Detection, Identification and Tracing provides readers with currently applicable technical methods, including early warning monitoring of trace oil film in ports, remote sensing monitoring of sea surface oil spills, and source tracing. Beginning with the causes and characteristics of oil spills on water, chapters then evaluate a range of different detection methods, including passive optical remote sensing, active optical remote sensing, marine radar, and GNSS-R. The book then reviews oil spill traceability technology, highlighting the ecological effect of oil spills on oceanic environment, current studies on oil spill fingerprinting, and the application of stable isotope technology in oil spill tracing.

The book concludes with three key case studies with real-world scenarios, making it a practical resource for students, researchers and engineers interested in oil spill pollution, environmental science and the marine environment.

• Includes principles and methods of emerging remote-sensing technologies (e.g., fluorescent remote sensing, marine radar, and GNSS-R to monitor oil spills)
• Provides a detailed introduction of oil-spill traceability technology, especially the use of stable isotope analysis for oil spill tracing
• Describes the application of detection, identification and tracing technologies used in marine oil spill research
• Focuses on prevention and remediation through technological advances